Post by niceandripe » Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:08 pm

i'm really surprised that for such a clean and easy to use shopping cart application there are so many inlines styles and tables for layout.

there's certainly no need for any tables, ok maybe one for the cart, and as for inlines styles? well... ;)

does anyone else feel the same?

i'm a web standards designer and i'm passionate about this! (and i'm sure others are) ;D

i'd be happy overtime to create a standards compliant template to be used as the default that ships with latest version, but i may need some help with some of the markup that's written out using code... anyone up for helping out?
Last edited by niceandripe on Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post by Qphoria » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:00 pm

At some point someone stripped all the inline styles out and put them into css. Unfortunately we never managed to get those changes into the core before the next release so they were lost. After 1.4.8 comes out (very soon i promise) then if anyone would be so kind as to strip all the inline styles out and put them into the css, we would be happy to add it to the core.

Sometimes we get lazy and want a quick change so we add them inline and never get around to moving them to css

Administrator

Post by Dabnis » Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:03 pm

As the majority of on-line stores basically produce tabulate data (products) w3c suggests that such data is ideally suited to displaying within html 'table' elements . It is therefore not surprising to see table structures throughout opencart pages.
I do agree however that where the content of a page is not 'tabulated data' then compliant html (div / css) layout should be used.
Having worked on both SilverStripe & CMSMS content managmet systems, I find that 'coders' & 'designers' often have differing priorities. Can I suggest that coders make any html output fro their modules 'configurable', therby allowing designers to customize the output to their needs.