Post by dj_hertz2000 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:20 am

Hello Neuhoff

Thank you for your reply and pointing me to the right direction. I did the following and it worked!!

Just curious, why all previous versions worked, just the latest didnt ?

ANYWAY, Am writing the SOLUTION BELOW for other to use, this solution can also be found at the link you directed to.

1) CREATE a Folder tmp inside of your system/

** NOTE ** Make sure the System & Temp folders have FULL Access ( READ & WRITE)

2) USING a Text Editor , open file /admin/model/tool/export/php

a) Search for "$objWriter->save('php://output');" and comment it suing //

//$objWriter->save('php://output');

b) PLACE below code below the just commented line

$filePath = '/tmp/' . rand(0, getrandmax()) . rand(0, getrandmax()) . ".tmp";
$objWriter->save($filePath);
readfile($filePath);
unlink($filePath);


HOPE this helps others!

Again thank you to JNeuhoff & user1005242 from Stackoverflow.com

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:05 pm

Post by skookumrob » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:49 am

I am having memory limit trouble on my shared host (limit set to 512mb) please see note from host below:

Hi Robert,

As we discussed, here's what I found:

The export module you are currently using is causing the server to use an excessive amount of memory. Increasing the memory_limit to 2048 MB on shared hosting is excessive and will lead to server overloads. The majority of shared hosting providers either limit (through policy) or through implemented limits, the limit usually at no more than 256 MB. Occasionally I've seen it allowed up to 512 MB on shared hosting.

It is dangerous to allow more, because if you submit multiple requests through your browser for that export, it can quickly cause the server to run out of memory and cause an overload. For that reason, I'm afraid we could only offer a working solution on a Virtual Private Server (VPS).

From what I've read on the opencart website, the reason the export module uses so much memory and time is that it is converting the exported data into XLSX, which is a memory intensive task. I read on the opencart forums that if you exported the data into a CSV file instead, it would consume a lot less memory during the export process.

Hopefully you can work with the opencart module developer on a solution, or find a suitable alternative.

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:56 am

skookumrob:

You should use the new multi-lingual Export/Import Tool, which also works for single language only, and most importantly, allows you to export and import in smaller batches, thus avoiding the memory_limit issue.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by skookumrob » Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:27 pm

JNeuhoff wrote:skookumrob:

You should use the new multi-lingual Export/Import Tool, which also works for single language only, and most importantly, allows you to export and import in smaller batches, thus avoiding the memory_limit issue.
Sure, I'll give that a try... Just wondering why, with the exact same database I had no issues when I was running OC 1.5.0?

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by skookumrob » Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:00 am

The multi-lingual version is working for me... Thanks!

Question... As I divide my database into id range sections (ie 10000-19999 = a particular range of products 20000-29999 is another range of products etc) this works quite nicely with your data range export. My question is... when I add items through the Admin panel it assigns the next available number (after the highest registered value) Can I Export this range... change the Product Id # to fall back within my defined range (ie: item # 54321 changed to 32101
[the next available number in the 30000 range} and Import and have it now show up in the correct id range?

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:01 pm

Can I Export this range... change the Product Id # to fall back within my defined range (ie: item # 54321 changed to 32101
[the next available number in the 30000 range} and Import and have it now show up in the correct id range?
If you change the product_id and then re-import, it would effectively become a new product, and the old one with the previous product_id would still be there, too.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by skookumrob » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

JNeuhoff wrote:
Can I Export this range... change the Product Id # to fall back within my defined range (ie: item # 54321 changed to 32101
[the next available number in the 30000 range} and Import and have it now show up in the correct id range?
If you change the product_id and then re-import, it would effectively become a new product, and the old one with the previous product_id would still be there, too.
Soooo... If I export range 30000-39999 and 50000-59999 as separate spreadsheets and then cut/paste from the 50000 export to the 30000 (and add the next available product_id in the 30000 range) and then Import both sheets... that should avoid the duplication right???

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:21 pm

skookumrob wrote: Soooo... If I export range 30000-39999 and 50000-59999 as separate spreadsheets and then cut/paste from the 50000 export to the 30000 (and add the next available product_id in the 30000 range) and then Import both sheets... that should avoid the duplication right???
I think so, never tried it.

Why don't you just do Exports by batches instead of id ranges?
Last edited by JNeuhoff on Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by skookumrob » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:13 am

Hi again,

Can you modify the tool to Export/Import by Manufacturer? (for price updates)

Also during the price update I would be deleting discontinued items and adding in new items.

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by skookumrob » Wed Jun 17, 2015 12:35 pm

skookumrob wrote:Hi again,

Can you modify the tool to Export/Import by Manufacturer? (for price updates)

Also during the price update I would be deleting discontinued items and adding in new items.

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by Sam396 » Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:49 pm

Hello Guys,

I am using opencart 1.5.6.4, when i can trying export the bulk upload template, I am experiencing a THE PAGE CANNOT BE FOUND. Please can someone tell the solution.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:12 pm

Post by skookumrob » Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:58 am

skookumrob wrote:
skookumrob wrote:Hi again,

Can you modify the tool to Export/Import by Manufacturer? (for price updates)

Also during the price update I would be deleting discontinued items and adding in new items.
I would like to revisit this question... and am willing to contribute to the modification to Export/Import by Manufacturer. This would save me a lot of headaches!

Please let me know asap.

Thanks,

Rob

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by skookumrob » Sat Oct 24, 2015 3:42 am

Getting a new error after working fine: Could not close zip file php://output.

Can you tell me what may be wrong?

Rob M
http://www.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.6.1 (an upgrade from 1.5.0)
http://www.webfilter.onlinesupply.ca 1.5.4


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Post by gartheman » Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:27 pm

Manus wrote:Hey guys

So tell me, can one add fields to the import export tool? My Import/Export tool works fine, but I recently added the chained selects from ocextensions. Now the extension works fine, and the Import/Export tool works fine, however, when I import updated stock quantities, I have to remap child and parent options for products that use the chained selects. So surely if I can get the import export tool to export or import those extra fields, I won't have to redo this all the time... any thoughts or suggestions?
hi, i know this is quite a while ago now, but did you ever find a fix for this issue?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:12 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests