Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Thu Apr 10, 2025 8:45 pm

Hi , I'm having trouble generating a barcode, and I don't know if anyone here has encountered this before, I'll try to describe the problem more precisely.

I generate the model number for each product by myself, I want to generate a barcode for each detail within the product and print it through the OpenCart control panel.

For example ( have a shoe model ) , to illustrate :
A black shoe , size 43, will have a different barcode than a black shoe, size 42, which will have a different barcode than a brown shoe, size 40.


To do this within OpenCart, I would have to duplicate the same product three times, and it would be given a new, different ID number. I think this is undesirable and illogical.

If I combine what I mentioned in the previous example into a single product and after searching a little through the available extensions, I didn't find an extension that generates a barcode for each detail of the product. Is there?

Do anyone have an idea for overcoming this problem?

Thanks in Advance

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by softmonke » Fri Apr 11, 2025 3:19 am

Not sure if I fully understand what you mean. Where exactly are you trying to generate these barcodes?

Also, why would you need to duplicate a product multiple times? Are you saying that for the example you've provided, you will need to create three products like below:

1. Black Shoe Size 43
2. Black Shoe Size 42
3. Black Shoe Size 40

If I understand correctly, you're basically trying to generate a barcode for each individual product and all combinations of the product's options? So say you have one single product of Shoe, and you have two options - Color (which includes values like Black, White, etc.) and Size (which includes values like 40, 42, 43). Could you not just generate the barcode by taking the product's model and combine it with all combinations of the option values and generate a barcode for each combination? I'm not sure how you are generating the barcode values and if you have some sort of formula going on.

Check out our ever-growing list of extensions for OpenCart here.
Some useful extensions for a better admin experience: Image File Manager ProDrag & Drop Sort Order

Reach out to us at hello@softmonke.com for your OpenCart web development needs or feedback for our extensions.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 23, 2023 4:42 am


Post by paulfeakins » Fri Apr 11, 2025 5:51 pm

Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Thu Apr 10, 2025 8:45 pm
Do anyone have an idea for overcoming this problem?
Yes, the problem is that by default in OpenCart different combinations of options don't get their own unique ID (or SKU).

There are various extensions in the marketplace that will do this, and then you should use the generated SKU for the barcode.

Try searching for things like "option combinations", "option sku", "option stock".

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:54 am

Yes softmonke, You understood it correctly .

Thanks , paulfeakins you give me the guide , Indeed, after searching and experimenting with the "option combinations", I can create a new SKU. The problem that I face is that I did not find a barcode generator for these options and print them. The existing extensions is for generating and printing barcodes for OpenCart default IDs.
I've searched extensively and haven't found any extensions that does this.
I'm surprised that there hasn't been an extension/s that solves this problem all this time.
( Perhaps I've just been unlucky enough to find such an extension, if it does exist).

Is there a solution ?
Thanks in Advance
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note : I urge developers ( OC 3.x ) if any of them saw my post and who made "option combinations" add-ons extensions available to complete this features so that it is complete and useful for the OpenCart system

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Tue Apr 22, 2025 3:18 am

Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:54 am

Is there a solution ?
I think I need a commercial work from someone who will do what I want, right ?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by SohBH » Tue Apr 22, 2025 2:59 pm

If you already have option combinations that generate SKU or EAN, it is possible to create barcodes for each product option in the admin product edit page.

View all extensions | Request custom work | Pricing | Contact Me


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:01 am
Location - Malaysia

Post by paulfeakins » Tue Apr 22, 2025 7:21 pm

Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 3:18 am
Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:54 am

Is there a solution ?
I think I need a commercial work from someone who will do what I want, right ?
We like the "Devman Options Combinations" extension, feel free to contact us if you need it modified to work with barcodes: info@antropy.co.uk

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Tue Apr 22, 2025 9:35 pm

SohBH wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 2:59 pm
If you already have option combinations that generate SKU or EAN, it is possible to create barcodes for each product option in the admin product edit page.
Thanks SohBH ,There are a lot of great option combinations extensions in the marketplace (assuming I have one), do you have the code to set up barcode generation and printing?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Tue Apr 22, 2025 9:40 pm

paulfeakins wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 7:21 pm
Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 3:18 am
Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Mon Apr 21, 2025 3:54 am

Is there a solution ?
I think I need a commercial work from someone who will do what I want, right ?
We like the "Devman Options Combinations" extension, feel free to contact us if you need it modified to work with barcodes: info@antropy.co.uk
paulfeakins
I sent you a message on your email address with the same title as my topic
Thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by SohBH » Wed Apr 23, 2025 3:20 pm

Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 9:35 pm
SohBH wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 2:59 pm
If you already have option combinations that generate SKU or EAN, it is possible to create barcodes for each product option in the admin product edit page.
Thanks SohBH ,There are a lot of great option combinations extensions in the marketplace (assuming I have one), do you have the code to set up barcode generation and printing?
Auto EAN Generator
Automatically creates valid EAN-13 barcodes for products that don’t have EAN / UPC.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47333

Admin Product Barcode Viewer
Quickly see EAN and UPC codes in the product list for printing.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47330

View all extensions | Request custom work | Pricing | Contact Me


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:01 am
Location - Malaysia

Post by Ahmed-E-Shop » Wed Apr 23, 2025 6:34 pm

SohBH wrote:
Wed Apr 23, 2025 3:20 pm
Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 9:35 pm
SohBH wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 2:59 pm
If you already have option combinations that generate SKU or EAN, it is possible to create barcodes for each product option in the admin product edit page.
Thanks SohBH ,There are a lot of great option combinations extensions in the marketplace (assuming I have one), do you have the code to set up barcode generation and printing?
Auto EAN Generator
Automatically creates valid EAN-13 barcodes for products that don’t have EAN / UPC.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47333

Admin Product Barcode Viewer
Quickly see EAN and UPC codes in the product list for printing.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47330
With this design ( i guess ) , I'll have dozens of barcodes in this box ( image attached ) depending on the number of options combinations for the product ( right ? ) Or did I understand wrong ? .

Will I print from the control panel (I don't see a print button available), or will I use the browser's options to print ?

Why you not combine the two extensions and make one control panel for them ?
( If you did this for me and also want to help the OpenCart community, I would prefer you contact me if you are able to create a complete and suitable powerful extension as I explained above )

Thanks SohBH

Attachments

???
pb.png

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 11, 2024 7:40 pm

Post by SohBH » Thu Apr 24, 2025 7:36 pm

Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Wed Apr 23, 2025 6:34 pm
SohBH wrote:
Wed Apr 23, 2025 3:20 pm
Ahmed-E-Shop wrote:
Tue Apr 22, 2025 9:35 pm


Thanks SohBH ,There are a lot of great option combinations extensions in the marketplace (assuming I have one), do you have the code to set up barcode generation and printing?
Auto EAN Generator
Automatically creates valid EAN-13 barcodes for products that don’t have EAN / UPC.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47333

Admin Product Barcode Viewer
Quickly see EAN and UPC codes in the product list for printing.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47330
With this design ( i guess ) , I'll have dozens of barcodes in this box ( image attached ) depending on the number of options combinations for the product ( right ? ) Or did I understand wrong ? .

Will I print from the control panel (I don't see a print button available), or will I use the browser's options to print ?

Why you not combine the two extensions and make one control panel for them ?
( If you did this for me and also want to help the OpenCart community, I would prefer you contact me if you are able to create a complete and suitable powerful extension as I explained above )

Thanks SohBH
You will need to create separate product for each option, like:
[Product Name Size S], [Product Name Size M], [Product Name Size L].

This way, when you search by product name in the admin, you will see barcodes for all sizes.

I have also added a Print Barcode button to the Admin Product Barcode Viewer.
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=47330

If you have any questions or need help, feel free to email me anytime.

View all extensions | Request custom work | Pricing | Contact Me


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:01 am
Location - Malaysia
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 147 guests