Post by xl5 » Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:43 pm

Hi
Can anyone explain why all of a sudden i cannot access any pages within categories & manufacturers, i get the message:The page you requested cannot be found! The home page is there and everything else works fine. ???

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by Blnukem » Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:14 pm

Do you have SEO links enabled?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:17 pm

Post by xl5 » Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:37 pm

yes

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by Blnukem » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:27 am

If SEO links are enabled and you don't add a SEO keyword when you add a product this error will happen, if this is not the case please give the URL to the site in question.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:17 pm

Post by xl5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:48 am

Hi
Yes i have done all the above, here is thr url: http://www.marmalade-art.co.uk

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by fido-x » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:52 am

Blnukem wrote:If SEO links are enabled and you don't add a SEO keyword when you add a product this error will happen, if this is not the case please give the URL to the site in question.
Actually, that's not the case. If SEO links are enabled and you don't have a SEO keyword for the product, category or information page, it will revert to the standard "route=product/product&product_id=xx" method.

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by xl5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:23 am

Well chaps any ideas? 10% off any original piece of art if you can solve it!

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by uksitebuilder » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:52 am

I'm liking that Rolf Harris piece, so I will try to assist.

1. Are you on a Windows server or Apache Server ?
2. Do you have a .htaccess file?
3. If 2 is yes, what does the line starting with: RewriteBase say?

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xl5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:20 am

Apparently Apache, and the code RewriteBase is:

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)\?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

The Rolf is yours when the paint is dry enough!

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by uksitebuilder » Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:33 am

OK, well with further looking, SEO Rewriting seems to be working because your Information pages re working (about us, delivery, contact)

Also, default non-seo links seem to be working too.

May I ask how do you enter your SEO Keywords ? Manually or do you use a mod/extension ?

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xl5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:46 am

Hi
Manually

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by uksitebuilder » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:13 am

Do you have access to your database ?

if so can you browse or search the url_alias table and find in the keyword column 'original_art_paintings'

Then report back what it's associated value is from the query column.

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xl5 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:16 pm

hi Simon
The query is: 665 category_id=55
Sorry i was a bit late coming back i am quite new to this game, only started 2 months ago but learning fast (i hope)

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by uksitebuilder » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:58 pm

I only started 2 months ago too, please do keep up dear boy (only joking)

That seems to be correct.

I cannot even get that page to load with a non-seo url: http://www.marmalade-art.co.uk/index.ph ... ry&path=55

Only thing I can suggest is that you replace the following file with the original from the download archive

catalog/controller/common/seo_url.php

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xl5 » Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:30 am

hi Simon
Thanks for your help but I'm afraid the situation is the same, no categories, sub categories or products and no manufacturers yet the home page loads and the information module works. All the data is still in the back end. I believe my sight has entered the twilight zone! :-\

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by uksitebuilder » Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:37 am

I'm pretty much drawing a blank at this point too now.

All the obvious problems that can and do occur, we have covered.

Al I can think of doing now is file comparing your site files against original OC download files to see what (if any) difference there are.

Before you do that though, can you install a separate installation of OC on your server to see if it behaves the same with a default store ?

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by xl5 » Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:57 am

Hi simon
im away for a day or so but will try what you say and will tell you results if any.
cheers

xl5
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm


Post by SXGuy » Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:25 am

incorrect seo keyword can cause a break, if there isnt one it will revert to non seo but if there is one and its formatted wrong i believe it will throw a page error.

So my question is, what is the seo keyword you are trying to use? make sure there is no spaces in the seo keyword.

Also, another method would be to remove te seo keyword, reload the page and see if the links work, if they do, its probably the formatting of your seo keyword.

"Some Name" should be Some_Name or Some-Name

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:07 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:27 am

Hi SX - tis not the keyword in this instance, page not found is happening even when standard non-seo url is used

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by asphole » Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:28 am

Does this behave the same using default template?
I also notice that your htaccess is different to mine:

Yours:
RewriteRule ^(.*)\?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

Mine:
RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

I Don't know enough about rewrites to know if this is the cause but you could quickly test it before installing a test site or someone could hopefully clarify if these 2 rules are actually the same?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:33 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests