Post by gavin m » Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:03 am

joomx wrote:
gavin m wrote:Is it quite a bit of work to fix it then? Was hoping to avoid having to upgrade again for some time.
If you have read all posts in this thread, you may understand why this cannot be a 'quick and dirty' hack.
I have read it and understand it's not 'quick and dirty'. (although reading what I put actually gives the opposite impression lol )

Either way, a fix for this sort of issue would be good for back porting to previous versions as not everyone wants to invest the sort of time required to reset up a store to how they want it everytime a fix for some issue is needed. God Knows I don't want ot upgrade each and everytime a new versio is available with a fix for this or that.

In this case, a patch would be good.
peteVA wrote:Rename the OC "invoice" to "Initial Receipt" and do a formal invoice in Quickbooks, or some similar program, you are going to have to enter everything into some sort of accounts anyhow. Then just email the invoice from the accounting program.

You will have everything in order and a set of balanced books, inventory status if you want it, profit and loss statement, etc.
Now, thats an idea worth investigating, thanks for the idea.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:23 pm

Post by OSWorX » Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:09 am

gavin m wrote:Either way, a fix for this sort of issue would be good for back porting to previous versions as not everyone wants to invest the sort of time required to reset up a store to how they want it everytime a fix for some issue is needed. God Knows I don't want ot upgrade each and everytime a new versio is available with a fix for this or that.
One of the reasons why a new version is published, it will have (beside better security, perfomance, etc.) new features.
Now we could debate if this is called a 'feature' or should be in the core from the beginning (I would vote for the second).

New releases are required - but having new features also for former releases may something for customers with paid support (if offered) but nothing for OpenSource.
That is why a new release is published.
gavin m wrote:In this case, a patch would be good.
Due the complexity, see comment above.

Final:
* how long would you like to have a backward compatibility (or patches for older versions)?
* I do not know the developers 'version policy' (if exists), but normally a release cycle like 1.3.x is dead if a new with 1.4.x is out.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by gavin m » Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:21 am

Personally, i see this as a issue not a feature and thats why I call for a patch but I take your point about about paid verses open source.

Just so you know, the company I work for supports upto 4 versions back (including previous point releases) but then, as you say, thats a paid for service.

I guess I'm waiting for the fix in a new version then. :(

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:23 pm

Post by OCyvon2 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:33 am

About the invoice number:

I changed some small corrections to get the invoice number.

See attached file.

It's not the beautyprice but anyway you can use this.

Attachments


OpenCartstore
Gebruikersgids (admin handleiding)


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:00 pm
Location - Zaandam, The Netherlands

Post by Cyberdude » Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:40 pm

OCyvon2 wrote:About the invoice number:

I changed some small corrections to get the invoice number.

See attached file.

It's not the beautyprice but anyway you can use this.

If you do it this way, you will need to update this files every year ??

Maybe there is a way, that it takes date automaticly ?

Logohunt.Net, Get Amazing custom logo designs for your business in just a few Hours! Start a online logo design contest for only $29 and watch designer logos roll in the same day!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm
Location - Belgium

Post by OCyvon2 » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:57 pm

I use the year 2010 in the number but you can choose any number you like.
orders are counting forward - order number #213 = invoice 2010213
When you put "1111" it will be invoice nr. 1111213 next year it will be (hopefully) invoice nr. 1112199
You can also use pf (proforma invoice) then you habe to change the invoice into pf-invoice.

OpenCartstore
Gebruikersgids (admin handleiding)


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:00 pm
Location - Zaandam, The Netherlands

Post by Cyberdude » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:15 pm

I changed your code a litle

but have one last issue.

I don't know why, but, when you go to account, then view your orders, and choose one, it says :

Notice: Undefined variable: orders in /home/yousite/public_html/catalog/view/theme/default/template/account/invoice.tpl on line 17

I added this code:

Code: Select all

<b><?php echo $text_invoice_no; ?></b><br />MS/<?php echo $order['date_added']; ?><?php echo $order_id; ?><br />
but, it seems that he can't find the date_added in order DB.

Don't know why

i did same in admin, and when i click print invoice, it works fine, it says MS/24/02/201050

MS= my reference then date&order number

but in account as client he does not find this

Code: Select all

<?php echo $order['date_added']; ?>
and i don't know why, because, i'm telling to check $order DB, and take the date order whas added.

any suggestion ?

(by the way, in your text file, you forghet to mention, that you have to add <?php echo $text_invoice_no; ?> in language/account/invoice.php and define it)

Logohunt.Net, Get Amazing custom logo designs for your business in just a few Hours! Start a online logo design contest for only $29 and watch designer logos roll in the same day!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm
Location - Belgium

Post by Cyberdude » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:59 pm

ok so this is the code i use in /catalog/view/theme/default/template/account/invoice.tpl

Code: Select all

<?php echo $header; ?><?php echo $column_left; ?><?php echo $column_right; ?>
<div id="content">
  <div class="top">
    <div class="left"></div>
    <div class="right"></div>
    <div class="center">
      <h1><?php echo $heading_title; ?></h1>
    </div>
  </div>
  <div class="middle">
    <div style="background: #F7F7F7; border: 1px solid #DDDDDD; padding: 10px; margin-bottom: 10px;">
      <table width="536">
        <tr>
          <td width="33.3%" valign="top">
            <b><?php echo $text_order; ?></b><br />#<?php echo $order_id; ?><br />
            
            <br />
            <b><?php echo $text_email; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $email; ?><br />
            <br />
            <b><?php echo $text_telephone; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $telephone; ?><br />
            <br />
            <?php if ($fax) { ?>
            <b><?php echo $text_fax; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $fax; ?><br />
            <br />
            <?php } ?>
            
            <?php if ($shipping_method) { ?>
            <b><?php echo $text_shipping_method; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $shipping_method; ?><br />
            <br />
            <?php } ?>
            
            <b><?php echo $text_payment_method; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $payment_method; ?></td>
          <td width="33.3%" valign="top"><?php if ($shipping_address) { ?>
            <b><?php echo $text_shipping_address; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $shipping_address; ?><br />
            <?php } ?></td>
          <td width="33.3%" valign="top"><b><?php echo $text_payment_address; ?></b><br />
            <?php echo $payment_address; ?><br /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
          <td width="33.3%" valign="top"><b><?php echo $text_invoice_no; ?></b><br />
	    MS/<?php echo $order['date_added']; ?><?php echo $order_id; ?><br /></td>
        </tr>
      </table>
    </div>
I just don't understand, why it is not showing <?php echo $order['date_added']; ?> !

he shows <?php echo $order_id; ?>

can anyone help?

Logohunt.Net, Get Amazing custom logo designs for your business in just a few Hours! Start a online logo design contest for only $29 and watch designer logos roll in the same day!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm
Location - Belgium

Post by Cyberdude » Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:25 am

ok fixed.

Thank OSWorkx

I whas almost done :D

I needed to code like this :

Code: Select all

<td width="33.3%" valign="top">
				<b><?php echo $text_invoice_no; ?></b>
				<br />
				MS/<?php echo $historys[0]['date_added']; ?><?php echo $order_id; ?>
				<br />
			</td>
Damn, I almost did it. Not bad he, for a newbie coder ;D

Thanks. , Works great now

Logohunt.Net, Get Amazing custom logo designs for your business in just a few Hours! Start a online logo design contest for only $29 and watch designer logos roll in the same day!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm
Location - Belgium

Post by OSWorX » Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:47 am

Now you know how it works ;D

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by i2Paq » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:30 am

I've just spoken with Daniel on Skype.

The invoice-numbers will be set up as following:

1. A button where you can generate one invoive per order
2. After the invoice for that order has been generated you cannot edit/push the button it anymore
3. A field where you can put in your own invoicenumber to start with and the button will ad 1 to it and so on

So if you want 2010000, you put that in your field and the first invoice will be 2010001.
Comes a new year you just change that field.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by Cyberdude » Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:07 am

i2Paq wrote:I've just spoken with Daniel on Skype.

The invoice-numbers will be set up as following:

1. A button where you can generate one invoive per order
2. After the invoice for that order has been generated you cannot edit/push the button it anymore
3. A field where you can put in your own invoicenumber to start with and the button will ad 1 to it and so on

So if you want 2010000, you put that in your field and the first invoice will be 2010001.
Comes a new year you just change that field.
Is this for the new version?

Logohunt.Net, Get Amazing custom logo designs for your business in just a few Hours! Start a online logo design contest for only $29 and watch designer logos roll in the same day!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:39 pm
Location - Belgium

Post by i2Paq » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:14 pm

Cyberdude wrote:
i2Paq wrote:I've just spoken with Daniel on Skype.

The invoice-numbers will be set up as following:

1. A button where you can generate one invoive per order
2. After the invoice for that order has been generated you cannot edit/push the button it anymore
3. A field where you can put in your own invoicenumber to start with and the button will ad 1 to it and so on

So if you want 2010000, you put that in your field and the first invoice will be 2010001.
Comes a new year you just change that field.
Is this for the new version?
Yep.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by OSWorX » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:21 pm

Only 'one' problem: starting with number 1 is fine, but WHAT IF you have already numbers?
Then I must have the possibility to start also with any number!

Case: I have already invoicenumbers and I am starting my webshop during the year, I cannot start AGAIN with #1.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by i2Paq » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:32 pm

OSWorX wrote:Only 'one' problem: starting with number 1 is fine, but WHAT IF you have already numbers?
Then I must have the possibility to start also with any number!

Case: I have already invoicenumbers and I am starting my webshop during the year, I cannot start AGAIN with #1.
NO, but you can just put in the number that you already have and then OC will start the next one with the-number-you-already-have+1

I've just send Daniel a PM asking if it would be possible to have a text-field that you can select to be a pre or suffix where you can put in anything you want.
So that when you want your invoicenumber to be 2010-1 you just put in 2010- and it will look likt this 2010-1 when selected as pre-fix.
If you want it to be a suffix and have 1-2010 you select it as a suffix and put -2010 in that text-field.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by OSWorX » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:48 pm

What if I have not only numbers?
My invoice numbers could be like that: RE-2010-03001 or IN-03001-2010

Will this be that flexible?

If that (text) field could like that:

Code: Select all

%s-%s_%s
or whatever else with placeholders like

Code: Select all

#year#-#month#-#number#
which could be also

Code: Select all

{year}-{month}-{number}
in any ordering, then it is flexible.

With a regex can be done many.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by i2Paq » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:59 pm

I'm not sure, I'll have to wait on the reply by Daniel.

Why you want it setup this way as the goal here is to have it according to EU law.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by OSWorX » Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:04 pm

i2Paq wrote:Why you want it setup this way as the goal here is to have it according to EU law.
I know - but the law says nothing about the ordering of the invoice number, this is up to you (or your invoicing/bookkeeping system).
And about the rest there is already discussed enough - why reopen the same thing?

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by 24-7-open » Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:26 pm

EU and national regulations require also one/two (of business customer with intercommunity delivery) VAT number lines and one line for Chamber of Commerce number of sender on invoices.

Two bank lines (IBAN/BIC and/or national bankaccount number) are almost must-haves for professional invoices.

Greetings,

24-7-open

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:45 pm

Post by i2Paq » Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:28 pm

OSWorX wrote:
i2Paq wrote:Why you want it setup this way as the goal here is to have it according to EU law.
I know - but the law says nothing about the ordering of the invoice number, this is up to you (or your invoicing/bookkeeping system).
And about the rest there is already discussed enough - why reopen the same thing?
I'm not reopening it, you are.

I just informed about the status and then reading thru this topic I noticed that the Italian law wants the numbering setup as 1-2010, so I PM't Daniel about this additional field.
I know we have spoken about this before but it has been awhile.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests