Post by Daniel » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:17 am

ok its released.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by iori57 » Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:19 pm

Hi, I followed the instructions exactly to install, but when installing it shows 500 internal server error with error message:
The server encountered an unexpected condition which prevented it from fulfilling the request.
The script had an error or it did not produce any output. If there was an error, you should be able to see it in the error log.

I was using webhosting Justhost.com previously and everything went fine, now I'm using fatcow.com and it give me this problem.. Help!!

Nice job though, open cart is the best!

Thanks in advance :)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:37 am

Post by Daniel » Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:43 pm

try removing your .htaccess or .php ini.

also try reuploading all the files. This might be due to a missing file.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Amok » Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:47 pm

Daniel wrote:ok its released.
Any changelog for the differences between this version and the 1.33 you've released before?

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 28, 2007 5:20 am

Post by thanaa » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:03 pm

lucyvanpelt wrote:like terrible joomla...ive tried that and wanted to throw my computer out the window. its so cooky cutter,
I wont argue Joomla's templating system has a large learning curve, but there are no "limits" to how you can make a template display in joomla. I'd be pretty thrilled if opencart used joomla style templating. I hated it when i first used it but having used it for a while now, its allows you to make literally -any- design you could imagine.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 05, 2009 2:12 am

Post by Daniel » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:08 pm

thanaa wrote:
lucyvanpelt wrote:like terrible joomla...ive tried that and wanted to throw my computer out the window. its so cooky cutter,
I wont argue Joomla's templating system has a large learning curve, but there are no "limits" to how you can make a template display in joomla. I'd be pretty thrilled if opencart used joomla style templating. I hated it when i first used it but having used it for a while now, its allows you to make literally -any- design you could imagine.
there is no limits in how opencarts template works. I will acutally claim that OpenCarts is better because its simpler and does not mix php up with the htrml as much as joomla's.

I really don;t gget people who recommend stuff like zend framework and there reasons for using it is that its flexible or users design patterns when all the other frameworks do the same thing.

same goes for the templating engine.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by lucyvanpelt » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:22 am

OpenCart 1.3.3 ran smoothly and is going great! Thanks :)

I have one question for you below:

Blogexecute wrote:Daniel, congratulation!
Now is perfect.
Only a question: the icons that are used are like a cartoon !!!
If use a different icon and adjust front color your OpenCart is a very best.

Sincerly, Marco Fracchiolla.

(... if you want i can create for you a default template standard)

Since 1.3.2 layouts dont work, i'm having a bit trouble removing the icons on the main red bar. when i try to remove them as well as the little red spacers (id like to try get rid of the bar entirely and have just verbage), they go away entirely. what code exactly should i take away from the header file?
catalog > view > theme > default > template > common > header.tpl

<div class="div5"><a href="<?php echo $home; ?>" style="background: url('catalog/view/theme/default/image/icon_home.png') center left no-repeat;"><?php echo $text_home; ?></a><img src="catalog/view/theme/default/image/split.png" alt="" style="position: relative; top: 14px;" /><a href="<?php echo $special; ?>" style="background: url('catalog/view/theme/default/image/icon_special.png') center left no-repeat;"><?php echo $text_special; ?></a>

i think i took out too much.

also once that's done, can i just duplicate say the "home" to make more "headings"?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by thanaa » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:37 am

Daniel wrote: there is no limits in how opencarts template works. I will acutally claim that OpenCarts is better because its simpler and does not mix php up with the htrml as much as joomla's.
My bad, i had not checked to see if i could simply not include certain directories within the template, it appears i can, So I'd agree yours is better then Joomla. Its simpler if nothing else

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 05, 2009 2:12 am

Post by thanaa » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:46 am

lucyvanpelt wrote:OpenCart 1.3.3 ran smoothly and is going great! Thanks :)

I have one question for you below:
Since 1.3.2 layouts dont work, i'm having a bit trouble removing the icons on the main red bar. when i try to remove them as well as the little red spacers (id like to try get rid of the bar entirely and have just verbage), they go away entirely. what code exactly should i take away from the header file?
catalog > view > theme > default > template > common > header.tpl

<div class="div5"><a href="<?php echo $home; ?>" style="background: url('catalog/view/theme/default/image/icon_home.png') center left no-repeat;"><?php echo $text_home; ?></a><img src="catalog/view/theme/default/image/split.png" alt="" style="position: relative; top: 14px;" /><a href="<?php echo $special; ?>" style="background: url('catalog/view/theme/default/image/icon_special.png') center left no-repeat;"><?php echo $text_special; ?></a>
i think i took out too much.
also once that's done, can i just duplicate say the "home" to make more "headings"?
To remove the icons and the spacers change

Code: Select all

<a href="<?php echo $home; ?>" style="background: url('catalog/view/theme/default/image/icon_home.png') center left no-repeat;"><?php echo $text_home; ?></a><img src="catalog/view/theme/default/image/split.png" alt="" style="position: relative; top: 14px;" />
to

Code: Select all

<a href="<?php echo $home; ?>"><?php echo $text_home; ?></a>
The same for each link.

In regards to duplicating the "home" to make more headings...i dont quite follow what your wanting to do. If its make a different header for different page types, then you have 2 options. 1 use conditional statements in your header.tpl file (bad) , or 2, edit the corresponding template and remove

Code: Select all

<?php echo $header; ?>
and replace it with whatever you wish your header to include for that page. I've not seen a way to change which template the controller loads short of actually modifying the controller, which is a core file and could cause upgrade issues in the future.

If by duplicate the "home" you mean the link itself home, then yes you'd just modify the other links in the same manner.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 05, 2009 2:12 am

Post by lucyvanpelt » Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:32 am

thank you!

icons and spacers:
are going away. its weird though when u click on them the invisible box selects more than just the txt it selects where the icon was and the word "home" do i need to edit something else as well for that to go away? if i look at the opencart.com site, the invisible box just selects "home" not additional space around it.

additional pages for my website:
basically i am wondering can i create additional pages for my website, like "about the site", or "art", etc...and put those on the header unrelated to shopping. do i just create files like the contact.tpl file? but link it up top on the header?... what folder would i put my new file "art.tpl" ?

hope that makes sense.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by rpotterjr » Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:37 am

Hey is there any chance of having a choice of radio buttons instead of dropdown/ list for the product attributes (options)? Radio buttons seem to be more attractive to a majority when a product has alot of them. I am not saying get rid of dropdowns and replace with radio buttons, but have a section in the backend to have the choice of displaying product options as dropdowns or radio buttons.

Although I know this option is not currently in Opencart, does anyone know how to change the Dropdown options to Radio button options?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon May 11, 2009 12:10 am

Post by Qphoria » Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:59 am

The fundamental design of select boxes and radios is the same. Just edit your product.tpl file and change it.

Example:
Select
<select name="blah">
<option value="x" selected="selected">Option1</option>
<option value="y">Option2</option>
</select>
Radio
<input type="radio" name="blah" value="x" checked="checked"/>Option1
<input type="radio" name="blah" value="y" />Option2

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by thanaa » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:03 am

lucyvanpelt wrote:thank you!

icons and spacers:
are going away. its weird though when u click on them the invisible box selects more than just the txt it selects where the icon was and the word "home" do i need to edit something else as well for that to go away? if i look at the opencart.com site, the invisible box just selects "home" not additional space around it.

additional pages for my website:
basically i am wondering can i create additional pages for my website, like "about the site", or "art", etc...and put those on the header unrelated to shopping. do i just create files like the contact.tpl file? but link it up top on the header?... what folder would i put my new file "art.tpl" ?

hope that makes sense.
Ahh ok i follow, To make links to about the site etc you can create the pages in the admin section by going to Catalog->Information then hardcode the links into the header OR, im pretty sure you could do something like

Code: Select all

<ul class="informational">
      <?php foreach ($informations as $information) { ?>
      <li><a href="<?php echo $information['href']; ?>"><?php echo $information['title']; ?></a></li>
      <?php } ?>
</ul>
and then use CSS to style it. I've not tested the second method but its basically a direct copy of the information module, and i'm assuming it works..

Either way no need to make new template files, Opencart already supports what your wanting. If you have any other questions pm me so we aren't filling up this thread w/ template support

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 05, 2009 2:12 am

Post by phpuk » Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:46 am

Wow!!!

I saw teddies flying out of prams others spitting their dummy out all over a tiny coding decision made by Dan.

Is everyone happy now?

Thought I would just fan the flames to see if there are any embers still burning ;D

I will download the latest version now and have a look who knows I may join in :-\ ;D

Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:57 am

Post by Leon » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:38 am

phpuk wrote:Wow!!!

I saw teddies flying out of prams others spitting their dummy out all over a tiny coding decision made by Dan.

Is everyone happy now?

Thought I would just fan the flames to see if there are any embers still burning ;D

I will download the latest version now and have a look who knows I may join in :-\ ;D
OpenCart wouldn't be as great if there wasn't this discussion about what is the best way to go :)
Though a bit heated at times, i enjoyed seeing everyone's for and against arguments, and eventually coming to a decision on what would be the best way forward

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:20 am

Post by Daniel » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:37 am

Just adding 1.3.3 to the SVN.

http://code.google.com/p/opencart/source/list

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by iori57 » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:56 pm

Daniel wrote:try removing your .htaccess or .php ini.

also try reuploading all the files. This might be due to a missing file.
I removed both .htaccess and php.ini and still has the same problem..

I reuploaded again all the files and it still shows 500 internal server error.. I ran out of ideas...

help anyone? is this fatcow problem?

UPDATE: I used the live chat support from fatcow and they fixed the problem for me.. they told me that they reset the file permissions and it really worked.. I followed the install instructions to set the file permissions but I don't know what went wrong, anyway their support is really cool :) got it to work now.. Thanks!
Last edited by iori57 on Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:37 am

Post by ocon » Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:01 pm

Try checking file permission

PHP files should be 644
Folders should be 755

Don't forget to open error_log and see error messages

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:11 am

Post by lucyvanpelt » Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:17 pm

thanaa wrote:
Ahh ok i follow, To make links to about the site etc you can create the pages in the admin section by going to Catalog->Information then hardcode the links into the header OR, im pretty sure you could do something like

Code: Select all

<ul class="informational">
      <?php foreach ($informations as $information) { ?>
      <li><a href="<?php echo $information['href']; ?>"><?php echo $information['title']; ?></a></li>
      <?php } ?>
</ul>
and then use CSS to style it. I've not tested the second method but its basically a direct copy of the information module, and i'm assuming it works..

Either way no need to make new template files, Opencart already supports what your wanting. If you have any other questions pm me so we aren't filling up this thread w/ template support
thanks!

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by itdude » Fri Nov 06, 2009 3:30 pm

Thanks for releasing v1.3.3 Daniel! OC is really super coool O0 I'm excited to try the newly added Authorize.net module. Have a great day!

Web Design & Programming?
IT-Dude.com ...LOW COST but SUPERB outcome!

... ... loving OpenCart more everyday =]
Image


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:38 pm
Location - Philippines
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests