Post by jason_class » Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:07 pm

Hi All

I tried zencart and have lots of problem and give up.
Now I hope I can make it a successful one using open cart.
Can anyone share with me to have English + Chinese(& possible Japanese)online cart, should I use v1.x or v0.x to install?
What are the step by step installation manual I can refer to for foreign languages add on?

Kindly help

Thanks

jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:02 am

Hi jason, and welcome to OpenCart!

Yes you can easily use 3 (or more) languages with OpenCart.

To get started, first download the latest version of 0.7.9

Then you will need to download those language packs from the Contributionspage (or create them yourself if they don't exist yet). To create a language pack, you can follow my FAQ for adding languages to OpenCart

If the language packs already exist, be sure they are designed to work with the latest version. The latest version is 0.7.9RC5, but I think a lot of the language files were made for 0.7.7 & 0.7.8 so there might be a few missing entries, but those can be easily added once you get setup. If an entry isn't there, it should fallback to the english version and you will know that it needs to be updated.

Be sure to read the readmes associated with the language packs to get them inserted into the system.

Let us know if you run into any problems
Last edited by Qphoria on Thu Dec 25, 2008 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Thu Dec 25, 2008 7:31 am

HI Qphoria

Thanks a lot for the welcome messaage and help given.
I am trying out the installation.
Any issues met I will write back for assistance.
I really hope opencart is the 2nd online cart I tried and the last one for me to use.
:)
Cheers and thANKS


Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by jason_class » Thu Dec 25, 2008 7:35 am

Hi Qphoria

for the adding language FAQ, can you reconfirm the http link?
I found below error when I clicked the link

"An Error Has Occurred!
The topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or off limits to you.  "

If really I cant access, appreciate your help to attach the file to me
Thanks a lot

Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by Qphoria » Thu Dec 25, 2008 12:29 pm

Sorry, forgot to allow access to all groups. Try the link now

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:50 pm

Thanks I appreciate your help. I will feedback my progress and hope you can further guide
Merry Xmas

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:12 am

To create a language pack, you can follow my FAQ for adding languages to OpenCart
I think you forgot to mention the language-specific weight units and titles that also need to be entered into the database in table weight_class, fields unit and title for a newly added language.
Last edited by JNeuhoff on Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Survey Plus


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by Qphoria » Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:36 am

And product descriptions, and information, and a ton of other not-so-greatly-designed language entries
The FAQ is only for creating the actual language pack, not the rest of the supporting text. I suppose to make a "great" language pack you'd include all the new sql entries for order status and stuff.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:35 am

Thanks JNeuhoff & Qphoria. I will put that in my planning list as well. For now getting the basic English site to work first is priority.
Anymore good input, please do not hesitate to advise.

Cheers
Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by jason_class » Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:01 am

Hi All

Anyone knows where can I get the Japanese version of complete opencart installer?
I want to check even for admin pages that comes in Japanese language.
I have checked the opencart Japanese official page but cant find any

Thanks to advise

Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by Qphoria » Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:14 am

There is no japanese version of opencart. There is language support for both catalog and admin sides, but not for the installer. There should be some existing language packs for OpenCart, but may need to be updated. Feel free :)

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:22 am

Thanks Qphoria. Now I know why,
Previously I downloaded the Japanese package and had error. I did have the admin folder (maybe error during unzip)
I redownloaded and seems ok now. It should be able to work. I will have to try for the Japanese version anytime soon
Thanks!

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by jason_class » Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:55 pm

Hi Qphoria & All,

I finally trying out Opencart at a testing site http://testcart.awardspace.com/catalogn ... oller=home
Kindly help to check if it is consider ok or still not installed successfully?

I have below questions to confirm so as to make myself understand correctly:
On above site ->Shopping website:
I can see the English & Japanese website. However the English website has different contents compared to that of the Japanese.
I understand that I have tried to modify the English site before I input the Japanese site and the info for categories, products are still in tact for English site. However Japanese site is all emptied without category and product details.

1) Is it true that whatever modification of the product info using the admin tool will only reflect the changes on the English site?
2) Then what should I do for the Japanese site to make it the same? Manual scriptinp based on the English site codes?
3) There is no admin to make Japanese and English site in-sync?
4) I noticed on the admin site, there is the British flag. If I install Japanese language correctly, will I have the option of Japanese site?
If yes, what should I do to make this happened?

Thanks to advise. I apologise for any silly questions you may find them to be.

Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by jason_class » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:24 pm

I think I got some of the features. All I do is to re input the categories and products for the Japanese portion on top of the existing English portion.
Then I believe there will not be any Japanese version for Admin tool.

Please furnish more details if you see the need.
Thanks for all the useful info given so far. Really appreciate it

jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by Qphoria » Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:01 pm

You are on the right path.

Currently the language you choose, has to have a matching content in that language.

So if you have 4 products and they only have english names. Then they won't show up on the Japanese site until you update the products and add the japanese names in the Japanese language tab.

The same is true for many sections:
- order status
- information
- images
- categories
- etc

I dislike the way it works and for v0.8 a few goals will be to:
- auto-fallback to english language if there is no setting for current language
- keep languages all in one place, instead of having half in a language file, and half be entered randomly around the admin panel.

But for now that is what must be done.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:53 pm

Thanks Qphoria for the input. Really glad to have your reply.

I saw the below bug being reminded  . Is it solved in 0.79? I do not have to care about it.....
========================================================
upload/admin/controller/language.php

Inside function validateForm()

if ((strlen($request->get('name', 'post')) get('name', 'post')) > 5)) {
$this->error['code'] = $language->get('error_code');
}
Change name to code(name→code)

if ((strlen($request->get('code', 'post')) get('code', 'post')) > 5)) {
$this->error['code'] = $language->get('error_code');
}

==========================================================
Another question is that I want to change my the default shopping website of mine to display the name of the store and not "YOUR STORE". WHere can I change this in the php/html code?


Thanks!

Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:18 am

File catalog/template/default/content/home.tpl




  ">" title="" alt="">">
in conjunction with the language file catalog/language/english/controller/home.php
Welcome Guest! Would you like to log yourself in? Or would you prefer to create an account?';
$_['text_logged']   = 'Welcome back %s!';
$_['text_latest']   = 'Latest Products';
?>
The store name is set via the admin panel

Admin > Configuration > Setting > Store Name

Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Survey Plus


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by Qphoria » Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:16 am

jason_class wrote: Thanks Qphoria for the input. Really glad to have your reply.

I saw the below bug being reminded  . Is it solved in 0.79? I do not have to care about it.....
Yea that was fixed.
Another question is that I want to change my the default shopping website of mine to display the name of the store and not "YOUR STORE". WHere can I change this in the php/html code?
In addition to JN's edits, You will also likely want to change the main logo that says "YOUR STORE"
You can change that by replacing the catalog/template/default/image/logo.png file with your own

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by jason_class » Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:28 pm

Thanks Both JNeuhoff & Qphoria for giving a comprehensive advice.
That's make everything clearer to me
Let me check that out & feedback ...

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by jason_class » Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:54 pm

Hi Qphoria, JNeuhoff & All

When I created a dummy shopper ID. I do not get any email notification.
I did try log out and log in, it works for user to select product and go for payment.
Any way to confirm the email notification for newly registered user work?

Can help to share with me about steps to set up shipment option?
I wanted to have at least by airmail and by sea or..? But there is no shipping option prior to payment?
How to modify if existing feature cannot support?

Thanks a lot! Happy New Year


Jason

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:03 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests