Post by City of Hair » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:33 am

Is there a mod or some other way to create SEO friendly URL's.
For example at the moment a products displays:

http://cityofhair.com/shop/index.php?ro ... duct_id=62

And I would like it to display something like this:

http://cityofhair.com/shop/index.php/PR ... ahblahblah

Thanks.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by justinv » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:53 am

Yes, you can enable SEO friendly urls in your store settings and then add an seo keyword for each product, category and manufacturer

Documentation: OpenCart User Guide
Mods: Total Import PRO | CSV Import PRO | Ecom Tracking | Any Feed | Autosuggest | OpenCart CDN
Image


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:24 pm

Post by City of Hair » Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:48 am

Hi thanks for the response.

I have done what you said but I'm having trouble with viewing any pages once the 'Seo Url' has been enabled in the settings.

If the setting is off, everything is fine but the Url's are too long. When the setting is 'on' the page is not found.

I have renamed the .htaccess file and checked that my host (bluehost) enables the apache mod. But still no luck.

I really want the Url's to work properly so is there any other way of doing this?

Thanks, Sarah ;)

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:38 am

looking at your urls from above you would need to edit the .htaccess and change rewritebase / to rewritebase /shop/

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:23 pm

Hi in my .htaccess file it only contains:

Code: Select all

# Use PHP5 Single php.ini as default
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5s .php

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:18 pm

then you did not rename the .htaccess.txt file to .htaccess because that is not what is in the .htaccess.txt file that comes with opencart.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by lydiageorge » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:01 pm

Its advisable for you should use SEO friendly URLs - just maybe not what you thought. SEO URL should try to encourage people to click. They should not be intended to influence the ranking of search engines.

computer mouse


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:50 pm

Post by City of Hair » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:16 pm

Ok I figured I had 2 .htaccess files, but I found the Opencart one and renamed it etc.
I then switched the Seo Url's to 'on' and the products are failing to open the page.

For example on product without the seo url's switched off displays

http://cityofhair.com/shop/index.php?ro ... ry&path=52 - and the page is displayed fine.

And when switched on displays:

http://cityofhair.com/shop/tigi_urban_a ... s_bed_head - but the page is not displayed at all.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:52 pm

did you also make the change to the .htaccess that I mentioned in the first place?

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:19 am

Yes it has been edited in the correct .htaccess file.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by TAC » Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:05 am

Hi, I am having a very similar problem.

With SEO enabled my products say "product not found!" when you click on them. If SEO is disabled they show up fine.

My .htaccess contains the following

Code: Select all

# 1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled. 

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

# Prevent Directoy listing 
Options -Indexes

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "\.(tpl|ini)">
 Order deny,allow
 Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /store
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)\?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]
and my test store is at http://www.personalisedemporium.co.uk/store

I do want to use the SEO function so any help is appreciated, thank you :)

User avatar
TAC
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33 am
Location - England

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:12 am

TAC wrote:Hi, I am having a very similar problem.

With SEO enabled my products say "product not found!" when you click on them. If SEO is disabled they show up fine.

My .htaccess contains the following

Code: Select all

# 1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled. 

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

# Prevent Directoy listing 
Options -Indexes

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "\.(tpl|ini)">
 Order deny,allow
 Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /store
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)\?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]
and my test store is at http://www.personalisedemporium.co.uk/store

I do want to use the SEO function so any help is appreciated, thank you :)
you left out the trailing / when you change the rewrite base. should be

Code: Select all

RewriteBase /store/

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:23 am

My .htaccess contains this:

Code: Select all

1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled. 

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess.

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

# Prevent Directoy listing 
Options -Indexes

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "\.tpl">
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /shop/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA] 

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:18 am

that looks right. what happens when you turn seo urls on?

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:24 am

I shall put the SEO url thing on for a short while for you to have a look...

http://cityofhair.com/shop/index.php

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by City of Hair » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:07 am

I had to take it off now but I have a screen shot of what happens when you click on a product.

Attachments

Picture 12.png

The URL - Picture 12.png (14.13 KiB) Viewed 3394 times

Picture 11.png

Picture 11.png (37.22 KiB) Viewed 3394 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:28 am

try taking the spaces out of your "seo keywords" use dashes or underscores instead.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:39 am

I have tried that on other products but still the same result. Is it anything to do with the fact that the URL doesn't END correctly as it seems to end without .php or .HTML etc

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:03 pm

no it has nothing to do with it not ending in .php or .html
as you can see on my demo site it works just fine without an extension http://spotonsolutions.net/demo/ipod_classic

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by City of Hair » Sat Dec 04, 2010 3:24 am

hmmmm, yeah yours seems fine, thats how I want mine, I really cant figure why this is happening.

Can anyone help me with this please......thanks

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:53 am
Location - Cheshire, UK
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest