Post by acewoodturner » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:01 am

I am based in the UK and wish to use Royal Mail as my shipping method. I have every other shipping method not installed. I have done a couple of dry runs with 2 friends buying low cost items on free shipping (with RM uninstalled at this point) and it worked ok. I uninstalled free shipping and installed RM. I have enabled it.
However when I do a purchase myself to test it, it comes up with ''no shipping options are available'' I have played about with the settings and still cannot get past this hitch. Has anyone got any pointers to help me out?

cheers

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by JAY6390 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:46 am

Hi Mike

Check that you've got the correct GeoZone for the UK and that your parcel weight wouldn't exceed the top RM weight value

Kind regards
Jay

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by acewoodturner » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:36 am

Hi Jay

I have now set up 3 zones, uk royal mail, eu and rest of the world and allocated countries to the geo zones. Tried to do a dry run by buying from my own address in the UK but it still says that there is no shipping option available. When I try to use flat rate and free shipping as 2 available options these both work and the buyer gets to choose which one this wish to go for.
Am I barking up the wrong tree with my 3 geographical zones, because I am now starting to pull more hair out as there is no clear guides to what is actually required for it to work? The product I wish to buy weighs only 130g so is not over any weight limit.

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by JAY6390 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:52 am

So in the GENERAL tab of Royal Mail's shipping extension you have set the GeoZone to UK Royal Mail? Also, do you have any other geo zones previously created that are still in the system? If so, that could be the issue

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by acewoodturner » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:31 pm

Hi Jay
I have the Royal Mail set to UK Royal Mail which covers the UK and it is set in the general tab. I have installed the City Link shipping method to see if that would work along with the Royal Mail one and when I checkout only the City Link option works.
Am I right in having the 3 zones for uk, eu and rest of the world? This is pretty puzzling!

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by JAY6390 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:58 pm

Hi Mike

puzzling indeed. Yes having different geo zones for different areas is perfectly normal. For the shipping, have you enabled the individual items you want to allow? There is one Status that needs to be set to enabled in the "General" tab. Then for each of the shipping options such as First Class there is an indivudal Status for each. Make sure that all of those are true, and that there are rates in the boxes above each one

Jay

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by acewoodturner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:14 am

Hi Jay
First things first
I have enabled each product allowing it to be sold and shipped. I have enabled the status, geozone set to UK Royal Mail zone, tax class to taxable goods which is what they are all set for in Products, and have enabled all categories in the UK Royal Mail types apart from second class post. I have left the rates and weights as they are in the module anyway.
Royal Mail is the only shipping method installed. I tried to buy a product on my site and it still comes up with '' Warning, no shipping options are available''
This is beginning to really p me off. Other options such as City Link work when I have them both enabled. City Link comes up as the only option available though. I cant understand why OC doesnt like or cant find Royal Mail.

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by JAY6390 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:35 am

Hey Mike. That's really weird. The last thing I can think of that is causing the issue is your default unit of measurement in SYSTEM > SETTINGS under the LOCAL tab. Can you confirm that the weight class is set to Kilograms?

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by acewoodturner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:21 am

Hi Jay

My default unit of measurement is millimeters and my default unit of weight is grams. In the RM uk shipping I have set the weight class to grams. Still dont work!

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by JAY6390 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:34 am

I think that may be the issue. Try changing it so that the RM weight class is KG and see if that fixes it

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by acewoodturner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:34 am

Hi Jay

It works! At last!!!! I changed the weights of a couple of items to kg's and it gave me 3 options for RM UK. I will change the rest of them tomorrow. Thankyou very much for your time and effort. This was beginning to really crack me up. I dont know why OC has so many little quirks that you have to second guess, with so many permutations it can be a long process.

Cheers

Mike

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am

Post by christianmcg » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:08 pm

Hi

Can anyone help - I'm having exactly the same problem as Jay had above -

Everything set to KG - product - site pref and Royal Mail pref

All RM enabled in general and in individual postage options.

Created a geo for UK only and selected that in RM options

All I get at checkout is "No shipping options available" its driving me up the wall !!

Thanks in advance for any help.
Chris.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:04 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests