Post by redwingsfan71 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 8:14 am

Hello all,

I'm using OC 3.0.3.8, I'm not sure how this happened but customers can't login to the storefront, but if I go into "Admin -> Customers -> Action -> Login to Store", I can log the customer in that way.

I'm not seeing any errors in any error logs.

Anyone have any insight into what this might be?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:35 am

If that email address is not yours it would be best to replace the image and hide/obscure the email address (GDPR and all that).

Please specify which logs and a web address so someone can check.
Is it all customers ?
Have you any extensions that are relevant to login / checkout ?
Have you tried to register a new customer with a new password ?

See these solutions
viewtopic.php?t=221153
viewtopic.php?t=227155
viewtopic.php?f=201&t=207498#p737358

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 11:46 am

by mona wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:35 am
If that email address is not yours it would be best to replace the image and hide/obscure the email address (GDPR and all that).

Please specify which logs and a web address so someone can check.
Is it all customers ?
Have you any extensions that are relevant to login / checkout ?
Have you tried to register a new customer with a new password ?

See these solutions
viewtopic.php?t=221153
viewtopic.php?t=227155
viewtopic.php?f=201&t=207498#p737358
Yes, that's my email, so no worries there.....

Thanks for the suggestions, I've tried registering a new customer and new password. Same results.
Nothing new as far as extensions either. I've been working on this new store for a couple of months now and this came out of nowhere, at least it seems that way.
I'll check on those links to other posts and report back.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by imdevlper18 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 12:55 pm

redwingsfan71 wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2023 8:14 am
Hello all,

I'm using OC 3.0.3.8, I'm not sure how this happened but customers can't login to the storefront, but if I go into "Admin -> Customers -> Action -> Login to Store", I can log the customer in that way.

I'm not seeing any errors in any error logs.

Anyone have any insight into what this might be?

Thanks in advance,
Chris
if you would like us to debug the issue. Do let us know here:
support@cartbinder.com

Opencart Extensions | Professional opencart support | Support Ticket | support@cartbinder.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun May 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Thu Apr 13, 2023 4:45 pm

Could be a session issue. Search the forum for it.

Anyway, without further detail it's hard to help you here. What's your website URL? What theme? What extensions?

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by redwingsfan71 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:49 pm

Ok, so I've been working on this more... In the forum threads I've looked through, after adding / editing code changes the results are all the same.
The customer can't login through the store front, but I can manually log them in through the admin side.

The site is in maintenance mode, I'm not sure how to let you guys in to look without taking it out of maintenance mode. Suggestions on that?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:51 pm

I'm starting to think its not a session issue, because they can be logged in, just not with the usual "index.php?route=account/login" on the storefront.....

Any help with this is greatly appreciated! ;D

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:57 pm

Customer login from the admin side is login via admin generated temporary token, not the regular manner, as such, they are totally unrelated.
So you cannot draw conclusions from whether one works and the other doesn't.

The last link is what you should do anyway, so keep that change. This explains it viewtopic.php?t=212972#p760752

How are you making the changes?
Are you sure you are editing the correct files?

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Thu Apr 13, 2023 11:14 pm

by mona wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2023 10:57 pm
Customer login from the admin side is login via admin generated temporary token, not the regular manner, as such, they are totally unrelated.
So you cannot draw conclusions from whether one works and the other doesn't.

The last link is what you should do anyway, so keep that change. This explains it viewtopic.php?t=212972#p760752

How are you making the changes?
Are you sure you are editing the correct files?
Here's the code changes I've made from the last topic you shared... Inside of root/system/framework.php

Code: Select all

// Response
$response = new Response();
$response->addHeader('Content-Type: text/html; charset=utf-8');
// ************************ Added by Christopher Harris per https://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=201&t=207498#p737358 ****************************
$response->addHeader('Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT');
$response->addHeader('Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0');
$response->addHeader('Pragma: no-cache');
// *****************************************************************************************************************************************************
$response->setCompression($config->get('config_compression'));
$registry->set('response', $response);

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Fri Apr 14, 2023 1:12 am

Did you go through the links and check everything else ? developer tools for example?
We would need a link to your store (out of maintenance mode) to assist any further.
Extensions / themes etc.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Fri Apr 14, 2023 2:16 am

by mona wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 1:12 am
Did you go through the links and check everything else ? developer tools for example?
We would need a link to your store (out of maintenance mode) to assist any further.
Extensions / themes etc.

Here's the link to the storefront... https://www.icbimproducts.com

I have a theme installed (that was over a month ago) and a few unrelated extensions... Shipping label, free shipping, product search, those types of extensions.
Nothing has changed as far as extensions in more than a week, and this issue suddenly appeared.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:00 am

You have account activation on.
Admin => Customer Groups => Approve new customers - No

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:25 am

by mona wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:00 am
You have account activation on.
Admin => Customer Groups => Approve new customers - No
[/quote
It was off, do you want it to be on?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:37 am

Sorry yes I want it to be YES
Screen Shot 2023-04-13 at 21.54.02.png

Screen Shot 2023-04-13 at 21.54.02.png (28.92 KiB) Viewed 2544 times

Check Admin=>customers =>customers > general tab is set to status ENABLED qwerty1 please

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:41 am

by mona wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 5:37 am
I want it to be NO
You will have to contact your theme developer because it is not an issue on default.
Screen Shot 2023-04-13 at 21.54.02.png
Check Admin=>customers =>customers > general tab is set to status ENABLED qwerty1 please
All of your qwerty users are enabled... And it is now set to "yes" for new customer approval...

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Fri Apr 14, 2023 6:27 am

No it is still requiring activation which is not opencart default so there is a modification somewhere.

You will have to disable your theme to test on default, if not that then disable your extensions one by one to see which one is editing the Opencart functionaility.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Fri Apr 14, 2023 6:30 am

by mona wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 6:27 am
No it is still requiring activation which is not opencart default so there is a modification somewhere.

You will have to disable your theme to test on default, if not that then disable your extensions one by one to see which one is editing the Opencart functionaility.
I had just today set it to "yes", it was set to "no" by default.
Sorry if I confused you somehow...

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am

Post by by mona » Fri Apr 14, 2023 6:51 am

No I made the confusion .. it is late - it has been a hard day and I didnt check
anyway - it needs to be auto activated as in I was right the first time -
Customers must be approved by an administrator before logging in - NO
As in register and get straight into your account ..

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by redwingsfan71 » Wed Apr 19, 2023 12:29 am

Problem solved...... ;D
It was server side database collation issues...
A module developer had changed some tables of the database to an oddball collation and things got out of sync.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests