Post by gula » Wed Nov 02, 2022 11:08 am

I added two languages: English and Chinese.
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.

When I add product information, it has to be filled in both languages.

Is there any way to fill in only English?

Uninstalling Chinese will make me dyslexic in the admin backend and my English is very poor.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2022 10:06 pm

Post by OSWorX » Wed Nov 02, 2022 4:18 pm

gula wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 11:08 am
I added two languages: English and Chinese.
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.

When I add product information, it has to be filled in both languages.

Is there any way to fill in only English?

Uninstalling Chinese will make me dyslexic in the admin backend and my English is very poor.
Simple solution (and free): https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=27975

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by gula » Wed Nov 02, 2022 5:35 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 4:18 pm
gula wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 11:08 am
I added two languages: English and Chinese.
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.

When I add product information, it has to be filled in both languages.

Is there any way to fill in only English?

Uninstalling Chinese will make me dyslexic in the admin backend and my English is very poor.
Simple solution (and free): https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=27975
Tera thank you very much! Solved.
Last edited by gula on Wed Nov 02, 2022 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2022 10:06 pm

Post by gula » Wed Nov 02, 2022 5:46 pm

Mine is 3.0.3.8

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2022 10:06 pm

Post by gula » Thu Nov 03, 2022 1:46 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 4:18 pm
gula wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 11:08 am
I added two languages: English and Chinese.
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.

When I add product information, it has to be filled in both languages.

Is there any way to fill in only English?

Uninstalling Chinese will make me dyslexic in the admin backend and my English is very poor.
Simple solution (and free): https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=27975


It has one more problem so that it will not be possible to add information such as products and categories.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2022 10:06 pm

Post by OSWorX » Thu Nov 03, 2022 3:11 pm

gula wrote:
Thu Nov 03, 2022 1:46 pm
It has one more problem so that it will not be possible to add information such as products and categories.
Means what ?!

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by gula » Thu Nov 03, 2022 7:01 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Thu Nov 03, 2022 3:11 pm
gula wrote:
Thu Nov 03, 2022 1:46 pm
It has one more problem so that it will not be possible to add information such as products and categories.
Means what ?!
That is, after I hide (disable) a certain language, I find that adding products, categories, images, etc. doesn't work.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 01, 2022 10:06 pm

Post by OSWorX » Fri Nov 04, 2022 10:44 pm

gula wrote:
Wed Nov 02, 2022 11:08 am
I added two languages: English and Chinese.
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.

When I add product information, it has to be filled in both languages.

Is there any way to fill in only English?

Uninstalling Chinese will make me dyslexic in the admin backend and my English is very poor.
Okay .. read the message again.
The solution I gave you will hide all fields associated with the disabled language.
Which means also, it is no longer available.

But what cofuse me totally is this here:
English is the frontend and Chinese is the admin backend.
and
my English is very poor
So, what do yo u want to achieve?
As fas as I read this (and understand), you will have a webshop and 2 languages (English & Chinese).
But you are not good in English, so what for do you need English?
And if your English is poor, how will you write the product descriptions?

Back to your "problem": it is not possible to have one language only in the backend and one only (or more) in the frontend (=shop).
Not with the standard installation or common extensions.
What do you need a is an individual extension, but that will cost you money.

Or, what you could do (and that is the simpliest way of all and will cost you nothing when you do it by yourself):

1. enable English per default (do not install any other language or if already done, delete them)
2. simply copy the backend language files from the Chinese package (the whole folder) into the en-gb folder

Doing so, will have English in the shop, but Chinese in the backend.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests