Post by YarniaPDX » Tue May 26, 2020 5:21 am

Can someone point me in the right direction for how to find/create the sitemap for my site (https://customyarn.com), in order to submit it to Google Webmaster Tools?

Thanks so much!
- Lindsey

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:10 am

Post by sw!tch » Tue May 26, 2020 5:36 am

Admin -> Extensions -> Feeds -> Google Sitemap.

Then you get to it by. https://www.customyarn.com/index.php?ro ... le_sitemap

Backup and [ learn how to recover ] before you make any changes.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 pm

Post by cedcommerceteam » Tue May 26, 2020 12:57 pm

YarniaPDX wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 5:21 am
Can someone point me in the right direction for how to find/create the sitemap for my site (https://customyarn.com), in order to submit it to Google Webmaster Tools?

Thanks so much!
- Lindsey
Hello there,

Hope you are doing well.

The first step is to go to your OpenCart admin and go to Extensions and then Extensions again.

Click the dropdown and select Feeds.

You will see the Google Sitemap extension. Hit the install button and then click Edit.

The first field is to just enable and disable the status of the sitemap. The second field is to enter the data feed URL.

Or

You can choose modules by visiting following link -

https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... ch=sitemap

Thanks!!!

Call us at : (+91) -8765210318 , Skype: live:carlmorgan.cedcommerce , Email: support@cedcommerce.com
CedCommerece : Officail Opencart Partners
CedCommerce Official : www.cedcommerce.com
Opencart Services : www.cedcommerce/opencart-services.com
Sell On various Marketplace Integration : Opencart-Extensions
Magenative Mobile App/IOS Development : magenative.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:02 pm

Post by letxobnav » Tue May 26, 2020 1:16 pm

The second field is to enter the data feed URL
There is nothing to enter, the sitemap url is fixed to the controller unless you adjust it via htaccess.

Crystal Light Centrum Taiwan
Extensions: MailQueue | SUKHR | VBoces

“Data security is paramount at [...], and we are committed to protecting the privacy of anyone who is associated with our [...]. We’ve made a lot of improvements and will continue to make them.”
When you know your life savings are gone.


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:35 pm
Location - Taiwan

Post by uksitebuilder » Tue May 26, 2020 3:21 pm

If you have enabled SEO URLs in your website and have therefore already enabled the .htaccess file, you can also access your sitemap, once enabled in the settings, by visiting yourdomain.com/sitemap.xml as there is already a rewrite rule in the default opencart htaccess for that.

If you want more control over your sitemap, there are extensions available in the OpenCart Marketplace to do that.

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by paulfeakins » Tue May 26, 2020 7:12 pm

If you have a lot of products and categories it can be possible that sitemap.xml loads too slowly for Google, in which case you'll need to cache it.

For quick, professional OpenCart support please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - Reigate, Surrey, United Kingdom

Post by YarniaPDX » Sun May 31, 2020 6:56 am

Thanks! I enabled the sitemap and can view it here:

https://www.customyarn.com/index.php?ro ... le_sitemap

However, when I submit it to Google, it tells me the sitemap could not be read (see screenshot). What am I doing wrong?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:10 am

Post by letxobnav » Sun May 31, 2020 9:08 am

Suggest you reduce your sitemap first.
Default OC sitemap duplicates product urls, it lists the product urls excluding the category path (canonical) as well as the product url including the category path. The latter is useless and only makes your sitemap needlessly big.

Crystal Light Centrum Taiwan
Extensions: MailQueue | SUKHR | VBoces

“Data security is paramount at [...], and we are committed to protecting the privacy of anyone who is associated with our [...]. We’ve made a lot of improvements and will continue to make them.”
When you know your life savings are gone.


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:35 pm
Location - Taiwan

Post by YarniaPDX » Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:11 am

That makes sense, but how do I reduce the sitemap?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:10 am

Post by letxobnav » Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:52 pm

by removing this part:

Code: Select all

			$products = $this->model_catalog_product->getProducts(array('filter_category_id' => $result['category_id']));

			foreach ($products as $product) {
				$output .= '<url>';
				$output .= '  <loc>' . $this->url->link('product/product', 'path=' . $new_path . '&product_id=' . $product['product_id']) . '</loc>';
				$output .= '  <changefreq>weekly</changefreq>';
				$output .= '  <priority>1.0</priority>';
				$output .= '</url>';
			}
from catalog/controller/extension/feed/google_sitemap.php

Crystal Light Centrum Taiwan
Extensions: MailQueue | SUKHR | VBoces

“Data security is paramount at [...], and we are committed to protecting the privacy of anyone who is associated with our [...]. We’ve made a lot of improvements and will continue to make them.”
When you know your life savings are gone.


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:35 pm
Location - Taiwan
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests