Post by speedingorange » Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:55 pm

I've just downloaded the RSS GoogleBase Feed addon from Qphoric.

I've read the instructions but there is no specific information on editing the rss.php itself. The only parts I am aware that I need to configure are in the highlight area 'configuration'.

The feed does not work at all when I try to add it as a scheduled feed. (http://www.averncleaningsupplies.com/rss.php)

Do I need to edit my header.tpl in order for the script to start retrieving information? I understand that I don't.

I just want to add our products into google's product listing and not fussed about RSS feeds.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by speedingorange on Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by Qphoria » Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:59 pm

You have your Taxonony set to
Business & Industrial

Should be
Business &amp: Industrial

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by speedingorange » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:14 pm

Sorted!

Thank you very much! :)

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by MulderDSM » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:49 am

I just downloaded this module also, but can't seem to figure out how to do the following:

My category should be: Arts & Entertainment > Artwork based on: http://www.google.com/basepages/product ... xonomy.txt but can't figure out how to format in the rss.php.

Also how do I hide product descriptions or set to just maybe one line.

I really only want Product Name, and Image of the product and a price to appear in my feed and when clicked on they can see the full product description when they go to the store.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:57 pm

Post by Qphoria » Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:36 am

"Arts & Entertainment > Artwork"

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by MulderDSM » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:34 am

Thanks Q.

If you change from: $showPrice = false; //Show Price in product title
to $showPrice = true; //Show Price in product title

then Firefox doesn't display RSS correctly instead you get: This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:57 pm

Post by speedingorange » Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:50 pm

We set up this yesterday thank you very much to Qphoric for the help, However we are getting errors from google.

Could it be the formatting of item descriptions is too complicated?

this is our RSS Feed:

(http://www.averncleaningsupplies.com/rss.php)

and this is the message from google:

0 of 64 items inserted
Uploaded at: 07 March 2010 03:00:00 GMT
Processed at: 07 March 2010 03:12:15 GMT

Anyone any ideas?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by speedingorange » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:56 pm

Google has checked my RSS feed twice, i've even simplified some product descriptions as a test to basic formatting and it still is not picking up the products?

Anyone know why this might Be?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by speedingorange » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:20 am

Got a bit more information on this, im getting this error messages:

"Some of the characters in your items seem to be invalid. Please verify that all the characters in your feed are valid for your selected encoding.
Examples:
Examples:

Item Nr. Line No. Value
18 314 Kit A21A Numatic [N_a21A] - £73.99
28 494 Numatic Dry Vac, Quiet, Turbo, NVQ370T-2 [NVQ370T-2] - £209.99
39 692 Charles Wet & Dry Hoover, Numatic, CVC370-2 [CVC370-2] - £109.99
46 818 Kitchen Roll, White, 2ply, 13M, 24 Pack [EKTW42] - £9.99
47 836 Interfold Hand Towels White, 230 x 206, 2 ply, 3000 [EHTWI300] - £19.99"

I haven't used any invalid characters that i was aware of? can anyone explain what's going on with this?

It wont upload any of my products which is REALLY frustrating.

I would really really appreciate any help!

EDIT: Just tried removing all commas from a few titles, No luck :(

Could it be the £ symbols? is anyone ells using this in the UK?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:44 pm

It can be finicky about the pound symbol. Try £ for prices

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by speedingorange » Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:19 pm

Fixed it,

How would i make this do it automatically? at current im downloading the RSS editing it in dreamweaver then uploading again. But my products are now on google which is the important thing!

Is there any way to also edit how google formats the titles? such as making it not post product codes etc? as ive included these on the titles on items anyway as the seach engine within the shop does not pick them up unless you tick search description.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:01 pm

it is supposed to convert it automatically. I'm hard pressed to get my head around encoding issues. What works for some people with 1 symbol works completely different for others with the same exact symbol. If i use the pound symbol on my site, it shows perfectly fine. It's mind boggling.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by speedingorange » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:14 am

ok, well ill keep updating it by hand and uploading after i make any changes.

Next funny thing that i could do with a hand on is that im getting my special offer prices in the title for the product but not in the price field?

Link : http://www.google.co.uk/products?q=Elux321

any ideas? iVe applied the code correction that was mentioned on this page but it hasnt fixed it i dont think?

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=9094

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by speedingorange » Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:39 pm

Right I've fixed the £ symbol issue, It was being caused by the price being inserted into the item titles, this once set to false has stopped it complaining of invalid symbols.

I'm still having the special offer price problem which i urgently need help with.

Cheers!
James

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by Adrian » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:23 am

Hi Qphoria,

I've bought your RSS module and installed it on my site with opencart version 1.3.2. I need to use it as a standalone RSS feed.

In the beginning I have experienced some problems in Google reader with the description text of the products which is in Cyrillic (Bulgarian UTF-8 encoded). The title of the RSS feed was not readable on other hand the title of the products was perfectly OK and again the description text of the products was just missing (only the numbers left).

After a while for no obvious reason the product photographs stopped showing. So now I have just a proper product title with no images and no product description. The link from the feed to the product stopped working too.

Also if the feed is bookmarked as "live bookmark" in Firefox it shows "Live bookmark feed failed to load".

Here is the feed : http://joycase.com/rss.php

Some help would be appreciated!

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:22 pm

Post by Adrian » Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:06 pm

Hello!
Does anybody can help with this?
I am sure it is a minor problem which can be fixed easily.
Qphoria? A bit of support for your module?

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:22 pm

Post by Qphoria » Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:25 pm

I've updated this now to work with 1.4.7. Hopefully fixes an encoding issues as well.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by speedingorange » Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:27 pm

Cheers Q! I dropped a PM to you about upgrading on my site (through your contact form on Q domain) Dont suppose you had chance to take a look?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm

Post by daysgonebyantiques » Sun May 23, 2010 9:03 pm

Q, hi. I upgraded to 1.47 after April 30th and I can't seem to get my google base feed to work. Is there a separate download or something that I need to get?

Days Gone By Antiques & Collectibles
FREE Continental US Shipping! Great gift ideas for ANY time of year!


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:02 pm


Post by speedingorange » Sun May 23, 2010 9:05 pm

Have you configured your RSS again? i made the mistake of not setting the correct catagory etc.. thinking it would be carried over.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:33 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests