Post by nodric » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:31 pm

I just wanted to add this helpful hint.

I used the VQMod from Simon at UKSB, but it stopped working and for weeks I've driven myself potty trying to work out why, much to the frustration of Simon I guess who couldn't understand why it wouldn't work for me. I did email/bug him quite a bit about it. Sorry Simon! (his Google mod is the d's b's btw)

This all coincided with installing another Mod, and doing some other hacking.

This morning the light bulb went on! I had edited, and therefore copied to my theme folder, some tpl files. Thsi meant that the path use by uksb_grid_view_default.xml was no longer valid as it only references the default theme tpl files, and now OC wasn't using them anymore. DUH! :o

So if anyone else ever pulls their hair out then hopefully they'll come across this post. I know this is OC 101 but we aren't all perfect :crazy:

Look for this path in the xml catalog/view/theme/YOURTHEMENAME/template/product/ and update it with your theme name. 4 occurrences.

The Best 4x4xfar


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Post by merrydukaan » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:18 pm

Worked well on my site! Thanks

>> search before you post and [solved] when solved
>>Opencart v1.5.1.3, php 5.1.6, Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:26 pm


Post by mirabelleza » Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:23 am

It stopped working for my client's site. I had created a theme, so I changed the path to just the product/category.tpl path, but it didn't work. I have de-installed and re-installed the vqmod but still not working.

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:36 am

Post by nodric » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:23 pm

mirabelleza wrote:It stopped working for my client's site. I had created a theme, so I changed the path to just the product/category.tpl path, but it didn't work. I have de-installed and re-installed the vqmod but still not working.
I'm not the expert, but make sure you paths in OC point to your new theme, and then ensure the paths in the XML file from UKSB are correct. It's easy to overlook something... If you ready the code in the XML it's easy to follow.

The Best 4x4xfar


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Post by kersti » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:02 pm

Doesn't seem to have any effect on 1.5.2.1

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:00 pm

Post by uksitebuilder » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Tested and working fine in 1.5.2.1

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by nodric » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:08 pm

kersti wrote:Doesn't seem to have any effect on 1.5.2.1
Look for this path in the xml catalog/view/theme/YOURTHEMENAME/template/product/ and update it with your theme name. 4 occurrences.

The Best 4x4xfar


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Post by OC2PS » Thu May 03, 2012 2:10 am

Doesn't seem to be working for me. I am using OC 1.5.2.1 and default theme

OC2PS
OC 2.3.0.2, vQmod 2.6.2, Journal2 theme
Arcfesték, Csillámtetoválás, Henna
Image
Check out: All my extensions | My FREE extensions


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:15 am
Location - Hungary

Post by smashtransit » Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:26 pm

i hate to say it, but this isn't working for me either.

* properly changed all custom theme paths in the xml file
* cleared vqcache
* cleared cookies

still no dice. auto-loads to list view no matter what i do. i also tried the other simple hack from the other thread, and it didn't work either.

clearly it works for some people, but i'm stumped as to why i can't get it to work. which sucks because i hate list view with an amazing passion. >:D

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:14 pm

Post by nodric » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:57 pm

smashtransit wrote:i hate to say it, but this isn't working for me either.

* properly changed all custom theme paths in the xml file
* cleared vqcache
* cleared cookies

still no dice. auto-loads to list view no matter what i do. i also tried the other simple hack from the other thread, and it didn't work either.

clearly it works for some people, but i'm stumped as to why i can't get it to work. which sucks because i hate list view with an amazing passion. >:D
This drove me potty for weeks, and in the end, it was the path statements in the xml file, and/or the paths statements in the OC config files. If you are not using the default theme, then check and recheck all the paths. It does work :)

The Best 4x4xfar


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Post by smashtransit » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:20 pm

nodric wrote:This drove me potty for weeks, and in the end, it was the path statements in the xml file, and/or the paths statements in the OC config files. If you are not using the default theme, then check and recheck all the paths. It does work :)
i wish i could say it was. it's not though - i had all of those paths correctly changed before i uploaded it as well.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:14 pm

Post by AllenConquest » Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:07 pm

This thread was a real time saver! I had exactly the same issue that my default grid was suddenly not being remembered. I renamed the cookie file and changed the code in header.tpl and now it works again :)

How do I tell if my host is using mod_security? My website is http://www.mavis-crafts.com

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:13 pm

Post by Sebcart » Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:03 pm

Nice one! Works for me with 1.5.4 and default theme. Had to clear browser cookies first..

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:25 pm

Post by hartdesign » Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:35 am

is there an update for opencart 1.5.5.1?
thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:32 am

Post by Sebcart » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:55 pm

Still works for me with 1.5.5.1

Only with the free palioxis theme I'm not getting the grid view anymore..

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:25 pm

Post by Meggles » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:24 am

This isn't working for me on 1.5.5.1 with a non-default theme.

Can anyone help?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:27 pm

Post by Sebcart » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:06 pm

Meggles wrote:This isn't working for me on 1.5.5.1 with a non-default theme.

Can anyone help?
Does the grid view work at all?

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:25 pm

Post by fmcjq » Fri May 03, 2013 12:09 am

i modify it for oc 1.5.5.1 , works fine.

Attachments

for OC 1.5.5.1


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat May 19, 2012 12:34 pm

Post by Meggles » Sun May 12, 2013 7:03 pm

Installed the edited 1.5.5.1 version and still not working :(

Changed the paths in the vqmod file. Which "OC config" files are other people talking about, where I should also change the paths?

This is doing my head in - I despise list view, it looks awful.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:27 pm

Post by Meggles » Wed May 15, 2013 6:38 pm

Anyone?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:27 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests