Post by Raintopia » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:31 am

Hi Guys,

How do i create a link called 'links' in the footer bar? Ive attempted to edit the footer.tlp but i get a 'undefined character' error message.

Ive had a quick looked around the forum and cant find this answer

Many thanks guys

Mark

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:57 am

Post by wernerrenrew » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:10 pm

Hi,

1) Do these links need to be multilinguistic.
2) Are they known to the software internal links

Regards Werner
Last edited by wernerrenrew on Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:48 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by Raintopia » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:16 am

Hi Werner,

1) No, it doesn't need to be metalinguistic.
2) This bit im not so sure on. Ill try and explain.

If you go to my website http://www.raintopia.co.uk and look at the bottom of the page, i would like a link under 'extras' or 'my account' im not sure on coding but when i add the link through footer.tpl, i get that 'undefined character' error. I assume more code has to be entered to make it aware but i dont know how.

Cheers

Mark

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:57 am

Post by wernerrenrew » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:35 am

Hi,

If you want to add a link there it should not be a problem open.
catalog/view/theme/your_theme/template/common/footer.tpl and try something like this.

Code: Select all

<div class="column">
    <h3><?php echo $text_service; ?></h3>
    <ul>
      <li><a href="<?php echo $contact; ?>"><?php echo $text_contact; ?></a></li>
      <li><a href="<?php echo $return; ?>"><?php echo $text_return; ?></a></li>
      <li><a href="<?php echo $sitemap; ?>"><?php echo $text_sitemap; ?></a></li>
      <li><a href="http://www.beoptimized.nl">Our other Website</a></li>
    </ul>
  </div>
Regards Werner

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:48 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by Raintopia » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:14 am

Thanks. Is that a link to you site in that then?

Ive tried something like that and get the error code? :(

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:57 am

Post by wernerrenrew » Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:38 am

Hi,

Post the code you tried.

Regards Werner

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:48 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by Raintopia » Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:18 am

Hi,

I tried the code

Code: Select all

<li><a href="<?php echo $link; ?>"><?php echo $text_link; ?></a></li>
I get the error code.. Notice: Undefined variable: text_link in /home/myloginname/public_html/catalog/view/theme/shopcart/template/common/footer.tpl on line 43

Id like the have an new internal blank page just like the 'about me' for instance so i can post various links in it.

Cheers

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:57 am

Post by wernerrenrew » Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:03 am

Hi,

Just go to your admin area => catalog => information.
There you can make a new page it will showup under information in your footer.

Regards Werner

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:48 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by Raintopia » Sun Nov 13, 2011 7:19 am

Lol.. :bang: such a noob thing me to do. I know opencart better than that aswell. Thanks anyway mate :)

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:57 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests