Post by ADD Creative » Thu May 03, 2012 10:09 pm

I have been upgrading a site to OpenCart 1.5.2 r990. While testing compatibility with different web browsers I found some product pages would generate an error in IE7 on XP SP3. It also happens on the OpenCart demo site.

For example if you go to http://demo.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... duct_id=47 IE7 pops up with a message just after the page has finished loading saying:

"Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site http://demo.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... duct_id=47. Operation Aborted"

Clicking OK redirects you to IE7's standard "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" page.

Some products work and some don't. 2 of our 3 test PCs generate the error. If JavaScript is disabled you don't get the error.

Anyone else getting this?

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Igsen » Tue May 22, 2012 6:24 pm

Hello,
I am getting the same error on OpenCart demo page while using IE 7 or IE 6 (tested on several environments)
The product display is working fine in IE 8 .

You can see the error here: http://demo.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... duct_id=42

The error says:
---------------------------
Windows Internet Explorer
---------------------------
Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site http://demo.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... duct_id=42.

Operation aborted
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
And I am strugling with the same error in my brand new eshop build on OpenCart 1.5.2.

I have found the similar topic http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=161&t=58865. I can tell this is not isolated error.

Have anybody found the solution for this problem yet?

Best Regards
Ivan

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:40 pm

Post by marcelwoo » Tue May 22, 2012 8:43 pm

I got no error with IE 7 on my side.

"We help each other to grow". That's the opencart community!

All free mods
Home Based Ebay business Opportunity(not ads)


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:45 am

Post by Igsen » Wed May 23, 2012 4:59 pm

Hello,

Did you perform the test in some kind of IE emulator or in real installation of IE 7?
I wonder why you did not the get the error. Is there any IE or Windows setting that can have influence on the error? I am aware only about disabling Javascripts which can can solve the error.

Thanks in Advance
Ivan

Attachments

IE7errorOpenCart1_5.jpg

IE7errorOpenCart1_5.jpg (91.54 KiB) Viewed 8079 times


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:40 pm

Post by marcelwoo » Wed May 23, 2012 9:18 pm

Check this link: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums ... 5660921f8/
Someone confirmed that it is caused by third-party addons or plugin of your IE7.
I tested it with real IE7 installation and got no error.
PS: tested it again after saw your reply and still no error ;) So it is not a server-side error.

"We help each other to grow". That's the opencart community!

All free mods
Home Based Ebay business Opportunity(not ads)


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:45 am

Post by ADD Creative » Sat May 26, 2012 2:49 am

Thanks for the useful link.

I disabled all plugins in IE7 and I still get the error. It looks like there could be a few issues that can cause it.

Removing the following from catalog/view/theme/default/template/product/product.tpl seems to stop the error.

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$('.colorbox').colorbox({
	overlayClose: true,
	opacity: 0.5
});
//--></script>
Also get the problem in OpenCart version 1.5.3 and earlier versions that use fancybox instead of colorbox. So could be related to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927917/en-gb that the link referred to.

As to why some setups of IE7 get the error and some don't, seems to be down to OS patches.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by straightlight » Sat May 26, 2012 10:50 pm

This is a client end issue. Your installed .NET Framework client version must be outdated from Microsoft. It would be recommended to update your browser and to include the .NET Framework client v4+ version in the installation either from Windows Update. Although, assure to install the .NET Framework client versions in the ascending order if you do see inferior version on the list before installing the 4th and latest edition.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by ADD Creative » Tue May 29, 2012 1:36 am

Didn't seem to be anything to do with .NET Framework, at least not directly. It is to do with old versions of IE7 not handling the JavaScript code in OpenCart very well and that the Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 patch does not always install correctly.

Firstly the version number in IE7's about box does not reflect the version of iexplore.exe file in program files. So you need to look at the file version of iexplore.exe file in program files by right clicking and selecting properties then the version tab.

The error would occur if the iexplore.exe file was version 7.0.5730.13 and not on another PC that had version 7.06000.17109. It then took me about 4 tries to update 7.0.5730 with the Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer. But it did finally install and the problem went away.

So it would seem that:
1. Versions of Internet Explorer less than 7.0.6000 are not compatible with OpenCart.
2. Microsoft's Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 does not always install correctly.

Hopefully there aren't too many potential customers out there with unpatched versions of IE7. I think doing a workaround for this problem would take a quite a bit of time.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Igsen » Thu May 31, 2012 8:29 pm

Hello,

you are right, after installing the Windows and .NET patches the error does not occur any more in IE7.
However, as you said, not every potential customer installs the Windows or .NET patches.
It would be nice to have a fix available on server side.

Is the solution you propose in earlier post secure? Are you aware of any problem what can cause the removing of following code?

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$('.colorbox').colorbox({
   overlayClose: true,
   opacity: 0.5
});
//--></script>
Thanks and Regards

Ivan

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:40 pm

Post by ADD Creative » Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:43 pm

Hi Ivan,

Unfortunately removing that code is not a solution. Please do not remove it as doing so will stop OpenCart from displaying enlarged images and other things. It was just demonstration that the problem is with how IE7 handles OpenCart's JavaScript.

Out of interest what was the file version of iexplore.exe after you applied the .NET patches?

Looking at the analytics data on our website, just under 10% of visitors are using IE7. As IE8 is offered via Windows Automatic Update, I would think a high proportion of theses are old unpatched version of IE7.

I think it's just too many potential customers to ignore this problem. Iv'e not had much time to spend looking at a workaround for this. Anyone got any ideas other than just going through all the JavaScript in catalog/view/theme/default/template/product/product.tpl trying to workout which bits trigger this IE7 bug?

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by ADD Creative » Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:33 pm

For the moment I will just add the code from Microsoft's http://www.ie6countdown.com/ to the template. But modified to show in IE7 as well.

Code: Select all

<!--[if lt IE 8]> <div style=' clear: both; height: 59px; padding:0 0 0 15px; position: relative;'> <a href="http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/internet-explorer/products/ie/home?ocid=ie6_countdown_bannercode"><img src="http://storage.ie6countdown.com/assets/100/images/banners/warning_bar_0000_us.jpg" border="0" height="42" width="820" alt="You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today." /></a></div> <![endif]-->
At least the customer might understand it's their browser that is the problem and not the website / OpenCart.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Daniel » Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:15 pm


OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by ADD Creative » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:01 pm

Daniel wrote:do some testing here

http://www.jacklmoore.com/colorbox
Works OK in the buggy IE7 version 7.0.5730.13.

Although I do get the bug on http://www.jacklmoore.com/autosize. On that page jQuery is loaded inside child elements on the body tag which causes the bug. Microsoft explains it here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927917/en-gb.

As a test, in my local test install of OpenCart, I removed the <div id="container"> from header.tpl and the corresponding </div> from footer.tpl so all the scripts were effectively in the body. This seemed to stop the error (but obviously mesed up the styling a bit).

A possible, but a bit messy fix might be to echo the footer before the scripts in the product.tpl (and the other main .tpl files) and move the </body></html> from footer.tpl to the other .tpl files.

Although I am sure there must be a nicer way to do a workaround for unpatched versions of IE7.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by ADD Creative » Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:50 am

Still working on a work around for this IE7 / IE6 bug before upgrading to the latest version.

But I need to fix a PayPal problem first. It would seem a few customers from UK government organisations have tried to purchase but couldn't because they were using IE6 and the PayPay hosted payment page was unusable in IE6.

Have tested myself and there is a problem with PayPal's pages in IE6 and IE7.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by ADD Creative » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:13 am

Now have a workaround for this IE7 bug.

Added the following to catalog\view\theme\default\template\common\header.tpl just before </head>.

Code: Select all

<!--[if lt IE 8]>
<script type="text/javascript">var co = this.co = $.fn.colorbox; var cv; $.fn.colorbox = function(v) { cv = v; return; }; $(document).ready(function() { $.fn.colorbox = co; $('.colorbox').colorbox(cv) });</script>
<![endif]-->

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by ADD Creative » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:11 pm

It would seem that this can also effect some versions of IE8. So a small change in the version number conditional comments should help here as well.

Code: Select all

<!--[if lt IE 9]>
<script type="text/javascript">var co = this.co = $.fn.colorbox; var cv; $.fn.colorbox = function(v) { cv = v; return; }; $(document).ready(function() { $.fn.colorbox = co; $('.colorbox').colorbox(cv) });</script>
<![endif]-->

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by damodaranudas » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:32 pm

please help, i've tried all your solutions but still can't see the footer in IE after add options to some product.

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:20 am
Location - Colombia

Post by ADD Creative » Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:13 pm

The solutions here will not help with your footer problem. It sounds more like a problem with your theme and / or CSS. Post about your problem in http://forum.opencart.com/viewforum.php?f=20 giving information like which version of OpenCart, what mods are installed, what theme you are using and any errors listed in the error log.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Daniel » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:06 pm

update to the latest colorbox

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by rafaelbxavier » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:57 pm

Anyone knows how to use the code below at IE 6 to 8 without problem:

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$('.colorbox').colorbox({
overlayClose: true,
opacity: 0.5
});
//--></script>

What is the correct code to use with Internet Explorer without problems?

Thanks.

Regards.
Rafael

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:04 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests