Post by Radmin » Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:27 pm

Hi everyone! before ill start,
i need to tell you that this is a post i'm writing after hours of googling and looking trough your forums, whatever i have seen and understood, i did -yet no luck.

i installed the opencart 1.5.6.1 fresh from the rar just a few days ago, and went ahead and install vqmod 2.4.1 (auto installer if it matters)
and everytime i try to go into the test page i created for the admin i get "Permission Denied"
here is the summery of fixes i tried:
i saw something about uploading the xml in binary - success, link to page now appears !- but i get premission denied.
entered the user group page and enabled all the settings for my user group (top admin), no luck.
i saw somewhere that it's a premission thing from my server, so i change the whole site to 775, still nothing

can anyone help please? im really confused about this.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:14 pm

Post by butte » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:04 am

If you upload text as binary or binary as text they will find a way not to work. All of the files except images are text, the images are binary. You apparently read one thing too many and moreover used some sort of installer contraption offered by the host. What you wound up with is hard to tell. Wipe it out and do it the following proper way.

Proper way.-- If you upload via ftp (or ftps or scp) IN AUTO MODE all of the original OC .zip (ZIP NOT RAR) file's /upload/ tree's CONTENTS (usually not /upload/ itself unless you plan to rename it later) to where you want the store root to be (/ or /directory/ -- such as /upload/ renamed), and likewise upload vqmod into place in /vqmod/, and then run the OC /install/ script, and then run the vqmod/install/ script, the whole thing should work. On the first try.

Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:58 am

Post by Radmin » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:19 pm

I did as you said, installed the OC 1.5.6.1 , the installed vqmod 2.4.1
i uploaded an xml file i found from an online guide to the vqmod/xml folder

Code: Select all

<!--
#author: Tanveer Noman
#file name: admin_menu_modification.xml
#description: This file is demonstrating how to write a simple xml file to add new
menu item named "Homenet" in admin menu section
-->
<modification>
    <id>Admin Menu Modification</id>
    <version>1.5.x</version>
    <vqmver>2.2.1</vqmver>
    <author>tanveer.noman@gmail.com</author>
    <file name="admin/controller/common/header.php">
        <operation>
            <search position="after"><![CDATA[$this->data['text_feed'] = $this->language->get('text_feed');]]></search>
            <add><![CDATA[$this->data['text_homenet'] = $this->language->get('text_homenet');]]></add>
        </operation>
        <operation>
            <search position="after"><![CDATA[$this->data['feed'] = $this->url->link('extension/feed', 'token=' . $this->session->data['token'], 'SSL');]]></search>
            <add><![CDATA[$this->data['homenet'] = $this->url->link('homenet/homenet', 'token=' . $this->session->data['token'], 'SSL');]]></add>
        </operation>
    </file>
    <file name="admin/view/template/common/header.tpl">
        <operation>
            <search position="after"><![CDATA[<li><a href="<?php echo $feed; ?>"><?php echo $text_feed; ?></a></li>]]></search>
            <add><![CDATA[<li><a href="<?php echo $homenet; ?>"><?php echo $text_homenet; ?></a></li>]]></add>
        </operation>      
    </file>
    <file name="admin/language/english/common/header.php">
        <operation>
            <search position="after"><![CDATA[$_['text_feed']                        = 'Product Feeds';]]></search>
            <add><![CDATA[$_['text_homenet']                     = 'Homenet';]]></add>
        </operation>      
    </file>
</modification>
i entered the shop and then entered the admin page, and i don't see the change.
it's really frustrating, i checked the error log and i get this (i have no clue if it's related)

Code: Select all

2014-01-13 5:45:08 - PHP Notice:  Error: MySQL server has gone away<br />Error No: 2006<br />UPDATE currency SET value = '1.00000', date_modified = '2014-01-13 05:45:08' WHERE code = 'USD' in /home/vol11_2/byethost18.com/b18_14213019/htdocs/system/database/mysql.php on line 50
Can you please help me understand what am i doing wrong?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:14 pm

Post by ogun » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:03 am

If you can install this vQmod before any of your own, it might help you find the problem (or at least help manage it):

http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... on_id=2969

It adds a mod management system to the admin panel.

That error is unrelated - your mod looks like it's just adding an option to the admin menu, whereas the error is about a database update timing out.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:04 am

Post by butte » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:18 am

(1) Try this. Make a new subdirectory, /vqmod/xml/aside_for_testing/ and move the new admin_menu_modification.xml into that. See if it works. If it does, then do not use that extension any more. The extension may be somehow placing undue demand upon the mysql server.

(2) The error "Error: MySQL server has gone away" means that the mysql server is inaccessible. What follows that means that it was trying to update currency when it encountered no mysql server.

That frequently means to get another host. It is also affected by php.ini settings (next).

(3) Try setting these in the host control panel for php.ini (and in your php.ini files, in case they are not ignored and override better server defaults):
memory_limit = 512M;
max_execution_time = 36000;
post_max_size = 999M;
upload_max_filesize = 998M;

Note that post exceeds upload, that is required. If your server balks at the 36000, tone it down to 300; if you get away with 36000, go for it.

Try phpinfo.php to see what the server thinks is going on. The tiny one-line utility phpinfo.php (here: http://forum.opencart.com/download/file.php?id=18153) can be uploaded into OC (or your account, public) and addressed in the browser. Put it in both your OC root and your /admin/. Address it as usual, but after domain/whatever/phpinfo.php (and domain/whatever/admin/phpinfo.php).

You do NOT need to wade through these just to set the foregoing, but they'll give you your bearings.

On php.exe and php.ini:
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... ni#p426535
On master php.ini:
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 80#p444711
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... r+#p445305

(4) The vqmod manager suggested in the post just above is helpful and you will enjoy it. It will not address mysql and php in the present case.

Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:58 am

Post by butte » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:45 am

These extensions offer reliable basic utilities:

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 20#p403255
gives downloadable disable_upload.xml by MarketInSG

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=36235#p174937
gives overview and links to
http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... ername=rph
which gives downloadable vqmod manager package by rph

http://forum.opencart.com/download/file.php?id=16761
gives downloadable backups_improved.xml by rph

And for that rainy day when you're stuck and the light that was at the end of the tunnel was an oncoming train that just went by, see
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=15626#p76531
for ocreset.php (read instructions, keep it out of public area on server, just put it there when you need it, since for example you can launch it by name as "[.../admin/]ocreset.php" from the address bar).

Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:58 am

Post by Radmin » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:26 pm

Thanks everyone, i will try everything here and post results for future reference.
i just want to say you guys are amazing for helping me like this!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:14 pm

Post by butte » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:03 am

Welcome, but at the moment we still haven't solved anything, yet, just brought up ways to approach the problem.

Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:58 am

Post by Radmin » Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:55 pm

well, i did everything i could - Still wouldn't work.
i installed a fresh 1.5.6 OC and the vqmod and it works like a charm - my guess is that the 1.5.6.1 isn't very compatible and i couldn't find what is the problem.
(also,in the vqmod page 1.5.6.1 isn't listed.)
i will find another xml that adds a page to the admin so i can be sure it's not a specific problem with the admin page.
for the sql problem that still appeared , I Changed the php.ini as butte said and it works like a charm. guess that is it.
Thank you very much guys! i appreciate the help!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:14 pm

Post by JAY6390 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:25 am

Permission denied errors are nothing to do with vQMod and are in fact to do with admin permissions in opencart as you've said. Why this isn't working I can't tell you to be honest, but it's definitely something to do with that. It's also nothing to do with FTP using binary/text in the wrong way either - also uploading text files in binary is absolutely fine - all uploads should be in binary format

Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by butte » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:19 pm

Radmin, whatever had interfered was cured by reinstalling as you did. The User Group permissions and how they set are not part of vqmod (unless somebody wrote an extension to change how in the core). Some vqmod extensions and modules cause need to reset User Group permissions (rph's vqmod manager and JNeuoff's free export/import tool are two ready examples). You hadn't said which .xml you had installed, but apparently it caused need to reset the OC User Group permissions. Resetting them didn't work, so the hunt was on for what might have interfered, ranging from transfers gone awry to php settings and whatever else.

Corrupt files for the permissions process can upset that process if packets are incorrect when they are upoaded, regardless of ftp auto/ascii/binary mode. I suppose that the risk of BOM or other changes to ascii in saving it enter into using ascii mode to transfer ascii (most ftp clients still provide auto/ascii/binary modes so that mode can be forced if a problem arises), but it IS imperative not to use ascii mode for ANY binary files.

It'll be a little while before extension authors complete their changes to accommodate 1.5.6.1 -- they'll want to test their work before making changes, and before releasing changes. And we're not even two weeks into learning what 1.5.6.1 might do or does differently than its predecessors.

Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:58 am

Post by jesen_tse » Tue Apr 14, 2015 2:23 pm

hello i have same issue any problem for this .
soloution will be big Help Thx

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:09 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests