Page 1 of 1

How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:20 am
by klavi
The topic says all :)
I want to add text slideshow in my store, and i don't like the idea to make one banner with 2 laguages in it. If someone knows sollution i'll apriciate that.

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:36 am
by rph
I'm actually working on a commercial module to do this right now.
banner_multi-language_1.png

banner_multi-language_1.png (19.27 KiB) Viewed 2842 times

It will also have a couple other features like sorting and enable/disable.

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:18 pm
by klavi
hello,
that's realy nice. Do you have any idea when you'll be ready?

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:07 pm
by rph
Today or tomorrow. Demo site is up now.

Storefront demo
Admin demo (user/password: demo)

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:01 pm
by droconut
btw - if you would like to have SEO banners (having the text in the banner image as html) you could take a look at my commercial module too. it is multilingual and adds captions to your banners. This way one banner image is shown to all languages BUT the text in your image varies per language ;)

-> Droconut SLIDERS

greets

dropping coconut
sliders_admin_03.png

sliders_admin_03.png (68.27 KiB) Viewed 2811 times


Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:44 am
by rph
Sorry droconut. If I'd known someone else had done this already I wouldn't have bothered. There have been a lot of requests for that feature lately and I didn't find anything in the Extension Store.

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:35 am
by droconut
never you mind rph as you product is not "exactly" the same. Droconut SLIDERS is focusing on the banner slider management; - additionally it is extending the built in stock opencart banner system.

i guess my module would be overkill to have if someone would just want different images based on the language and isn't into using SEO or captions for his/her store. its the users choice after all ;)


dropping coconut

Re: How to add different banners for different languages

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:22 am
by rph
Yeah, yours looks very feature rich droconut so I definitely won't be competing with a lot of those functions.

For anyone looking for something more limited in scope Banners Plus is now out.