Post by Cue4cheap » Fri Sep 22, 2023 9:40 am

I have been doing a lot of testing on going from2.3.0.2 to 3.0.3.8. I have tried all sorts of things for my knowledge and if a time comes I must upgrade.
First let me say: Yes I know what most will say "don't do an upgrade up a fresh install but then move your products over".... While I agree the order history doesn't seem to be kid-simple to move to a new install. With JNeuhoff's excellent import/export tool customers and products are simple (thank you JNeuhoff) but orders are not included.
So on to my question:
I could of sworn when I did an upgrade from 1.5.6.4 to 2.3.0.2 almost all extensions stayed enabled and programmed.
Every test of going from 2.3.0.2 to 3.0.3.8 has every extension disabled and none kept their programming. Even ones that are "core" like USPS, UPS, etc.

Is that the way the upgrade is designed from 2.3.0.2 to 3.0.3.8?

Thank you,
Mike
Last edited by Cue4cheap on Fri Sep 22, 2023 11:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

cue4cheap not cheap quality


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:45 am

Post by KrewNoah » Fri Sep 22, 2023 2:52 pm

Yes, when upgrading from OpenCart 2.3.0.2 to 3.0.3.8, it is common for extensions to be disabled and lose their configuration settings due to significant changes in the system architecture and extension management. This is different from the upgrade from 1.5.6.4 to 2.3.0.2, where most extensions remain enabled and configured.

Krew Noah


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 03, 2023 3:39 pm
Location - US

Post by Cue4cheap » Fri Sep 22, 2023 11:28 pm

If that is the true fact going from 2.3.0.2 to 3.0.3.8 is designed, on purpose, to not transfer the configs to 3.0.3.8, and not enable the extension that were configured in 2.3.0.2, then that really says to not use the upgrade since you pretty much have to set up everything from scratch anyway.
The big downside of not doing an upgrade is the order history (plus taxes and the like). I know for myself when I shop I like looking back at my orders and would be unhappy with a store that no longer has my orders to refer back to, and at times re-order the items I frequently use.

Mike

cue4cheap not cheap quality


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:45 am

Post by ADD Creative » Mon Sep 25, 2023 7:26 pm

You might find the data is still in the settings table (or a backup) and may be able to change the code the key to retrieve the settings.

For example the flat shipping in 2.x would be.

Code: Select all

"store_id","code","key","value","serialized"
"0","flat","flat_sort_order","1","0"
"0","flat","flat_status","1","0"
"0","flat","flat_geo_zone_id","0","0"
"0","flat","flat_tax_class_id","9","0"
"0","flat","flat_cost","5.00","0"
Whereas in 3.x it should now be.

Code: Select all

"store_id","code","key","value","serialized"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_sort_order","1","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_status","1","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_geo_zone_id","0","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_tax_class_id","9","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_cost","5.00","0"
You could add shipping_ to the front of the code and key for the 2.x settings. Although some extensions may have a different format 3.x and it may not be any quicker than setting up your extensions again.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Cue4cheap » Wed Sep 27, 2023 8:54 am

ADD Creative wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2023 7:26 pm
You might find the data is still in the settings table (or a backup) and may be able to change the code the key to retrieve the settings.

For example the flat shipping in 2.x would be.

Code: Select all

"store_id","code","key","value","serialized"
"0","flat","flat_sort_order","1","0"
"0","flat","flat_status","1","0"
"0","flat","flat_geo_zone_id","0","0"
"0","flat","flat_tax_class_id","9","0"
"0","flat","flat_cost","5.00","0"
Whereas in 3.x it should now be.

Code: Select all

"store_id","code","key","value","serialized"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_sort_order","1","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_status","1","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_geo_zone_id","0","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_tax_class_id","9","0"
"0","shipping_flat","shipping_flat_cost","5.00","0"
You could add shipping_ to the front of the code and key for the 2.x settings. Although some extensions may have a different format 3.x and it may not be any quicker than setting up your extensions again.
Great info. The logic of why things are done eludes me. I have pointed out other carts in the past that do upgrades from one version to another better but there is a trade off in community and ease of making extension etc. that opencart usually wins.
I really hope OC will not lose its advantages but I feel it is as time goes on.

Mike

cue4cheap not cheap quality


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:45 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests