Post by Exphor » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:36 am

I have updated from V2 to V3.
Copied succesfully the database from 2 to 3, and everything has transfered successfully.

Apart from when I add every image via ftp to the correct location if I add too many images the V3 opencart crashes on some pages and slows right down also.
The site contains about 15,000 images so do not really like the idea of re-uploading every single image and attach to the correct product.
But it does appear more stable when I do it with the admin area.

Anyone have any suggestions??

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 16, 2015 4:11 pm

Post by sw!tch » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:44 am

Look at your error log. My guess is you are probably reaching PHP's memory limit or max execution time when it tries to re-generate thumbnails. Once it has an image cache generated, it will speed up again, but if your server can't handle the initial load to generate a thumbnail it will timeout, you may need to up those limits.

Check the error logs.

Always have a good backup and [ learn how to recover ] before you make any changes.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 pm

Post by Exphor » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:24 pm

Nothing in the error logs at all.
I have set the server to 1024mb in php.ini but I still get 268m exausted error at the top.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 16, 2015 4:11 pm

Post by sw!tch » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:47 pm

Exphor wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:24 pm
Nothing in the error logs at all.
I have set the server to 1024mb in php.ini but I still get 268m exausted error at the top.
Well definitely a memory issue..

You can create a php file with the below and see if your .ini is taking effect.

Code: Select all

<?php  phpinfo();  ?>
Make sure you delete the file when done testing.

Also if setting at the server level then need to also check the php.ini in your storefront public directory as that may be overriding the server.

Otherwise contact your host. Not all hosts use php.ini overrides, might be .user.ini, etc.

Good luck.
Last edited by sw!tch on Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Always have a good backup and [ learn how to recover ] before you make any changes.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 pm

Post by Exphor » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:52 pm

I have noticed that within the image folder, I have both cache and catalogue which contain duplicated folders and files.
Can I delete the cache folder to improve the performance?

I seem to have noticed that creating a folder structure within the admin image uploading area, the performance does seem to improve dramatically.
(My client originally put 1/4 of his images straight into the image root folder which isn't helping)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 16, 2015 4:11 pm

Post by sw!tch » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:56 pm

You can delete the contents of the image cache folder, but it won't improve performance. It will actually make it initially much slower since it has to regenerate all the thumbnails again. Optimize your source images to a smaller size or otherwise get a server with an appropriate configuration to handle the load.

Always have a good backup and [ learn how to recover ] before you make any changes.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests