Post by xairflyer » Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:31 pm

thinking of moving my hosting, is it going to be a nightmare
what do I have to backup, I done the backup in the system/tools/backup restore
using 2.3.02

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by kestas » Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:05 am

First, export your database via phpmyadmin.
Next, copy all files from your current site.
On your new server create database, and import database (via phpmyadmin) which you have exported from old server.
Upload all files to the new server, which you have copied from the old one. Edit config.php and admin/config.php
And maybe you need to change DNS entries on your new server to make your new site live. In this case you should ask your new server provider what to do.
That's all you need to do.

Custom OpenCart modules and solutions. You can write PM with additional questions... Extensions you can find here


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:23 am

Post by thekrotek » Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:30 am

xairflyer wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:31 pm
thinking of moving my hosting, is it going to be a nightmare
If you don't have enough skill, then it might. Server environment can be different, MySQL version can be different and may cause issues, etc. If you don't know how to handle all possible issues, I'd recommend you to hire someone to do this for you.

Professional OpenCart extensions, support and custom work.
Contact me via email or Skype by support@thekrotek.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:24 am


Post by johnp » Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:25 am

Some hosts like the one I'm using will migrate your site in as part of their service.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/OC Bootstrap Pro/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Affordable Service £££ - Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades
Plus Ecommerce, Marketing, Mailing List Management and More
FREE Guidance and Advice at https://www.ecommerce-help.co.uk


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by xairflyer » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:11 pm

Thanks for replies going to hit the button today !

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by xairflyer » Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:40 am

As predicted turning into bit nightmare, I backed up everything exported database with phpmyadmin but keep getting errors when I try to import, get message below.

Error
SQL query
--
-- Database: `a-ope-mc9-u-101878`
--
CREATE DATABASE IF NOT EXISTS `a-ope-mc9-u-101878` DEFAULT CHARACTER SET latin1 COLLATE latin1_swedish_ci
MySQL said: Documentation
#1044 - Access denied for user 'dlasercraft'@'localhost' to database 'a-ope-mc9-u-101878'


Also tried fresh loading of 2.3.02 went well all installed ok deleted install folder, got admin screen up but wont go any further when I type admin plus password just refreshes goes nowhere ?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by johnp » Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:15 pm

Are you running Cpanel? You might find the backup/restore feature on there easier to use. Check you have created the database and user and set the right permissions.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/OC Bootstrap Pro/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Affordable Service £££ - Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades
Plus Ecommerce, Marketing, Mailing List Management and More
FREE Guidance and Advice at https://www.ecommerce-help.co.uk


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by uksitebuilder » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:48 am

Looks like you ticked the checkbox to create a database when you exported from original host.

I would advise against that.

Manually create the database on the new server.

Export from the old server but don't tick the create database checkbox.

You should then be able to import the backup in to the new database using the Import tab once you have selected the new database on new server

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xairflyer » Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:13 am

went to export again and went through custom fields but there is no checkbox for create database, there is going to be compatibility issues on new server nothing like this goes straight forward, I would be happy to start from scratch if I could get into the opencart admin but wont go any further than the log in screen

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by johnp » Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:01 am

I'm happy to take a look if you get really stuck. :)

Opencart 1.5.6.5/OC Bootstrap Pro/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Affordable Service £££ - Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades
Plus Ecommerce, Marketing, Mailing List Management and More
FREE Guidance and Advice at https://www.ecommerce-help.co.uk


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by xairflyer » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:26 pm

Thanks John my new hosting company said they will look into it for me, but apart from the database I dont understand why a new install which installed properly and showed no errors wont go past admin login panel ?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by xairflyer » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:42 pm

this is what comes up in address bar after it refreshes when i enter my login details
removed
Last edited by xairflyer on Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by straightlight » Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:56 pm

xairflyer wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:42 pm
this is what comes up in address bar after it refreshes when i enter my login details

http://www.3dlasercraft.com/admin/index ... XXXXXXXXXX
You are providing a URL to your OC admin where authentication is obviously required. In addition, I would not suggest posting your token string from the URL that includes your domain name.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by xairflyer » Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:59 am

thanks that was what shown in my address bar after I sign in,
So what is stopping me getting in?, its a new database, new install zero other files to cause an issue/conflict
there were no errors at installation, whats the point having an error check system it if it dosnt show an error?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by straightlight » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:02 am

there were no errors at installation, whats the point having an check system it if it dosnt show an error?
Which is when and why, the back-end access logs from your host console or FTP becomes useful. It might also be possible that your access logs might be disabled, by default, on your domain. I would first check in the FTP - > logs folder located before the public_html folder by viewing the most recent activities.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by johnp » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:49 am

Let one of the pros have FTP access and they can probably help a bit more.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/OC Bootstrap Pro/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Affordable Service £££ - Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades
Plus Ecommerce, Marketing, Mailing List Management and More
FREE Guidance and Advice at https://www.ecommerce-help.co.uk


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by xairflyer » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:58 pm

straightlight wrote:
Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:02 am
Which is when and why, the back-end access logs from your host console or FTP becomes useful. It might also be possible that your access logs might be disabled, by default, on your domain. I would first check in the FTP - > logs folder located before the public_html folder by viewing the most recent activities.
Sorry I am not sure what I am looking for all I know of ftp is that its a program I use to upload my files from my computor to a website ! There is a log folder in file manager in cpanel one of the files I can view it is full of stuff which looks repeated

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:11 pm

There is a log folder in file manager in cpanel one of the files I can view it is full of stuff which looks repeated
Which this page on cPanel can also be limited to 300 MB in size of information as compared to the host's file manager console's log folder or FTP log folder located on your root domain folder.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by xairflyer » Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:10 am

My hosting company guy Found login problem he said its an opencart bug and changed below
HTTPS_SERVER" URL http to https in admin/config.php file
whatever the problem was I can get in now, all my database is there but no images,

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:58 am

Post by straightlight » Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:19 am

config.php and admin/config.php files don't represent bugs. However, if no images are being shown, ensure your .htaccess file is properly configured if using SEOs and matches with both PHP config files.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests