Post by nudge » Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:43 pm

Hiya, I want to change the wording, Region/State to County (thats what they are in the UK)

I went to /store/catalog/language/english/account/register.php and changed the wording on line 30

Code: Select all

$_['entry_zone']           = 'Region / State:';
to

Code: Select all

$_['entry_zone']           = 'County:';
thinking that would be it, but it all went wrong after upload. Same effect on Checkout when I did the same.

What did I do? And how can I fix?

thanks in advance. First question of many today I think!
Last edited by nudge on Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 pm

Post by GoGo OpenCart » Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:28 pm

nudge wrote:it all went wrong after upload
Can you define "wrong"...? :) Some print screens would be helpful, as well as attaching the changed "register.php" file would be nice...

Also, which program you've used to make the changes...?

See all my extensions: https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... 20OpenCart


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:30 pm

Post by nudge » Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:49 pm

I am using coffeecup HTML editor

This is a dummy shop I have put this on so it doesnt mess up the nearly live one


Image

Thats what it does to my page.

With this message at the top

Notice: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' in /home/www/MYSHOPNAMEINHERE/shop/catalog/language/english/account/register.php on line 1

My edited PHP file below

Code: Select all

<?php
// Heading 
$_['heading_title']        = 'Register Account';

// Text
$_['text_account']         = 'Account';
$_['text_register']        = 'Register';
$_['text_account_already'] = 'If you already have an account with us, please login at the <a href="%s">login page</a>.';
$_['text_your_details']    = 'Your Personal Details';
$_['text_your_address']    = 'Your Address';
$_['text_newsletter']      = 'Newsletter';
$_['text_your_password']   = 'Your Password';
$_['text_agree']           = 'I have read and agree to the <a class="colorbox" href="%s" alt="%s"><b>%s</b></a>';

// Entry
$_['entry_firstname']      = 'First Name:';
$_['entry_lastname']       = 'Last Name:';
$_['entry_email']          = 'E-Mail:';
$_['entry_telephone']      = 'Telephone:';
$_['entry_fax']            = 'Fax:';
$_['entry_company']        = 'Company:';
$_['entry_customer_group'] = 'Business Type:';
$_['entry_company_id']     = 'Company ID:';
$_['entry_tax_id']         = 'Tax ID:';
$_['entry_address_1']      = 'Address 1:';
$_['entry_address_2']      = 'Address 2:';
$_['entry_postcode']       = 'Post Code:';
$_['entry_city']           = 'City:';
$_['entry_country']        = 'Country:';
$_['entry_zone']           = 'County:';
$_['entry_newsletter']     = 'Subscribe:';
$_['entry_password']       = 'Password:';
$_['entry_confirm']        = 'Password Confirm:';

// Error
$_['error_exists']         = 'Warning: E-Mail Address is already registered!';
$_['error_firstname']      = 'First Name must be between 1 and 32 characters!';
$_['error_lastname']       = 'Last Name must be between 1 and 32 characters!';
$_['error_email']          = 'E-Mail Address does not appear to be valid!';
$_['error_telephone']      = 'Telephone must be between 3 and 32 characters!';
$_['error_password']       = 'Password must be between 4 and 20 characters!';
$_['error_confirm']        = 'Password confirmation does not match password!';
$_['error_company_id']     = 'Company ID required!';
$_['error_tax_id']         = 'Tax ID required!';
$_['error_vat']            = 'VAT number is invalid!';
$_['error_address_1']      = 'Address 1 must be between 3 and 128 characters!';
$_['error_city']           = 'City must be between 2 and 128 characters!';
$_['error_postcode']       = 'Postcode must be between 2 and 10 characters!';
$_['error_country']        = 'Please select a country!';
$_['error_zone']           = 'Please select a region / state!';
$_['error_agree']          = 'Warning: You must agree to the %s!';
?>

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 pm

Post by GoGo OpenCart » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:03 pm

The file content seems fine to me, and I just tried it to be sure, and it's working as it should... Can you edit the original file with Notepad++, and see if that helps...?

http://notepad-plus-plus.org/

Also, can you attach the actual file that's messed up, not just copy/paste the code from it...? :)

See all my extensions: https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... 20OpenCart


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:30 pm

Post by nudge » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:30 pm

Here ya go had to zip it due to forum thinking its an attack! .........am just downloading notepad++ now

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 pm

Post by nudge » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:34 pm

notepad++ fixed the issue thankyou :D dont know why coffeecup caused a problem?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 pm

Post by GoGo OpenCart » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:38 pm

nudge wrote:notepad++ fixed the issue thankyou :D dont know why coffeecup caused a problem?
No problem at all ;)

Have no idea, the file that you've attached is just fine, I tried it, and it's working as it should...

And I also downloaded the "CoffeeCup HTML Editor", made the change you've made to the original file, saved it, and it's working as it should, without a problem, so can't really tell what went wrong at your side... :)

See all my extensions: https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... 20OpenCart


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:30 pm

Post by nudge » Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:06 pm

Maybe my computer is having monday blues!!

Thanks for your help :D

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 pm

Post by GoGo OpenCart » Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:19 pm

Hehehe who knows... :)

No problem at all, you're welcome, I'm glad I helped... ;)

See all my extensions: https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... 20OpenCart


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:30 pm

Post by parkookk » Fri Oct 04, 2024 9:00 pm

Thanks, I have OC3031 and 3038 and in both of them I found this information in /store/catalog/language/english/account/address.php.

I am using English OpenCart 3.0.3.8, Default Template/Theme, php 7.4, Latest Brave Browser (No Ads-Blocker, etc.)


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:56 pm
Location - london
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests