Post by JAY6390 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:58 am

No problem Meiershus :D Glad it helped you out

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by showbaba » Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:50 pm

my problem is that i changed hosting and managed to get the site to load up, now i cant login to admin, i have tried all thats written here no result, i feel i got the whole db thing wrong can anyone help ?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:56 pm

Post by fergie3 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:25 am

Hi Jay,

Pardon another dunce from across the Pond, but this noob really needs some special handling:

I downloaded ocreset.php per your instructions.

"...save it to a file called ocreset.php in your store's directory (The same one as the .htaccess/.htaccess.txt file)".

Where exactly is my store's directory? (BTW, Apparently I don't have a .htaccess.txt file. I searched for it and get "No records found") And where exactly should I save ocreset.php?

BTW - The reason I can no longer log into my admin is because I decided to upgrade to 1.4.9.3 from 1.4.7 and was following a how-to video on yootube that suddenly ended after telling me to "drag my 1.4.9.3 files to the public_html folder". (Did this using Smart FTP Client). Upon doing this, my previous username and password no longer worked.

If I selected all the 1.4.9.3 files (and I know that I did...I see the .htaccess.txt file sitting in my OC 1.4.9.3 download directory), before I dragged them to my public html folder why can't I see it?

Be kind. I figure I am here to make everyone else feel brilliant by comparison. ???

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:46 am

Post by JAY6390 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:46 pm

Hi Fergie3
The file goes in the same directory as your config.php file, index.php file (basically the main folder). It should also have an admin, catalog, image, system folder in there as well

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by fergie3 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:11 pm

Must have been sleep deprived...makes sense that my store directory is my /home/'store directory' folder.

Worked like a charm!

Mind if I call you "JayGenius" from now on?

BTW - Any idea why my 1.4.7 never had an .htaccess.txt file? I suppose when I do successfully update to 1.4.9.3 I will have one then? Also, can you point me to a noob proof step by step insruction for upgrading. I bought the Open Cart 1.4 Beginner's Guide, but all the screen shots are out of date.

Again...Many Thanks!!!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:46 am

Post by JAY6390 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:17 pm

fergie3 wrote:Mind if I call you "JayGenius" from now on?
sure, better than what people normally call me :P
fergie3 wrote:BTW - Any idea why my 1.4.7 never had an .htaccess.txt file? I suppose when I do successfully update to 1.4.9.3 I will have one then?
It should be in the "upload" folder of your 1.4.7 download. Chances are your file system hides files that start with "."
fergie3 wrote:Also, can you point me to a noob proof step by step insruction for upgrading
Not sure on this one sorry

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by fergie3 » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:41 am

JAY6390 wrote:
fergie3 wrote:Mind if I call you "JayGenius" from now on?
sure, better than what people normally call me :P
fergie3 wrote:BTW - Any idea why my 1.4.7 never had an .htaccess.txt file? I suppose when I do successfully update to 1.4.9.3 I will have one then?
It should be in the "upload" folder of your 1.4.7 download. Chances are your file system hides files that start with "."

Thanks. It was hidden.
fergie3 wrote:Also, can you point me to a noob proof step by step insruction for upgrading
Not sure on this one sorry
Ha! Maybe, when I figure it all out, I will write one and post in on the boards. :o

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:46 am

Post by mytindahan » Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:41 am

hi jay,
can i use this for 1.4.9.3?

http://www.mytindahan.net


New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:28 pm

Post by JAY6390 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:43 pm

Yes, it should work for 1.4.x (possibly even versions before that)

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by quantumrider » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:37 am

I need some help please, I installed this script and ran it, it worked fine, notified me the password was changed, I verified that using phpmyadmin however I still can't login... it's a new .co domain name I'm using 1&1 hosting, can anyone help me fix this?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:34 am

Post by JAY6390 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:53 am

if the password reset isn't working, then either your script is corrupt (which is VERY unlikely) or you are entering your username/password incorrectly

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by quantumrider » Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:30 am

I'm entering it correctly, I double checked, reinstalled the whole thing from scratch verified the username and password in database using phpmyadmin still can't login.

what about the host name and domain name of the website when using 1&1 someone mentioned something about it in a different thread, I don't know how that works...

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:34 am

Post by JAY6390 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:59 am

without seeing the thread I can't really give any advice to be honest. Are the HTTP and HTTPS urls the same for the admin area?

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by karlopencart » Mon May 23, 2011 7:22 pm

Cheers Jay worked a treat on Version 1.4.9.3 saved my bacon. 8)

Don't forget to delete the file when your done. ;)

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:19 pm

Post by SPIG » Wed May 25, 2011 7:41 pm

I cant seem to get it to work for me..would you be willing to help me out if some how? Ive been beating myself up trying to get anything to work.....ive even tried to reset the password in myphp and that is not working!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:04 am

Post by wancupie » Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:22 am

Thank you very-very much JAY6390. My problem solve now.

Thank again. ;D

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:05 pm

Post by Chandra » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:26 pm

Thank you so much Jay!

Your reset tool worked perfectly for me.

It really saved my time a lot.

Thanks again.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:20 pm

Post by JAY6390 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:06 pm

No problem

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by nandyk07 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:46 am

hi

I tried your solution, i was able to bring up the change password screen and reset the password successfully...however i am still unable to login to my admin panel... :(...please help

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:31 pm

Post by mberlant » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:46 pm

nandyk07 wrote:I tried your solution, i was able to bring up the change password screen and reset the password successfully...however i am still unable to login [sic] to my admin panel... :(...please help
What version of OpenCart? What did you do in the first place to lock yourself out?

Please use proper English at all times, so that all members may understand you.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:33 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests