Post by mcamca » Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:54 am

SINik wrote: Any idea as to what I'm doing wrong or if this is a bug?
-------
In one way it is! It's due to the following:
The weight to cost for Royal Mail are preset only to package rates (not letter rates) in the file:
catalog/model/shipping/royal_mail.php
to the following for 1st class mail: (similar for other royal mail postings.)

$rates = explode(',', '.1:1.39,.25:1.72,.5:2.24,.75:2.75,1:3.35,1.25:4.50,1.5:5.20,1.75:5.90,2:6.60,4:8.22,6:11.02,8:13.82,10:16.62');

These are kilogram weights : GBP costs.

What's happening is that when everything is set to grams your running out of shipping options when your product weight exceeds 10 grammes hence the error message!
You cannot change these from admin in 1.4.9.4 - or any other version!
If you want to use or need to use Royal Mail then suggest you change all product sizes to cms and weights to kilograms
eg. 100gms becomes 0.1kg
Make sure these are the sizes and weights of the PACKAGED items; as this is the basis of the Royal Mail charge to you!
Do this also at bottom of page at:
Admin/System/Settings/Local
Change Length Class to Centimeter and Weight Class to Kilogram.
A lot of work if you have a lot of products but you should see the problem disappear!

Hope this helps!

PS. Have almost finished the files needed to be able to alter Royal Mail shipping costs etc. from Admin. Will let you know when they are ready!
Also Royal Mail are putting their prices up on 04 April 2011 so the prices in 1.4.9.4 will be incorrect!
----------
Last edited by mcamca on Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:57 pm

Post by Qphoria » Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:12 am

Yea royal mail is lame because they don't have an online rate API... they only give you hard rates in a file and it works basically like the weight-based shipping module.

Best bet is just to move out of the UK ;)

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by mcamca » Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:19 am

Qphoria wrote:Yea royal mail is lame because they don't have an online rate API... they only give you hard rates in a file and it works basically like the weight-based shipping module.

Best bet is just to move out of the UK ;)
----------------
Wouldn't have been a problem if Royal Mail rates could have been set/changed from Admin!
----------------

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:57 pm

Post by Qphoria » Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:55 am

mcamca wrote:
Qphoria wrote:Yea royal mail is lame because they don't have an online rate API... they only give you hard rates in a file and it works basically like the weight-based shipping module.

Best bet is just to move out of the UK ;)
----------------
Wouldn't have been a problem if Royal Mail rates could have been set/changed from Admin!
----------------
Eh.. that is a work around ... not a solution.. having to update the rates every 2 weeks is annoying.. and if you accidentally delete the line its more work. Removing it completely is a good call :)

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by SINik » Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:28 am

Ok, so what I get from this is that essentially the Royal Mail extension is useless and I should use weight based and hope that it covers everything? or is there another usable option for me (other than leaving the UK), flat rate maybe, but then I might be over/under charging, I have a lot of goods of variable sizes.
What is equally frustrating here is that the Royal Mail website lists everything in Grams and Millimetres, while apparently the extension does not.
As it is only 3 days away (to the price rise) could someone take a look at fixing the prices and what not in the Royal Mail extension?

Specialist Hobby Games for sale online


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:14 pm


Post by qahar » Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:12 pm

Someone make a post about ckEditor is not show up when creating or editing product (thread).
This happen because CKEDITOR_BASEPATH is not set properly and known as ckEditor bugs.
You can read here on how to fix it.

User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:24 pm
Location - Indonesia

Post by Hildebrando » Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:48 pm

At 1.4.9.4 doc say:
New Account Create alert mail option
In setting.tpl say:
Send a email to the store owner when a new account is registered.
But when is activated, a mail is not received by store owner.

That info is stored at table setting with: config_account_mail

but if you search that string 'config_account_mail' at catalog folder you do not find anything. I think this is no coded.

Hilde

Commercial Contributions:Bulk Specials| Bulk Update Prices|Search Tyre Pro
Free Contributions: Youtube video (oc 1.5.x) | Search History Report (oc 1.5.x) | Product Filter by Category (oc 1.5.x)|Youtube Popup
More Free & commercial mods: www.fpress.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:22 pm
Location - Spain

Post by mcamca » Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:52 pm

SINik wrote:As it is only 3 days away (to the price rise) could someone take a look at fixing the prices and what not in the Royal Mail extension?
----------------
Following obtained from Royal Mail website 2011-04-02:
Royal Mail has announced its annual stamp price rises which will take effect from 4 April 2011. Following these increases, UK stamp prices for standard letters weighing up to 100g will continue to be amongst the lowest in Europe.
The announcement follows Postcomm’s decisions, published on 8 November, when the regulator said Royal Mail could increase the price of stamped mail services by 10% on average and individual stamped mail services by up to 13%.
The main price increases are:
The price of First and Second class stamps for standard items weighing up to 100g will rise by 5p to 46p and 4p to 36p respectively.
The cost of a Large Letter stamp will rise by 9p to 75p for First Class items and 7p to 58p for Second Class mail.
An increase in prices for franked mail by 3p to 39p for standard First Class items and by 3p to 28p for Second Class Mail. This is the first increase for two years on franked mail following a price freeze last year.
It is unclear from the above as to whether Packet, Airmail etc... prices will rise but some of these are already incorrect in:
catalog/model/shipping/royal_mail.php
so they need changing anyway!
As soon as Royal Mail make clear what all of the prices are I'll post the mods required for the above file!
Yet again shows how important it is to be able to alter these from admin!
---------------------------
Last edited by mcamca on Sat Apr 02, 2011 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:57 pm

Post by SXGuy » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:30 pm

mcamca wrote:
SINik wrote:As it is only 3 days away (to the price rise) could someone take a look at fixing the prices and what not in the Royal Mail extension?
----------------
Following obtained from Royal Mail website 2011-04-02:
Royal Mail has announced its annual stamp price rises which will take effect from 4 April 2011. Following these increases, UK stamp prices for standard letters weighing up to 100g will continue to be amongst the lowest in Europe.
The announcement follows Postcomm’s decisions, published on 8 November, when the regulator said Royal Mail could increase the price of stamped mail services by 10% on average and individual stamped mail services by up to 13%.
The main price increases are:
The price of First and Second class stamps for standard items weighing up to 100g will rise by 5p to 46p and 4p to 36p respectively.
The cost of a Large Letter stamp will rise by 9p to 75p for First Class items and 7p to 58p for Second Class mail.
An increase in prices for franked mail by 3p to 39p for standard First Class items and by 3p to 28p for Second Class Mail. This is the first increase for two years on franked mail following a price freeze last year.
It is unclear from the above as to whether Packet, Airmail etc... prices will rise but some of these are already incorrect in:
catalog/model/shipping/royal_mail.php
so they need changing anyway!
As soon as Royal Mail make clear what all of the prices are I'll post the mods required for the above file!
Yet again shows how important it is to be able to alter these from admin!
---------------------------
From what i gather (Could be wrong) Royal Mail charges increase is a fixed percentage across the board, and i think they continue to do it that way everytime theres a price change, so perhaps you could come up with a solution that has the standard rates set at the point of release, and an option to update all prices by X% or even by fixed amount.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:07 am

Post by Qphoria » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:50 pm

Hildebrando wrote:At 1.4.9.4 doc say:
New Account Create alert mail option
but if you search that string 'config_account_mail' at catalog folder you do not find anything. I think this is no coded.

Hilde
This is coded and guaranteed working. Perhaps you didn't upload all the files

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Sidecutter » Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:03 am

Hey Q, I'm having the same issue some people above posted about. When I try to add a product to an order, or remove a product from an order, it throws me an error that just says "Failed". I know it worked for me before in 1.4.9.3.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:58 am

Post by MeanGuns » Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:38 am

USPS first class still not working correctly

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:38 am

Post by Qphoria » Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:29 am

Sidecutter wrote:Hey Q, I'm having the same issue some people above posted about. When I try to add a product to an order, or remove a product from an order, it throws me an error that just says "Failed". I know it worked for me before in 1.4.9.3.
This hasn't changed.. It happens on occasion but it shouldn't happen any more or less than 1.4.9.3.
Order Edit has always been buggy and completely redone in 1.5.0 so there will be no more effort spent on it
MeanGuns wrote:USPS first class still not working correctly
What issue are you having now? Still the lb/oz conversion issue? The truth is, if there is a conversion issue, it should have existed in 1.4.9.3 and older.. the conversion code wasn't changed. But the rest of the v4 API should be working fine now. My only advice is to switch to "pound" instead of "ounce" and use .5lbs instead of 8oz

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by SINik » Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:44 am

mcamca wrote:It is unclear from the above as to whether Packet, Airmail etc... prices will rise but some of these are already incorrect in:
catalog/model/shipping/royal_mail.php
so they need changing anyway!
As soon as Royal Mail make clear what all of the prices are I'll post the mods required for the above file!
Yet again shows how important it is to be able to alter these from admin!
---------------------------
I have an updated price guide from the post office, I've put the figures into the weight based shipping for the UK Shipping zone as follows:
.1:1.58,.25:1.96,.5:2.48,.75:3.05,1:3.71,1.25:4.90,1.5:5.66,1.75:6.42,2:7.18,4:8.95,6:12,8:15.05,10:18.1
This is for Packet size and first class only, this is far from ideal as I would like the option of sending by second class post as well.
Can anyone confirm that it is simply a case of creating new geozones based around shipping locations and applying them per size of product in the catalog to allow for the different sizes of shipping royal mail provide as well as changing the weight allowances to match the fact that second class stops at 1kg.
I'll have to do some serious brainstorming to make sure I cover all eventualities if that is the case.

Specialist Hobby Games for sale online


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:14 pm


Post by bcfl » Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:24 pm

I am using the latest edition 1.4.9.4 and my problem is:
If a customer creates an account then orders a product the gets this error (doesn't happen if you check out as guest)
Shipping Address

Please choose from your address book where you would like the items to be delivered to.

Shipping Address
Bob Carroll
A New Site Design
12121 Azure Rd
Cushing, Minnesota 56443
United States

while registering an account never gets asked for a shipping address.
http://www.thunderboltpolish.com/rstore ... ommon/home
This store is live any help appreciated.
I only have weight based shipping enabled.
If I am posting in the wrong place please let me know

Thanks, Bob

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:34 am

Post by Qphoria » Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:49 pm

^^
I don't see an error. Just looks like it is asking your customer for his address. Account registry just has a single address entry, unlike the guest option, because it is meant to imply you want the same address for both shipping and payment, cutting down on the overall entry process for the customer. But you are given the option to change either address after the initial entry

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by bcfl » Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:07 pm

Thank you for the reply,
If you have a moment, go ahead and register then place an order and you can see the error after you add an item to the cart and proceed to checkout you will see the error as soon as you click on checkout.

Image

I will delete your account.
Thanks again Bob

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:34 am

Post by Qphoria » Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:04 pm

ok so the error is :
"Error: No Shipping options are available. Please contact us for assistance!"

not sure what you were pasting.

This needs to be changed to remove the "Error" as it isn't an error. It just means you haven't setup any shipping options for the customer's location

A quick search on that error would have shown you:
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 58&start=0
Welcome to the internet

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by bcfl » Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:40 pm

That is the first thing I checked, but I have it all set for weight shipping for the whole USA. that is why I posted here.
would it be easier if I set you up to look at the back end?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:34 am

Post by Qphoria » Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:16 am

I suppose

Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests