Post by withuinmind » Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:51 am

Hi i would like some help with uploading images onto homepage slideshow. Previously this worked fine but now it seems I must have disabled something as each time I attempt to add a new image it does nothing.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:51 pm

Post by TAC » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:27 am

@ benfrain.com - Sorry for not thanking you for your help sooner. I tried what you said but it didn't seem to work at first. Then I looked at the Nivo Slider effects link you posted.

It turns out that all I needed to do was change the word 'random' in the jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js to any of the choices listed on the NS effects page.

I went for 'fade' in the end and it works perfectly!

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England

Post by TAC » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:39 am

@ withuinmind - this may be just a coincidence but I had the same problem earlier today and it turned out to be a hosting issue. Here's the post I was using http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=42094

Plus there's this as well from Daniel http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... ion&path=8

Hope that helps :)

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England

Post by withuinmind » Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:13 am

Tac hi and thank you for responding. I'll investigate both links you sent the Daniel link looks promising so checking that out first. Will let you know how I get on. Strange you should have had the same difficulty.

Thanks.
withuinmind.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:51 pm

Post by withuinmind » Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:42 pm

Hi not having any joy with finding a solution so looking at alternative platforms.

Thanks. withuinmind.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:51 pm

Post by mosesg » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:27 pm

Have a silly question, Is there anyway to change the location of the slideshow/banner to other then content top bottom left or right? I want it next to the info on the main page so content center

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:54 pm

Post by duramba » Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:49 am

How to change Nivo Slider options.

It's not recommended to edit the jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js file directly, instead pass options to the slider.

This can be done in the slideshow template. ( Opencart version Version 1.5.1.3 )
catalog > view > theme > your theme or default > template > module > slideshow.tpl

Look for:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$(document).ready(function() {
	$('#slideshow<?php echo $module; ?>').nivoSlider();
});
--></script>
Here is where you would pass the options you want. For example:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$(document).ready(function() {
	$('#slideshow<?php echo $module; ?>').nivoSlider({
		effect: 'boxRain', // single effect
		pauseTime: 5000, // 5 seconds
		controlNav: false // hide nav
	});
});
--></script>
There a lot more options which can be found here:
http://nivo.dev7studios.com/support/jquery-plugin-usage

Hope this helps.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:36 am

Post by salmanoreen66 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:32 pm

Image

here is my tension, I followed all steps as our OC community members suggested in above posts, image changed successfully but this error is showing top on my shop :(

http://www.asianwears.com
http://www.salmanoreen.com
http://www.conceptualbrains.com
http://www.cellhook.com


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:21 pm


Post by mophojo » Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:18 am

I can't get my homepage slideshow to work, either. I made the mistake of deleting the banner groups for Samsung and HP so I started a new banner group myself using the direction in this thread.

All of my photos show up, plus a big empty white space that looks like it is looking for another photo. The problem is that it is listing the photos all down the home page instead of a nice rotating slideshow.

I don't know if this is relevant, but I'm unclear on what my "route" should be when creating my homepage layout. I left it empty.

Any ideas?

http://www.mountainmanblacksmith.com

Thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:15 am

Post by droconut » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:30 pm

as far as i can see - there is some sort of problem with your jquery file. make sure that this file

-> catalog/view/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.6.1.min.js

is present and can be loaded.

i guess all other problems you are encountering are based on the missing jquery core file ;)


greets,

dropping coconut

Droconut SLIDERS v1.23 - customizable image and content slider with caption
Droconut PIECEMAKER v1.00 - customizable PIECEMAKER V2 with caption

for Opencart 1.5.1.3 +


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:49 pm


Post by droconut » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:41 pm

as soon as you have corrected your jQuery problem - you should either switch off banner OR slideshow as the pictures are shown because "banner" module seems to be on and not working correctly whereas the "empty white space" - picture is the "slideshow" module which, again because of the missing jQeury core file, is not working correctly.

greets,

dropping coconut

Droconut SLIDERS v1.23 - customizable image and content slider with caption
Droconut PIECEMAKER v1.00 - customizable PIECEMAKER V2 with caption

for Opencart 1.5.1.3 +


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:49 pm


Post by mophojo » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:28 pm

YES! I had to de-grade my version of Open Cart to get my theme to work. When I did that, I apparently had the newer version of JS 1.7.1 still in the javascript folder. After replacing it with the correct files, it worked, and after turning off the banner, as you suggested, it eliminated the duplication.

Can't thank you enough!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:15 am

Post by TipTip » Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:10 pm

How can we change the location of the nivoslider?
I want to move about 50px to the right and 150 px down.
I have opencart 1.5.2.1

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:19 am

Post by mophojo » Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:45 am

OK, well it's me again. The theme I am using (Dashing) apparently doesn't play nice with any modern-era version of Open Cart. So I had to de-grade AGAIN in order for the shopping cart to work properly. I am using 1.5.0 now.

And guess what? I can't get the slideshow on the homepage working again. I feel like I followed all the directions in creating a banner, then assigning it to a slideshow module, but to no avail.

Can anyone see anything simple that I've done missed here? I'm using the jquery 1.6.1 that came with the install. What other information might you need to see what's going on?

www.mountainmanblacksmith.com

Thanks in advance.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:15 am

Post by Digmen1 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:52 pm

It would be great help if they included the size of the banner ads in their help files and what file type they need to be.

And how to replace them.

It would save people a lot of time.

Or are they just trying to sell that e-book ?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:50 am


Post by Digmen1 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:56 pm

@mophojo

I see you have added nice Mountain Man banner at the top of your cart.

But still no luck with the rotating Samsung bannner.

I have just started on Opencart yesterday.

The lack of documentation is a pain.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:50 am


Post by Digmen1 » Tue Apr 17, 2012 2:03 am

Does anyone know how to make the slide area smaller, say square and on one side say the left.
Then add some static text to the right ?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:50 am


Post by cabachona » Fri Jun 01, 2012 5:33 pm

SXGuy wrote:when you add new banners, you need to asign them to the same banner group, then the banner will show all images asigned to the group that you select.
I don't think so as 1.5.1.3 does not offer banner groups. Only banners!

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:04 am
Location - Sydney, Australia

Post by syednayab » Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:08 pm

i am tryint to carete some banners for my stores but i am still wondering what should be standard size for it,

Please help me with the Standard size of the Banners, Thnks

Life is a Gift! and it offers us the privilege, opportunity, and responsibility to give something back by becoming more......


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:03 pm
Location - Mumbai India

Post by nikola66 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:32 pm

I don't understand why everyone is trying to play with the Nivo-Slider core library file. What you're changing is the default parameters for nivo-slider. Instead, just pass the correct parameter in the nivo slider call.

Edit the file:

Code: Select all

/catalog/view/theme/[namespace]/template/module/slideshow.tpl
Edit:

Code: Select all

$('#slideshow<?php echo $module; ?>').nivoSlider();
Add your parameters and change them like here:
http://nivo.dev7studios.com/support/jqu ... gin-usage/
Example:

Code: Select all

$('#slideshow<?php echo $module; ?>').nivoSlider({ effect: 'fold' });
To change the effect from 'random' (default) to 'fold'...

Nick

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:26 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest