Post by Dutch Pride Code » Fri Sep 24, 2021 4:29 pm

The store I have was mostly the work of paid developers. In general, I have no clue about the things that have been done for the store to work the way it does now. Ofcourse I know what modifications I have installed using OCMOD, but that's it. However, I did figure out that VQMOD keeps causing errors and problems every once in a while for no particular reason. It could be a visitor typing an URL that does not exist, it could be anything really. I don't know when exactly it happens (it seems random) but every once in a while it just does. And then I have to empty the VQMOD cache again.

I don't want to bother my visitors with ANY errors, EVER! So I was wondering, is there any way to either remove VQMOD completely (and obviously, first find out which modifications to convert or something), or to hide every type of error completely? Or just go to a specific page (for example 404) when an error occurs?

Anything to hide errors and issues from my visitors...

My php.ini file currently looks like this:

Code: Select all

magic_quotes_gpc = Off
register_globals = Off
default_charset	= UTF-8
memory_limit = 64M
max_execution_time = 36000
upload_max_filesize = 128M
safe_mode = Off
mysql.connect_timeout = 20
session.auto_start = Off
session.use_only_cookies = On
session.use_cookies = On
session.use_trans_sid = Off
session.cookie_httponly = On
session.gc_maxlifetime = 86400
allow_url_fopen = On
;display_errors = 1
;error_reporting = E_ALL
This is an example of what happened the last time:
I get a notification of a fatal PHP error detected at www.domain.com/page-name
"page-name" does not exist as a page, so it should redirect to the 404 page.
Instead of redirecting, I get a whole bunch of VQMOD errors when navigating there.

OC 3.0.3.2
Last edited by Dutch Pride Code on Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:46 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Fri Sep 24, 2021 5:08 pm

Configure your PHP to direct the error messages appropriately: On a dev server they have to be shown on-screen; Whereas on a live server they should be logged while only a generalized error page without any particular details should be shown to a site visitor.

To do so, configure your PHP as follows:

On a development server
  • error_reporting should be set to E_ALL value;
  • display_errors should be set to 1
  • log_errors could be set to 1
On a production server
  • error_reporting should be set to E_ALL value;
  • display_errors should be set to 0
  • log_errors should be set to 1
These values are to be set in php.ini or in the the server's configuration:
  • for the Apache's mod_php it should be set in httpd.conf or .htaccess
  • for PHP CGI it should be set in the local php.ini file
  • for php-fpm it should be set in the corresponding .conf file in /etc/php-fpm.d.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by paulfeakins » Fri Sep 24, 2021 6:57 pm

EMGX wrote:
Fri Sep 24, 2021 4:29 pm
I don't want to bother my visitors with ANY errors, EVER! So I was wondering, is there any way to either remove VQMOD completely
Stop blaming vQmod.

Jeff's advice is good.

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by JNeuhoff » Fri Sep 24, 2021 7:13 pm

Well, on the subject of VQmod: You could use the Integrated VQmod which basically works like OCmod, with added VQmod XML syntax support, using the same OCmod cache.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by ADD Creative » Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:30 pm

Also set error_display to false in system/config/default.php and switch off in your OpenCart settings on the Server tab.

www.add-creative.co.uk


Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:02 am
Location - United Kingdom

Post by Dutch Pride Code » Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:33 pm

JNeuhoff wrote:
Fri Sep 24, 2021 5:08 pm
To do so, configure your PHP as follows:

On a development server
  • error_reporting should be set to E_ALL value;
  • display_errors should be set to 1
  • log_errors could be set to 1
On a production server
  • error_reporting should be set to E_ALL value;
  • display_errors should be set to 0
  • log_errors should be set to 1
Many thanks for your detailed explanation, I've set my php.ini file for the live server correctly now.
ADD Creative wrote:
Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:30 pm
Also set error_display to false in system/config/default.php and switch off in your OpenCart settings on the Server tab.
Should I do this extra just to be sure, on top of the php.ini settings?

Thanks everybody! :D

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:46 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Sat Sep 25, 2021 12:02 am

Should I do this extra just to be sure, on top of the php.ini settings?
Yes, if it is for a live production server.
No, if it is for a development test server.

Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Tag Manager * Survey Plus * OpenTwig


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by Dutch Pride Code » Sat Sep 25, 2021 2:49 pm

JNeuhoff wrote:
Sat Sep 25, 2021 12:02 am
Should I do this extra just to be sure, on top of the php.ini settings?
Yes, if it is for a live production server.
No, if it is for a development test server.
Thanks, I did. :)

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:46 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: spectreav and 91 guests