Post by superann » Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:59 am

Does anyone have a mod (or a completely new module) for weight based shipping with expedited shipping options? Haven't come across any, but thought I'd ask in case I might have missed one...

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:59 am


Post by Qphoria » Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:25 am

You just use the current one and make additional geozones for it

1. Create geozones:
USA Shipping
USA Expedited
UK Shipping
UK Expedited

2. Install Weight Based module

3. Set the rates:
USA Shipping: 5:10, 10:20, 15:30, 100:100
USA Expedited: 5:15, 10:25, 15:40, 100:150
UK Shipping: 5:20, 10:30, 15:40, 100:130
UK Expedited: 5:25, 10:35, 15:50, 100:180

Now a USA customer will see 2 options and the rates based on the cart weight
USA Shipping
USA Expedited

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by superann » Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:38 pm

Thanks, Qphoria!

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:59 am


Post by simple_one » Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:02 am

could this be the Solution that I have been looking for. Will test Immediately
:crazy:

just a question here: can I split a country into 2 geo-locations? and use this method for separating costs for each of these ?

thankx.

Nz Shipping problems maybe resolved here.


New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:53 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:16 am

I don't see why not.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by simple_one » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:53 am

Ok. Finally the solution was simple thanks for the help btw.

Very Simple in the end which is always annoying , no duplications Needed or anything.

for New Zealand based Shipping (weight) with companies like PBT (Peter Baker Transport) what needs to be done is the Following.

setup 2 New Geo-Locations;

North Island & South Island

Under each new Geo-Location split the cities for North / South between the 2

north Island > Auckland , Wellington etc
south Island > Christchurch , Dundedin etc (they arn't actually in there btw)

next goto Shipping > weight based.

The Settings for Weight-based shipping go like this instead of what is depicted in the actual module (typo)

weight:cost, weight:cost

so lets say that the fee's for north island shipping are upto 3kg $6.50 and upto 6kg $9.50 then..

you will enter the following information into the 'rates' box: 3.00:6.50,6.00:9.50

save and enable.

Sorted.

Again Really do appreciate your help.

thanks.

Nz Shipping problems maybe resolved here.


New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:53 pm

Post by Ian2 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:54 am

Hi All!
Dear Qphoria!
THX the help! ;)

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:09 am
Location - Hungary

Post by storm-cloud » Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:07 am

Qphoria wrote:You just use the current one and make additional geozones for it
Yes, this is exactly the trick I used for my previous eCommerce solution as it was the only way to set up numerous variables for different areas...

For example all items ship Free via Regular. Most items have a flat rate for Express Post except for some which have a different charge depending on which state they lived in. This is where it got tricky as we offer four different shipping options so I ended up working out a way with assigning fabricated weights to certain products and then assigning the costs in the shipping...

Anyway, I almost thought "perfect" as I already have all the variables laid out... except... the display order. OpenCart seems to display the weight based shipping in alphabetical GEO Zone title order. I really need a way to define sort order. I need Regular above Express as that is the "Free" shipping option. If I place numbers before the shipping method it works, eg: 1) Regular, 2) Express but I would really prefer not to do that.

Any advice?

Also, is there a file I can edit to increase the character limit of the GEO Zone title beyond 32 characters? I tried changing "admin/controller/localisation/geo_zone.php" from 32 to 60 but all that happened was the warning disappeared but the characters were still truncated. :(

PS: I purchased a couple of your mods the other day. :D

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:07 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests