Post by Fuzzy » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:49 am

Hello,

I am trying to hide my subcategories.

In the older version you could just uncheck the "top" box and it would remove the category from the drop-down.

However in the new version 3.0.2 it works only for top (parent) categories.

any feedback would be great. Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by xxvirusxx » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:07 am

Fuzzy wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:49 am
In the older version you could just uncheck the "top" box and it would remove the category from the drop-down.
I don't think was this option on older version for subcategories...
I think was an extension.

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by Fuzzy » Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:54 pm

I don't think that is the case. I dont know why opencart would go backwords with this. its so simple i just want to disable my child categories from the drop down yet show them when you click the top category when it takes you to the category page.

You can see in my screenshot that the older version supports child categories.


Frustrating.

any good feedback please?

Attachments

screen shot 2.jpg

screen shot 2.jpg (184.07 KiB) Viewed 845 times


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by johnp » Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:00 am

Why not just install a custom menu extension and build the top menu you want.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/Default Theme/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Fast Service for Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades plus Ecommerce, Marketing and More
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk ... e-services


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by xxvirusxx » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:38 pm

What version?
Because I have checked on 1.5.6.3 and 1.5.6.4 and I don't see the option for subcategory.

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:53 am

I would say OP had this mod installed

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by johnp » Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:47 pm

That looks like the one to me. Well spotted cyclops.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/Default Theme/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Fast Service for Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades plus Ecommerce, Marketing and More
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk ... e-services


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by Fuzzy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:05 am

Wow thanks cyclops. good catch.

Does anyone know of a script that does this same thing?

Can't seem to find any for version 3.0.3

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by cyclops12 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:16 am

Have you tried asking the author if he will make an updated version?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Fuzzy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:28 am

I have.

Patiently waiting for a response.

Thanks again.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by xxvirusxx » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:40 am

From what version you posted you image?

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by Fuzzy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:42 am

Version 1.5.6.4

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by xxvirusxx » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:08 am

Hmm weird.
I have checked on 1.5.6.4 language and the message is this:

Code: Select all

Top:<br/><span class="help">Display in the top menu bar. Only works for the top parent categories.</span>';
And on image write:

Code: Select all

Display in the top menu bar. Work for children categories, too!
Sure you don't have a vqmod extension?

LE. I think you have already installed extension posted by @cyclops12

LE2. You can check in vqmod-->xml from FTP and if you send me vqmod file I can try to convert for free tomorrow.

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by Fuzzy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:17 am

He said he won't be updating it anytime soon.

Here is the XML file from my old version.

That would be great if you could convert.

Attachments


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by johnp » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:50 am

As I suggested before. Why not install a menu extension. That will give you way more flexability and you can create exactly the menu you want.

BTW that VQMOD works fine on my 1.5.6.5 test site.

Opencart 1.5.6.5/Default Theme/VQMOD 2.6.1 lover, user and geek.
Fast Service for Opencart Installs, Fixing, Development and Upgrades plus Ecommerce, Marketing and More
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk
https://asandwhenbusinessservices.co.uk ... e-services


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:25 am
Location - Surrey, UK

Post by xxvirusxx » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:53 am

See if work
If you don't have vqmod installed, I can convert to ocmod

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by Fuzzy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:30 am

Thanks for trying Virus. It threw server error when I tried to install.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by xxvirusxx » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:55 am

What error, what file? ocmod or vqmod?

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm

Post by Fuzzy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:02 am

I tried the OCmod Zip.

It got halfway through the installer when it started throwing internal server errors.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:30 am

Post by xxvirusxx » Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:05 am

You can try to install vqmod 2.6.1 and test vqmod file. On my demo 3.x I don't have any issue.

My Extensions | OC 3.0.3.1, 3.0.2.0, 2.3.0.2 with bugs fixed.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests