Post by lucyvanpelt » Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:54 am

Hi All,

I was thinking, this may not be possible so hear me out...is there any way going forward that when OpenCart releases a new version, that there could be an auto upgrade module? I feel like a lot of people have trouble upgrading from their end and if there were a module that we can click on and it does it automatically.

for instance, when we log into our admin panel...it will pop up saying "there is an upgrade for open cart 1.x, click here to install"... it could have less headaches in the long run everyone would be on the same OpenCart version and i feel like it would be much easier. especially for the amount of time this cart keeps upgrading. is this achievable?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by imaginetech » Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:10 am

Totally agree, along with a module/extension installer.

Image
www.opencartstore.com
Get OpenCart Templates and OpenCart Modules.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:25 pm
Location - Darwin, Australia

Post by Qphoria » Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:39 am

imaginetech wrote:along with a module/extension installer.
Thats just lazy :)
Uploading a zip file instead of 2 folders? But that should be rather easy.. its auto-modding core files that takes some work.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by imaginetech » Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:15 am

Yeah, managing core mods is very real problem especially since there are so many floating around and I dare say most production carts have at least one mod if not more.

Image
www.opencartstore.com
Get OpenCart Templates and OpenCart Modules.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:25 pm
Location - Darwin, Australia

Post by lucyvanpelt » Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:37 am

yeah it would be so nice to have the auto upgrade feature. i tried to upgrade from 1.33 to 1.34 and now my website has errors...and i am not sure how to fix them. so i think i might have to do a full erase install...

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by i2Paq » Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:12 am

If a contribution needs manual code editting then an auto-updater will always fail.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by lucyvanpelt » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:01 am

isn't there a way to not have it have manual coding for extra "features" in an upgrade.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am

Post by hande » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:54 am

I agree, this could be a great feature.

One of the best things by far of actual Wordpress is "automatic updates", really handy and useful. Specially when you don't have or wanna spend minutes/hours on it.

@ Shop | Work | Blog | Photos | Wallpapers | Twitter


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:57 am
Location - Barcelona / Spain

Post by lucyvanpelt » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:59 am

yeah definitely. i think then everyone could concentrate on their website content and move forward verses than the structural updates and technical issues..

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:38 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests