Page 1 of 1

Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:21 am
by jbarrick
I would like to a breadcrumb navigation on all of the pages in the cart.

(ie. Home > Category > SubCategory > Product )

How can I do that?

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:46 pm
by WhiteBirch
This should be done automatically?

eg: http://demo.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... duct_id=41

Unless I'm misunderstanding you.

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:25 am
by TAC
Hi, I would like breadcrumbs as well and assumed they were automatic but I don't have them either. Any ideas how I can add them or reinstate hem if I might have turned them off?

Thanks :)

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:57 pm
by santolla
breadcrumb is already in the default template. But if you purchased a tempalate and it doesn't have the breadcrumb, open the header.tpl and add this above the <div id="container"> tag


<?php
if(isset($this->request->get['route']) && $this->request->get['route'] != 'common/home'){
?>
<div id="breadcrumb">
<div id="crumbs" style="padding-left:30px;">
<?php foreach ($breadcrumbs as $breadcrumb) { ?>
<?php echo $breadcrumb['separator']; ?><a href="<?php echo $breadcrumb['href']; ?>"><?php echo $breadcrumb['text']; ?></a>
<?php } ?>
</div>
</div>
<?php
}
?>

I sell templates if anyone needs them
www.eshopalot.com

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:58 am
by TAC
Hi, thank you for the reply. I am using the standard template but there are no breadcrumbs. I did what you said and they appeared right at the very top of the page above the logo etc.

I have added 2 Mods to the template so perhaps that is why they are not showing? Thinking about it I have changed quite a lot - I've got rid of the Special/Bookmark/Contact etc. at the top. I done away with the blue bar and the tabs too so probably the breadcrumbs were a casualty of my inexperienced tinkering ???

Thank you for trying to help though :)

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:03 am
by i2Paq
Why not look for the original header.tpl in the zip you downloaded?

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:14 am
by TAC
Thank you I will try that :)

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:01 am
by TAC
Hi again,

This is in my current amended header.tpl

Code: Select all

<div class="div6">
    <div class="left"></div>
    <div class="right"></div>
    <div class="center">
	  <?php if (isset($common_error)) { ?>
	  <div class="warning"><?php echo $common_error; ?></div>
	  <?php } ?>
      <div id="breadcrumb">
        <?php foreach ($breadcrumbs as $breadcrumb) { ?>
        <?php echo $breadcrumb['separator']; ?><a href="<?php echo str_replace('&', '&', $breadcrumb['href']); ?>"><?php echo $breadcrumb['text']; ?></a>
        <?php } ?>
      </div>
and this is from the original download

Code: Select all

<div class="div6">
    <div class="left"></div>
    <div class="right"></div>
    <div class="center">
	  <?php if (isset($common_error)) { ?>
	  <div class="warning"><?php echo $common_error; ?></div>
	  <?php } ?>
      <div id="breadcrumb">
        <?php foreach ($breadcrumbs as $breadcrumb) { ?>
        <?php echo $breadcrumb['separator']; ?><a href="<?php echo str_replace('&', '&', $breadcrumb['href']); ?>"><?php echo $breadcrumb['text']; ?></a>
        <?php } ?>
      </div>
I can't see any difference but I am hoping one of you experts can,
Thanks :)

Re: Navigation Breadcrumbs

Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:42 pm
by TAC
In the end I had to reinstall OC again (for a different reason) and the breadcrumbs came back so it must have been something I had changed. :)