Post by relex » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:35 pm

Hello, I am in need of some coding work ASAP. I need to be able to enter a different model number for each option added to a product. This should be viewable both in the admin 'sales' screen and by the end-user.

Please PM with your rate, estimated time to code this, and we'll discuss further.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:18 pm

Post by readyman » Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:36 am

Do you mean change the SKU if a different option is chosen?

http://www.alreadymade.com
Follow me on twitter.com/alreadymade


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 5:16 am
Location - Sydney

Post by lowlands » Thu Jan 07, 2010 8:37 am

If you are looking for ability to add a different SKU for each option I am (very very very very) interested too.

There is a thread on the subject where Daniel seems to indicate he is working on something. But that thread dates back to August 09 and this feature isn't included in V 1.3.4:

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 754#p43754

Anyway I would be interested in cost sharing for such a feature. At the moment it is holding me back getting my shop online because of the gigantic number of extra products I would have to create when SKU's can't be connected to options.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:14 pm

biggest problem is that to do it right sku's would need to be able to be connected to option combinations like large green shirt instead of a sku for green and a sku for large, but of course this just opens up a whole new can of worms.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:28 pm

well I dont think its that hard. I have my options plus module that adds weight (and formerly stock). I can simply add another field called sku and have that entered. Then make some minor changes to include the sku as part of the option name in the order_option table. I'll look into it.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:33 pm

hopefully sometime in the not too distant future great minds can get together and come up with a complete overhaul of the options, as I see it as one of the weaker points of the cart at this moment.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:41 pm

agreed.. enhancing them is hell and they really need to be fully usable... select, radio, text, file, etc.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:45 pm

true, but if a redesign is going to happen I would say go farther than that and allow images combinations cascades etc while you're at it.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by lowlands » Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:35 pm

@Xsecrets
Connecting an SKU to a 'large green shirt' is exactly what we want as the small, medium, large, extra large and extra extra large green T-shirts all have their individual SKU's in the wharehouse/suppliers catalogue.

It is not that L, M, L, XL, XXL, green, red and yellow must have SKU's. These are what I would call individual specifications that I see more as selectable options to order to have something tailor made. There is another thread (can find it now) from someone who needs just that. Like my wife just got me a name plate for my birthday to go next to the front door with all the names of the family members. She ordered the brushed aluminum plate, with the black background plate, with names A, B, C, D and E.

@ Qphoria
I would be ever so greatfull if you could do this soon. It is really holding me back putting my store online. Like I said in the other thread I sell canoe peddles in 5 sizes. Not having an individual SKU that I can read back from an order would force me to look up the SKU for every order, before my own order can be mailed to my supplier. The only alternative is to create five seperate products, which not only creates a messy store but it also looks very unprofessional. I have even been searching the web again for another cart that will let me connect an SKU to a product option/feature because I not only sell paddles but anchors to winches and everything in between. And most products come in severals shapes, sizes, colors and brands each with their own SKU. In the present situation all these would need to be created as seperate products, thousands of them.

I would check with Daniel though to see what he is doing or has done.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:44 pm

as far as I know only a few of the more advanced shops allow sku's per option/option combination. Magento and cs-cart come to mind. oscommerce has qtpro which allows stock tracking per option combo, but I don't think it has a sku. It's not something that is really common with carts, but It would be a very nice thing to have.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by lowlands » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:00 am

@ Q
Sent you a PM but sofar no reply. Are you waiting to see the new release first?

@ Anyone
I really need to know if someone can make this and when.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Qphoria » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:53 pm

It is in my queue of things to do. Should have time this week

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:26 pm

wow you are going to have time to update all your modules and do this?

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Qphoria » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:51 am

All my modules? This is just one module.
I do have to update all my other modules tho as well for 1.4.0 :-[

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Yakiv » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:56 am

Qphoria wrote:It is in my queue of things to do. Should have time this week
Q = queue ;D

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:31 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:12 am

Qphoria wrote:All my modules? This is just one module.
I do have to update all my other modules tho as well for 1.4.0 :-[
that's what I was talking about all modules have to be updated again for 1.4.0

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by lowlands » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:19 pm

Qphoria wrote:It is in my queue of things to do. Should have time this week
Would be fantastic if you can find the time indeed. You must have a ton of work to do. Shame that all mods and plugins have to be adapted with most every version change.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by MWYS » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:08 pm

To put it simply, are you basically wanting a 'SKU' Field added on for each Option in the Admin Panel (Alongside Quantity, Price etc for each individual option)?

Are you then just wanting this to be displayed in the Product Page and on the Admin Order Review pages that you can use yourself to reference the product?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:04 pm

Post by lowlands » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:44 pm

MWYS wrote:To put it simply, are you basically wanting a 'SKU' Field added on for each Option in the Admin Panel (Alongside Quantity, Price etc for each individual option)?

Are you then just wanting this to be displayed in the Product Page and on the Admin Order Review pages that you can use yourself to reference the product?
Like I explained before:

I sell rowing oars in a few different types amongst other things (a truckload of boating stuff). One Oar type comes in 9 different sizes. Each size has it's own SKU by which I have to order the oar that I sold from my supplier.

The oar type has it's own SKU but under options the 9 different sizes don't. That's what I need so when an order comes in I can immediately send out my own order to my supplier based on the correct SKU without having to look it up in the phone book size catalogue from my supplier.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Qphoria » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:48 pm

yea.. i already got it done. just testing

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests