Post by Evilonion » Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:43 am

when installing extensions do they make changes to the database?

long story short I'm getting large error logs so my plan is to create a completely new store, get rid of all the old extensions and then connect to the old database.
Will this work, or do the extensions make core changes that would cause errors?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:07 pm

Post by Elevate » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:15 am

Evilonion wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:43 am
when installing extensions do they make changes to the database?

long story short I'm getting large error logs so my plan is to create a completely new store, get rid of all the old extensions and then connect to the old database.
Will this work, or do the extensions make core changes that would cause errors?
Some extensions do and some don't alter the database. Do you have the code for all of the extensions so that you or a developer could look and see what changes, if any are made?

ELEV8TE Website Development
https://www.elev8your.com


New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:40 am
Location - Denver, Colorado, USA

Post by thekrotek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:38 am

When you have a large error log, you check it and fix errors, not create a new store. New store will have new errors and most likely the old ones as well.

Professional OpenCart extensions, support and custom work.
Contact me via email or Skype by support@thekrotek.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:24 am


Post by Evilonion » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:52 am

no one on here knows what is causing the errors with my site though.
there must be some sort of conflict happening with a modification even though I'm only using a handful of mods.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:07 pm

Post by thekrotek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:00 am

Evilonion wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:52 am
no one on here knows what is causing the errors with my site though.
there must be some sort of conflict happening with a modification even though I'm only using a handful of mods.
If you can't fix something yourself, you usually hire a professional, right?

Professional OpenCart extensions, support and custom work.
Contact me via email or Skype by support@thekrotek.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:24 am


Post by straightlight » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:44 am

Create a new service request in the Commercial Support section of the forum to get this done as a custom job.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Evilonion » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:12 am

Do you remember a while back I had an issue with error logs.
It was a cache.language file that opencart kept saying didn’t exist.
I believe it even went to github and I tried various fixes.

All along it’s been nitropack that has caused the issue!

I may do the commercial request as you suggested though as the site hasn’t been running correctly for quite a while.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:07 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:37 am

Evilonion wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:12 am
Do you remember a while back I had an issue with error logs.
It was a cache.language file that opencart kept saying didn’t exist.
I believe it even went to github and I tried various fixes.

All along it’s been nitropack that has caused the issue!

I may do the commercial request as you suggested though as the site hasn’t been running correctly for quite a while.
Despite. That is not only off-topic but the fixes you are referring to was about the language key that contained an invalid name and causing the error message on the browser. It had nothing to do with Nitropack. However, if you already had Nitropack installed at that period of time, then even less relevant to the issue described on GitHub since even without Nitropack, this error message still appears without the fix.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Evilonion » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:24 pm

Sorry, I hadn’t followed this issue for some time.
Was the cause of it found then?
My error logs are absolutely full of the missing page report if nitropack is installed or if I remove it...
I assumed it was nitropack due to it happening on a fresh install after I added the extension.

Do you have a link to the fix please or a link to the discussion so I can see the cause?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:07 pm

Post by paulfeakins » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:24 pm

iSense are usually very good at fixing genuine issues with their extensions.

For quick, professional OpenCart support please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - Reigate, Surrey, United Kingdom
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests