Post by muflon » Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:13 am

Daniel wrote:
So you recommend github?
github is the best sollution. That bug tracking system you mentioned isn't very good idea git is way more ellegant.

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:43 pm

Post by loadaverage » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:09 am

i dont see anything wrong with google code.

what i am trying to say is, you are not using google code
to it's fullest, so what's the point taking the whole project
somewhere else again and start from scratch?
what's the point of taking it to another repository
where it won't be used either?

ultimately it's up to you where you take it, and i don't
care, just use the tools you are given.

you need a document for the users how to report
bugs. stop encouriging bug posting on the forum
(so they are all in place and easier to track)
leaving only ideas and feature suggestions
there, they need to be discussed anyway.
actual patches for improvements can go to the
issue tracker as attachments. people who
can send patches, can also use svn diff, so all
the patches will apply cleanly to the current
working version. reject all the non-detailed
bug reports, so people are forced to learn how
to do it, otherwise their problems won't be
fixed. you need to start using svn and comit
smaller, incremental changes with comments
what happened and why. then make a release when
features are finished and the product is stable
and well tested. right now you are your one
and only tester -- that is the best way to ship
buggy software. changelogs need to be detailed
and verbose so people know if their particular
issues have been fixed or not and if it's worth
it for them to upgrade. regarding this last
point 1.4.0 is an epic fail. nobody has a clue
what happened except the new and shiny
graphics.

i hope all this sounds like constructive criticism,
because that's how i mean it.

we is experts(tm)


New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:10 am

Post by Daniel » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:37 am

sizzlingscience wrote:Hello there,

I've uploaded a new copy of version 1.4.0 and cannot add new categories or products. A error message is flashing up when I click save but the error message doesn't stay on screen long enough to read.

I was getting it to work fine with the previous version, so I'm sure I'm not doing anything differently than before.

Long the new look by the way!

Cheers, Melanie
i've no idea what you are dfoing wrong. others here have managed it fine. i rcomend posting a link to your site in the bugs forum!

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Qphoria » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:38 am

loadaverage wrote:i dont see anything wrong with google code.

what i am trying to say is, you are not using google code
to it's fullest, so what's the point taking the whole project
somewhere else again and start from scratch?
what's the point of taking it to another repository
where it won't be used either?

ultimately it's up to you where you take it, and i don't
care, just use the tools you are given.

you need a document for the users how to report
bugs. stop encouriging bug posting on the forum
(so they are all in place and easier to track)
leaving only ideas and feature suggestions
there, they need to be discussed anyway.
actual patches for improvements can go to the
issue tracker as attachments. people who
can send patches, can also use svn diff, so all
the patches will apply cleanly to the current
working version. reject all the non-detailed
bug reports, so people are forced to learn how
to do it, otherwise their problems won't be
fixed. you need to start using svn and comit
smaller, incremental changes with comments
what happened and why. then make a release when
features are finished and the product is stable
and well tested. right now you are your one
and only tester -- that is the best way to ship
buggy software. changelogs need to be detailed
and verbose so people know if their particular
issues have been fixed or not and if it's worth
it for them to upgrade. regarding this last
point 1.4.0 is an epic fail. nobody has a clue
what happened except the new and shiny
graphics.

i hope all this sounds like constructive criticism,
because that's how i mean it.
We used to do that. But people like to complain. As much as there are Anti-Microsoft people out there.. there are even anti-google people. People don't want to have to make another account just to post a bug. And honestly, google code's interface leaves much to be desired. its a good system, but looks and feels very unfinished. There's not even simple formatting options for pasting code snippets and its just hell to try to share ideas on a particular bug/issue.

I recommended the forum for bugs back in 0.7.9 because it supported code tags and was in a familiar place. We got 900% improvement on bug feedback when we did that, and found an additional 300+ bugs that people were too bothered to post at google code.

If anything I'd say stop posting bugs at google code and only post them here. Leave google code for hardcore devs that want to upload patches for review.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Yakiv » Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:01 am

Qphoria wrote:.. there are even anti-google people.

Code: Select all

<smiles>Raises hand and says, "Yeah, Q, I'm one of them!"</smiles>

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:31 pm

Post by imaginetech » Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:37 am

Daniel,

It looks like the form validation routine is checking both the English and German fields on the add category page.

At the moment I am completing the category name for english and german to get it to create the category.
Daniel wrote:
sizzlingscience wrote:Hello there,

I've uploaded a new copy of version 1.4.0 and cannot add new categories or products. A error message is flashing up when I click save but the error message doesn't stay on screen long enough to read.

I was getting it to work fine with the previous version, so I'm sure I'm not doing anything differently than before.

Long the new look by the way!

Cheers, Melanie
i've no idea what you are dfoing wrong. others here have managed it fine. i rcomend posting a link to your site in the bugs forum!

Image
www.opencartstore.com
Get OpenCart Templates and OpenCart Modules.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:25 pm
Location - Darwin, Australia

Post by SuperJuice » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:18 am

Haven't had a chance to download/install yet, but can someone confirm:

1. There is a changelog in this release?
2. Does the database structure change at all from 1.3.4?
3. Do payment / shipping modules will need to be changed for 1.4? if so, how dramatic are the changes?
4. Is the Australia Post module still included, if so is it still the broken version?
5. Has anyone tested the upgrade path from 1.3.4 -> 1.4 and and confirm it worked successfully?

Also, why does the default graphic in the demo say "yours company slogan here" ? typo?

Cheers.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:06 pm

Post by cofran » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:55 am

good work, tk!!!

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:37 am
Location - Córdoba, Argentina

Post by samuel » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:18 pm

HI , Daniel !
Can you show me how to upload and use the Flash in v1.4.0 (I chose Ckeditor with Full) ? Thank you !!!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:13 pm

Post by Daniel » Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:30 pm

SuperJuice wrote:Haven't had a chance to download/install yet, but can someone confirm:

1. There is a changelog in this release?
2. Does the database structure change at all from 1.3.4?
3. Do payment / shipping modules will need to be changed for 1.4? if so, how dramatic are the changes?
4. Is the Australia Post module still included, if so is it still the broken version?
5. Has anyone tested the upgrade path from 1.3.4 -> 1.4 and and confirm it worked successfully?

Also, why does the default graphic in the demo say "yours company slogan here" ? typo?

Cheers.
I'm not sure about the Australia Post. I did fix it but its hard to test without and Australia Post account.

There is no change log but will try to add oen tonight.

The database has not changed.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Daniel » Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:33 pm

samuel wrote:HI , Daniel !
Can you show me how to upload and use the Flash in v1.4.0 (I chose Ckeditor with Full) ? Thank you !!!

I've not tested it full with flash. Somehting I will do tonight.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by readyman » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:45 pm

Great release Daniel, good work!!! I am updating the default template now to convert all inline styles to stylesheet classes in the stylesheet. Hopefully I can have it ready for 1.4.1.

http://www.alreadymade.com
Follow me on twitter.com/alreadymade


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 5:16 am
Location - Sydney

Post by i2Paq » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:01 pm

Qphoria wrote: I recommended the forum for bugs back in 0.7.9 because it supported code tags and was in a familiar place. We got 900% improvement on bug feedback when we did that, and found an additional 300+ bugs that people were too bothered to post at google code.

If anything I'd say stop posting bugs at google code and only post them here. Leave google code for hardcore devs that want to upload patches for review.
I totaly agree with you.

Let users post their "bugs" in the bug-forum and use something else for apointed coders who can upload code needed for fixes, adjustmends or improvemends.

Importand is that if topics in the bug-forum turn out to be not a bug that the topic gets moved to the appropiate forum.

Topics about bugs solved should be closed with a closing reply stating what the solution is.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by sunlady » Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:47 pm

At first , I love your cart system and many thanks for this great free software.
Anyway, I just installed new your newest version, I love the new admin,
but after setting the language I got this problem:

Error: Could not load language german!

and my admin panel is crashed, I can´t login anymore :(

I used the follow settings:
front language english , backend just for me in german..

do I need to install again, or where I can edit now this file?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:43 pm

Post by murray » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:20 pm

I think the new release is excellent!!!!

I posted a little while ago about the need for the front end to be revamped which caused a bit of a passionate debate!

Now to make myself unpopular again! I have added below a slightly re-tweaked version of Daniels design which I feel sits a bit more comfortably. Although the new front end is good I think it could be better which is what I hope I have done. Its nothing major just a few small tweaks to header and nav which I think will make an improvement.

What do you all think?
open-cart.jpg

open-cart.jpg (120.59 KiB) Viewed 5586 times

Last edited by murray on Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:24 pm

Post by i2Paq » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:22 pm

sunlady wrote:At first , I love your cart system and many thanks for this great free software.
Anyway, I just installed new your newest version, I love the new admin,
but after setting the language I got this problem:

Error: Could not load language german!

and my admin panel is crashed, I can´t login anymore :(

I used the follow settings:
front language english , backend just for me in german..

do I need to install again, or where I can edit now this file?
Looks like your are missing one or more German files

Make a copy of the admin\english and rename it to german.
Then copy the German language files over the English files in the \german map.
Upload these files to your admin\german.
No see if it works.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by i2Paq » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:23 pm

murray wrote:I
What do you all think?
What is the difference?

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by Qphoria » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:34 pm

murray wrote:I think the new release is excellent!!!!

I posted a little while ago about the need for the front end to be revamped which caused a bit of a passionate debate!

Now to make myself unpopular again! I have added below a slightly re-tweaked version of Daniels design which I feel sits a bit more comfortably. Although the new front end is good I think it could be better which is what I hope I have done. Its nothing major just a few small tweaks to header and nav which I think will make an improvement.

What do you all think?
open-cart.jpg
I definitely approve of that new design.. the faint stripes on the main blue bar definitely add a lot!

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by JasonSGN » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:36 pm

i2Paq wrote:
murray wrote:I
What do you all think?
What is the difference?
The language and currency drop-down boxes have been moved into the blue border and a site navigation display has been added right below them. Personally, I like it except I'd probably prefer the search feature to be before the language/currency drop-downs.

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:15 am

Post by Qphoria » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:43 pm

What happened with a version number being added to this version? Did that ever happen? I couldn't find a version number in the install/opencart.sql file

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests