Post by g33kd » Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:37 pm

hey everyone :)

i just got a theme recently and its called black theme, its going great i love it looks really professional (http://www.g33kd.com)

however im having trouble with a couple things:

1. fav icon, just wont work. ive uploaded a 16X16 pixel .png image to system>images however this isn't having any affect on the site, which tells me it must be the template.
im pretty noob when it comes to html, and ive been trying to insert some html from other posts, (after uploading a .ico version of the image) can anyone possibly tell me what .tpl file to edit, what html to use, and also where abouts in the .tpl it should go.

2. if you hover over an item in the featured section, you'll see that the buttons are at different levels. im pretty sure this is because the button should only say 'details' and not 'Button_details' does anyone know where i can edit that button so it will only say Details?

any help on these things would be great and i thank you in advance :)

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by fido-x » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:06 pm

g33kd wrote:1. fav icon, just wont work. ive uploaded a 16X16 pixel .png image to system>images however this isn't having any affect on the site, which tells me it must be the template.
im pretty noob when it comes to html, and ive been trying to insert some html from other posts, (after uploading a .ico version of the image) can anyone possibly tell me what .tpl file to edit, what html to use, and also where abouts in the .tpl it should go.
Log in to your administration, go to "System->Settings", then click the "Image" tab. Here you will find 2 images, one is your store logo, the other is labelled "Icon". This "icon" is used as your favicon.
g33kd wrote:2. if you hover over an item in the featured section, you'll see that the buttons are at different levels. im pretty sure this is because the button should only say 'details' and not 'Button_details' does anyone know where i can edit that button so it will only say Details?
Edit "catalog/language/english/module/featured.php" by adding (inserting) the following:

Code: Select all

$_['button_details'] = 'Details'; 

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by g33kd » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:55 pm

cheers for your reply so quickly mate

1. unfortunatly whenever i insert the image in the system -> settings -> icon, it doesnt update and well it doesnt work... does this take time to update, maybe?

im pretty sure its the template coding, because ive got 2 websites with the same theme, and neither are working when i upload a 16x16 .png

is it possible for you or someone to tell me:
how to insert a favicon using html,
what html ill need to use,
what .tpl file to put that html in
and where abouts in the .tpl file to place the code.



2. i figured out that i needed to put some other html into english.php where all the buttons are and i tried to do what you said with the

$_['button_details'] = 'Details';

unfortunatly it didnt work (i was prolly in the wrong php) however i put this in english.php:

//Modification themeoc011 start
$_['button_details'] = 'Details';
//Modification themeoc011 end

That made it work, so for anyone using THEMEOC011DARK this could be a possible fix if editing featured.php doesnt work for you.

Thanks again in advance :)

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by fido-x » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:21 pm

The link to your favicon is in "catalog/view/theme/YOUR_TEMPLATE/template/common/header.tpl". The line of code that displays it (line 14 in the default) is:

Code: Select all

<link href="<?php echo $icon; ?>" rel="icon" />
You could try changing it to:

Code: Select all

<link href="<?php echo $icon; ?>" type="image/png" rel="icon" />

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by g33kd » Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:09 am

ok so im a complete noob when it comes html, i dont know a single thing.

what does it mean when you say change it to:

<link href="<?php echo $icon; ?>" type="image/png" rel="icon" />

i tried replacing the line with that however, unfortunatly it didnt do anything.

i also tried including the file name in that line because i wasnt sure what to do... and/or if i was supposed to do that in the first place. the file is called cart.png so i also tried

<link href="<?php echo $icon; ?>" type="image/cart.png" rel="icon" />

was i right to do that?? should i have done something differently? because it hasnt worked either way :(

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by g33kd » Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:52 am

ok so aparently the favicon is actually working... im just a tard and i didnt clear my cache...

if anyone else is having this problem... try opening your webpage with a browser that you havent opened it with before.. and then that will indicate if its working or not

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by socal2 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:18 am

Anyone ?

This solution worked great for my Firefox. But no luck with Explorer.

Any ideas.

thx

socal

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:45 am

Post by mandamexico » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:27 am

I am having a problem with IE as well... this is what i found out:

Q: I verified that my favicon really is an icon file, but it still doesn't appear.
A: Since IE loads your icon out of the Temporary Internet Files folder, it must be able to actually store it there. If you are setting the no-cache directive for the icon file, then IE will not be able to display your icon and will display the default icon instead. You can use Fiddler to verify.

I used fiddler and is confirms the no cache, no validation directive on my website.

Opencart doesnt allow you to put a .ico file into the system where it saves the favicon file. I tried the favicon.ico in my root and tried the html code that refrences the path to /favicon.ico with no luck.

works with firefox and chrome BUT NOT WITH IE.. anyone know whats going on? its driving me nuts! lol

My site is http://www.cswebfactory.com

My Extensions

OpenCart Developer (OCD) Tools

Donate - If I ever helped you.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:14 am
Location - Los Angeles, CA

Post by Fuzzt Tuning » Thu May 16, 2013 3:50 am

g33kd wrote: 2. i figured out that i needed to put some other html into english.php where all the buttons are and i tried to do what you said with the

$_['button_details'] = 'Details';

unfortunatly it didnt work (i was prolly in the wrong php) however i put this in english.php:

//Modification themeoc011 start
$_['button_details'] = 'Details';
//Modification themeoc011 end

That made it work, so for anyone using THEMEOC011DARK this could be a possible fix if editing featured.php doesnt work for you.
How can it be that when i insert this text into the english.php it does work, but when i insert this text in dutch.php is does not work.

Does anybody know the answer?

greetz
Ingrid

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 02, 2013 10:53 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests