Page 1 of 1

Grid or list product default view

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:10 am
by Mr.Vaz
Hello all,

I have a simple question.
I want to make the 'grid' view when showing the products default instead of the 'list' view.

Does anyone know's how to fix this real quick?

Thanks!

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:22 am
by jamesbil
i want to do the same

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:46 am
by ChetanCx
open catalog/view/theme/your_theme/product/category.tpl
find lines

Code: Select all

if (view) {
	display(view);
} else {
	display('list');
}
replace with

Code: Select all

if (view) {
	display(view);
} else {
	display('grid');
}

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:05 am
by WilliamBD
I thought changing the core was not advisable? Would it be better to use VQMOD and create a search and replace XML file? This way the core does not get changed.

I appreciate this is just a simple change but when it comes time to update the core files again you may not remember.

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:06 am
by ChetanCx
WilliamBD wrote:I thought changing the core was not advisable? Would it be better to use VQMOD and create a search and replace XML file? This way the core does not get changed.

I appreciate this is just a simple change but when it comes time to update the core files again you may not remember.
obviously vqmod is preferable and highly recommended, and you are supposed do it through vQmod , but you can't expect me (or other users ) to provide answer in vqmod format...

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:06 pm
by WilliamBD
ChetanCx wrote:obviously vqmod is preferable and highly recommended, and you are supposed do it through vQmod , but you can't expect me (or other users ) to provide answer in vqmod format...
I do not mean to sound like 'one of those guys' but why not?

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:53 pm
by ChetanCx
WilliamBD wrote: I do not mean to sound like 'one of those guys' but why not?
"why not" what ?

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:55 pm
by WilliamBD
Why not provide a vqmod answer alongside the other answer?

Re: Grid or list product default view

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:17 pm
by ChetanCx
WilliamBD wrote:Why not provide a vqmod answer alongside the other answer?
good question, you know its a community forums no one is being paid to answer , everyone is providing answers on their free time , without any incentive . if you want vqmod , try to make it yourself, then ask for problems you are facing or commercial support is always there.