Post by willopencart » Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:04 pm

Hi guys,
I am using a fresh install of OC, v2.3.0.2 and the default template.

As per the title, I am missing the Font Awesome Icons, as a lot of people are.
I tried directing everyone to www. only but that seemed to mess up the backend (dashboard) so I have directed everyone to non www.
I have updated the font awesome folder with the latest files.

Still no luck.
Any advice please?
Thanks
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:52 pm

Hi

What do you have set for the web address in config.php and admin/config.php

Also, what do you have set in your .htaccess file

ImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by willopencart » Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:22 pm

Hi,
I have non www, so http://mysite.co.uk for main config and admin config and htaccess is:

Code: Select all

SetEnv PHP_VERSION 54

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "\.(tpl|ini|log)">
 Order deny,allow
 Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# Prevent Directoy listing 
Options -Indexes

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://mysite.co.uk/$1 [L,R=301]
RewriteRule ^sitemap.xml$ index.php?route=feed/google_sitemap [L]
RewriteRule ^googlebase.xml$ index.php?route=feed/google_base [L]
RewriteRule ^download/(.*) /index.php?route=error/not_found [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !.*\.(ico|gif|jpg|jpeg|png|js|css)
RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]
Thanks.
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:35 pm

Hi

I have edited the htaccess in your post above

ImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by willopencart » Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:52 pm

Thanks very much.
I have copied it and uploaded it but it is still the same.
Maybe it takes a few minutes/hours?
I will check and let you know later.

Thanks again for looking and helping.
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:19 am

It should be instant.

You are substituting mysite.co.uk for your own domain I assume.

Also, the very first line may not be needed and may be causing a problem:

SetEnv PHP_VERSION 54

Finally, just double check that you have edited your config.php and admin/config.php to have all URL's without the www. prefix

ImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:43 am

The PHP version was 5.3, I have changed it to 5.6 and removed that code. (SetEnv PHP_VERSION 54).
Still no luck but maybe the php update takes a while?
I have the option to go to php 7 & 7.1, shall I do this?

Double checked the config files, the DIR is still www but the // HTTP & // HTTPS is non.

// DIR
define('DIR_APPLICATION', '/home/www/mysite.co.uk/catalog/');
define('DIR_SYSTEM', '/home/www/mysite.co.uk/system/');
define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home/www/mysite.co.uk/image/');

Thanks again
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by IP_CAM » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:38 am

If you would have posted a real Site URL, instead of that mysite.com thing, then, one could have checked,
on the Browser Source, if your link to the FontAwesome Icons really works ! ::)
Just to mention this!
Ernie

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:05 am

Hi Earnie,
Yeah, I know, websites not ready yet! ;)

I might have found the problem, I have 2 admin foldes and so 2 header.tpl files?

I have 2 places fontawsome is:
\admin\view\javascript\font-awesome
admin\admin\view\javascript\font-awesome

Is this right?
Thanks
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by IP_CAM » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:13 am

It depends, some Custom Themes, even some other Extensions, add their own Crab, unaware of, that
it possibly already exists elswhere. ;D After a while, I had a few of them, beeing around all over the place!
So, if you just remove one set of those font-awesome Subs, some Pages may not longer display
Fontawesome Icons. They would have to be relinked all together, in order to get their stuff from a common
source!

But if you have two Admin Folders, then, you just got mixed up somewhere, when uploading something !
Ernie

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:49 am

Hi guys,
So this is driving me insane.
I remove the admin/admin folder, everything seems fine.
So I now have 1 font awesome folder but it’s still not working.
Anyway - here is my URL:

Font Awesome seems OK.

Thanks guys.
Will.
Last edited by willopencart on Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by IP_CAM » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:04 am

well, did you really LINK your config.php settings correctly, by doing it like:

Code: Select all

ROOT:
// HTTP
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/');
// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/');
---
ADMIN:
<?php
// HTTP
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/admin/');
define('HTTP_CATALOG', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/');
// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/admin/');
define('HTTPS_CATALOG', 'http://buybbguns.co.uk/');

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:11 am

OK, so I need the config file in the admin file to get in the back end.
Done.

I still cannot see my mistake?

Thanks again
Will.
Last edited by willopencart on Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by cyclops12 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:14 am

Just a quick note NEVER post your passwords please edit your post

Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:15 am

cyclops12 - cheers!
Thanks IP_CAM

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by cyclops12 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:31 am

I take it you have the following files
http://buybbguns.co.uk/catalog/view/jav ... me.min.css

Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:46 am

Yes, new versions of all font awesome.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by cyclops12 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:58 am

This may help to make sure you have the redirect coded properly in your .htaccess file

Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by willopencart » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:11 am

Thanks, I have updated the htaccess file as per your suggestion, but still no icons!
This is crazy.
Thanks again.
Will.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:00 am

Post by IP_CAM » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:53 am

what happen, if you temporarely remove this from your .htaccess ?

Code: Select all

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://mysite.co.uk/$1 [L,R=301]
I believe to recall, to have experienced something similar before...
Ernie

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests