Post by _/=-)+(-=\_ » Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:08 am

Hello,

I use OC 1.4.9.1 and when I access it via Opera, Firefox or Chrome everything is ok, it works & looks perfect, but when I try access it through IE (7, 8 and 9) everything is messed up .. it's very disturbing. I would be very thankful, if this could be solved.

Thank You!
Last edited by i2Paq on Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic moved

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:58 am

Post by Qphoria » Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:05 am

You likely have Compatibility mode enabled. It makes all sites look like IE6.. Disable it

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by _/=-)+(-=\_ » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:24 pm

You mean on IE or somewhere in the admin settings? Because on IE it's disabled and I also tried to access it through IE on two other computers and there was the same problem.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:58 am

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:05 pm

Post by _/=-)+(-=\_ » Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:19 pm

Well, that's also my topic, in czech :D
Last edited by _/=-)+(-=\_ on Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:58 am

Post by gavin m » Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:25 pm

Just tired it on IE 8 with and with out compatibility mode and it looked fine in both.

Have you tried clearing you cache in the browser?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:23 pm

Post by mystifier » Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:56 pm

If I remember correctly, IE8 has compatibility mode to allow a site to be viewed as IE7; there is no such facility in IE7 to view as IE6 (I wonder why ?!!).

I couldn't care less about IE6 any more, even though I know some things don't show entirely correctly in my own shop. I have no means of testing and I can't really be bothered with either individuals or corporates that can't be bothered to perform an entirely free few minute update.

Free v1.4.9 Extensions: Default Specials | Improved Search | Customer Activity Report | Customer Groups | Royal Mail With Handling | Improved Product Page | Random Products | Stock Report | All Products


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 18, 2010 5:15 pm

Post by Qphoria » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:02 pm

Compatibility mode is just a huge mistake in general. MS wants people to be able to view sites in IE7 mode which was bugged all the way through. IE needs to make compatibility mode do something worthwhile, like follow standards which it still doesn't do. MS is solely responsible for the internet taking so long to evolve

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by mystifier » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:12 pm

Qphoria wrote:MS is solely responsible for the internet taking so long to evolve
It's not soley responsible Q; you have to take at least some of the blame. 8)

Free v1.4.9 Extensions: Default Specials | Improved Search | Customer Activity Report | Customer Groups | Royal Mail With Handling | Improved Product Page | Random Products | Stock Report | All Products


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 18, 2010 5:15 pm

Post by jones » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:21 pm

_/=-)+(-=\_ wrote:Well, that's also my topic, in czech :D

My e-shop is on http://www.amary.sk (you can see for yourself how it's messed up).
Sorry my friend, i can't see the messy, because i'm not use IE7< anymore.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:05 pm

Post by jones » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:21 pm

I also really do not much like with IE, because IE add jobs to be long, always be watching for all support is not an easy job, but somehow it's like we can not escape from it

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:05 pm

Post by _/=-)+(-=\_ » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:38 pm

I also do not use / like IE, but if somebody wants to sell many items as possible it's good to have a fully compatible web site :)

I've found out where the problem was - I used a much longer banner than I should. Now it's fixed and it works also under IE.

Thank you all for the help and your opinions :)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:58 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests