Post by channelcommerce » Fri May 14, 2010 9:49 pm

I finally managed to figure out how to clone the category module and this is why, I have created a header menu using a nice CSSplay dropdown menu.

Here is a guide to how I did it with a link to a demo store with this menu.

http://tinyurl.com/39o96fe" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I hope it's useful for some people, I developed it for one of my own sites.
Last edited by i2Paq on Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic moved

Opencart Themes and eCommerce Solutions


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:46 am

Post by cmebd » Sat May 15, 2010 11:13 am

This is a brilliant "How To" file. Thank you so much.

A stupid question is the one you -don't- ask.........(Anon)

)C1.5.0.1 (IN devel)
OC V1.4.9.5
OC V1.4.9.2
OC V1.4.7
OC V1.3.4


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by espc » Sat May 15, 2010 6:33 pm

thankssssssssssssssssssss!!

God, give me courage to do what I can,
humility to admit what I can't,
and wisdom to know the difference.

Opencart mods (search suggestions and so on):
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?p=71588#p71588" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:40 am

Post by Jade » Fri May 21, 2010 8:13 am

nice! I like it

Visit
http://www.jadenagy.com.au/


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:35 am
Location - Australia

Post by mbilal » Tue May 25, 2010 3:23 am

Thankssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.
u solved my problem.... once again thanksssssss

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:57 am

Post by flash » Sat Jul 24, 2010 4:25 pm

thanks a lot man

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:57 pm

Post by Maansy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:13 am

i like this add-on so much
but if i have 15+ main categories then this wont fit horizontally.
i would like it better if its added as a tab next to Home Log In Account Basket Checkout, and when mouseover it then it drops down the main categories and when mouseover main category then it shows the sub category horizontally.
it would be great to have that :)

thanks

ALL Templates :: 1.5.1+ Templates :: 50%-75% PRICE DROP ONLY at OpencartStuff.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:04 am


Post by JAY6390 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:20 am

@Maansy - Tabs would have even less space, so that's kind of counter-intuitive to what you first said about

@channelcommerce - Very nice guide

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Maansy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:51 am

JAY6390 wrote:@Maansy - Tabs would have even less space, so that's kind of counter-intuitive to what you first said about
how when its ONLY ONE tab added?

ALL Templates :: 1.5.1+ Templates :: 50%-75% PRICE DROP ONLY at OpencartStuff.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:04 am


Post by JAY6390 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:04 am

Ah I see I thought you meant add a tab per main category ;D

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Maansy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:38 am

JAY6390 wrote:Ah I see I thought you meant add a tab per main category ;D
:)
the CSS Dropdown Header Menu walkthrough right now will add a tab per category.
i just want ONE tab and it drops down all main categories

channelcommerce did a good job here, i hope he can do the ONE tab thing thu ;)

ALL Templates :: 1.5.1+ Templates :: 50%-75% PRICE DROP ONLY at OpencartStuff.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:04 am


Post by budifio » Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:07 am

i have test it at OC 1.48b.
the module can appears at top administrator setting.
but i can not see the module at module extension.
someone can help me?

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 05, 2010 6:52 pm

Post by lg1 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:51 pm

Great job, debating whether to do this or do it on the side menu, is the code similar for side menu?

lg1
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:48 pm

Post by gman » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:37 pm

Brilliant! Worked like a charm. Thanks for sharing.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:15 pm

Post by TAC » Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:42 pm

Hi,

I tried to install it but can't - only because I came unstuck at the "This is where you need to know a bit of HTML/CSS, you need to decide where you want your menu to be." part. I've pasted that code into various places and it makes a mess of my site. I really do not know what I am doing.

Can anyone direct me as to exactly where to place it? I very much like the layout at the top of the page on the demo http://www.channelcommerce.co.uk/opencart_demo/ with the position of the 'home', 'login' etc. and the search box. I also like that the 'advanced search' has gone as I don't need that. I would also like to get rid of the 'currency' and 'language' boxes as I am only using one of each and don't want it to look like there is a choice.

If just adding the code from channelcommerce will do all that then positioning the code is all the help I need. If it needs other tweaks then any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England

Post by City of Hair » Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:19 am

Hi all, I completed step 1 but when I log into Admin/Modules I get this message at the top of the page:

Error: Could not load language module/headermenu!

Any ideas on why this is?

Also I am a little confused on where to change the title from Categories to Header Menu, do I have a space between the words? I have done it like this:

class ControllerModuleHeader_Menu extends Controller {

Is this right?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Sarah.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by City of Hair » Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:29 am

resolved :)

Thanks so much :)

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by petermbryant » Tue Nov 02, 2010 6:01 am

Excellent template:

http://peterbryant.co.uk/

I am trying to use it and looks as though the styling is not working.

I have followed all the instructions, and the only thing which may be the problem is the positioning of the code in the DIV section, I cannot find DIV 3,4,5 as mentioned in the tutorial.

I am using the latest version of OpenCart and am really looking forward to using this template, if anyone can help,

Thanks in advance
Peter

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:30 am

Post by TAC » Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:48 am

I finally got it to work and I am really pleased with it so thank you channelcommerce!

One question though - is it possible to make the text of the categories bold? And if so how?

That's 2 questions I guess :-[

Thanks

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England

Post by TAC » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:59 am

I've managed to fix my little problem myself but if anyone else with limited skills like mine ??? would like to know how - all I did was add

Code: Select all

font-weight: bold; 
here in the CSS code that came with the MOD

Code: Select all

.menu ul li a, .menu ul li a:visited {display:block; font-weight: bold; text-decoration:none; 
:)

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests