Post by davey c » Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:29 am

Hello fellow OpenCart users!

I'm starting another project using OpenCart and was wondering how easy it would be to associate a different picture with a product option.

Basically, the I have the same product but in different colours. So If the user selects "Blue" as a colour then a blue shirt will appear in the image box, and if they select red, then the shirt becomes red and so on.

Any thoughts? Has someone done this already?
Last edited by i2Paq on Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title fix + topic moved

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:52 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:33 am

I am currently updating my Option Plus module to include
weight, sku, text, image

that will make it available for display on the catalog page.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Yakiv » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:04 am

Qphoria wrote:I am currently updating my Option Plus module to include
weight, sku, text, image

that will make it available for display on the catalog page.
Sounds very cool.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:31 pm

Post by davey c » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:53 pm

Sounds fantastic. I love the community here.

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:52 pm

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:12 pm

Ok I got it working now:

Had:
- Stock (v1.3.2 and older)
- Subtract (v1.3.2 and older)
- Weight (All versions)

Added:
- SKU
- Misc Info
- Image

Image

Anything else we need ?

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by cmebd » Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:53 am

Qphoria wrote:Ok I got it working now:

Had:
- Stock (v1.3.2 and older)
- Subtract (v1.3.2 and older)
- Weight (All versions)

Added:
- SKU
- Misc Info
- Image

Image

Anything else we need ?
Hi Q, I am liking the look of this...... Is there any possibility at getting a peek at the front end result???? I have been "shopping" for this module for a while now....


Is it available now? Don't see the graphic feature on the description of the Option Plus module on your website.
Cheers

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by readyman » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:58 pm

You can also associate options with images by using the option name, that's how I've been doing it when building websites for ppl. Putting it in the mod does give the user control over it though...

http://www.alreadymade.com
Follow me on twitter.com/alreadymade


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 5:16 am
Location - Sydney

Post by readyman » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:31 pm

Think outside the box - You can do this with Q's or mine or the default options. You just need to update your template files.

Before:
optionsbefore.gif

Options before... - optionsbefore.gif (4.71 KiB) Viewed 9722 times

After
optionsafter.gif

Options after using tabs and radio buttons - optionsafter.gif (37.05 KiB) Viewed 9722 times


http://www.alreadymade.com
Follow me on twitter.com/alreadymade


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 5:16 am
Location - Sydney

Post by robisrob » Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:32 pm

Is it also possible that when you change an option as color the main image change?

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:29 am

Post by Qphoria » Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:33 am

An update on Options Plus with option price update. I've changed the way Option plus works now to make all mods work together. The new design will use its own image next to the option. This will make all mods work in harmony

(below: Options Plus mod working with jCarousel mod. Both are separate)

Attachments

optionplus_140b.jpg

optionplus_140b.jpg (33.29 KiB) Viewed 9605 times


Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Qphoria » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:12 am

Ok the new version has been released. Download it from your account page on my website.

New features:
- Added image popup for option images
- Added tooltip hovering for option info

DEMO
Things to see:
1. Change the select boxes, to change the image
2. Hover over the image to see the description
3. Click on the image to thickbox popup
4. Add to cart to see option SKU in cart. SKU gets passed to admin area

The demo also shows the option price update script to show that they work together, but it is not included.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by lowlands » Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:49 am

I got all the original files

catalog/view/theme/YOURTHEME/template/product/product.tpl
admin/view/template/catalog/product_form.tpl
admin/model/catalog/product.php

and replaced/added the code but still the same issues.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:34 am

You need to set quantity for your options. They go disabled by default if they are out of stock.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by lowlands » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:16 am

OK, so your module doesn't look at Admin>>Configuration>>Setting>Option. In this case you should always enter a figure for number in stock.

Thanks again.

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by lowlands » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:57 pm

Hi Q,

Is it possible to add the SKU to the enhanced order e-mail?

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by Qphoria » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:03 pm

the sku is already added by default. I just made the sku part of the option name so it will go through the entire system

I will add the check for the checkout setting for stock

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by davey c » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:09 am

Impressive.

I think I will get this module as many of my clients like to have control over everything on their sites.

Just to clarify then, say I select a version of the Iphone that is red. Can I get it to display the red iphone in the main picture box or would this require some modification of the code on my part?

Cheers

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:52 pm

Post by Qphoria » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:25 am

I've set it to have its own image purposely as i have other mods that use the main image for image replacement for additional images. If you wanted to make it use the main image, you would need to change the javascript to reuse the "#image" tag instead of the way I use it.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by lowlands » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:35 am

Hi Q,

Here is something of a feature request. As it turns out most of my competitors use something like the OC 'Special' feature to show a strike through price and then the actual price. Some of them also use a statement saying "Price elsewhere € x,xx Our Price € y.yy".

Although I am not the cheapest shop in my field, I feel I must at least give the customer the feeling that he is getting some kind of discount upfront which he does get in most cases. So what I do is I have a statement saying "Recommended price € x.xx - Our price: € y,yy".

The only way to show this statement for every option when you use Options Plus is to do this by hand for every single product/option. What I do is I put this text in "Misc Info" and tell the customer on the product page to mouse over eacht option to see the Recommended and Our price. And I changed the normal "Price:" text into a red "Our price:" to tell the customer we don't use the regular prices.

http://www.bootbouwshop.nl/ankerketting ... kalibreerd

Before I am finished uploading data I will have some 8,000 to 10,000 items in the shop. So I am really looking for a more effeciënt way to do this. Because for every price change (which is usually a bit of an anual thing) I will have to go into the product module itself for each product to change the price and then I have to calculate all the price increases for every option and change all these data in Options Plus and I have to change the text in the Misc Info field (two prices) for every single product/option.

Furthermore the way to display the info (having to mouse over the option) isn't the most eye catching way to do this. I have been giving it some thought but haven't come up with a good idea yet. Displaying every option as a stand alone product on it's own page (as some competitors do) would solve this problem but isn't really an option either given the amount of work involved and it gives a less statisfying experience navigating the site as far as I am concerned.

So ..... any clever ideas??

My OC-shop: http://www.Soldeerpunt.nl


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:49 am

Post by quaffershotglasses » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:36 am

does the options plus work with version 1.4?


Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:02 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests