Post by duivelken » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:11 pm

Hi,

I am quite new to all this but will try to do my best to explain what I am trying to achieve :-)

So, to start, I am using an Opencart 3.0.2.0 on url http://stock.kreamiek.be

We have a small business in ceramics and painting workshops. We use opencart to keep track of entire inventory of molds and bisque (still updating the database on this). This is not and end-user application, so just for us to know what we have.

From our customers, we are getting more and more questions on the bisque we have in stock, so they can choose for their next workshop what statue they would like to paint/glaze.

So I made a new subdomain http://cat.kreamiek.be where I would like to show only the items having stock and showing the number of pieces we have in stock.

I tried ftp-ing the stock.kreamiek.be and uploading it to cat.kreamiek.be but this didn't work as all the hyperlinks refer to stock.kreamiek.be
I the tried to add a second store in the admin and put in all settings, but this is where I am getting stuck.

How do I proceed now? I deleted all files from the cat.kreamiek.be

Do I reupload everything I downloaded from stock.kreamiek.be of do I upload other files? And how do I go about the cat.kreamiek.be subdomain only showing items that are in stock and showing the number of available pieces?

Preferably I would like doing this all centrally from 1 single database off course and from one Admin panel.

Sorry for all the noob questions, but I think Opencart is great and want to learn more about it :-)

Thank you in advance for having taken the time to read through this, and hope to get some feedback from you guys.

Have a great day.

Kind regards,

Duivelken

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:14 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:46 pm

I think what you want is to use OpenCart multistores

http://docs.opencart.com/en-gb/administ ... lti-store/

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by paulfeakins » Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:57 pm


For quick, professional OpenCart support please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - Reigate, Surrey, United Kingdom

Post by duivelken » Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:23 am

Hi,

thank you both for your reply. I tried this, but it doesn't really give the required result.

In fact, the 2 stores are identically, except for 1 thing. In the one store I would like to show all items (the one for us, the store owners) and in the other store I would like to show only items in stock (for the customers)

I tried doing it with an extension, but the extension applies for both stores, not just for one.

Is there any way of doing this withoug having to go mess around in the code?

Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:14 am

Post by by mona » Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:39 am

Try adding a template to one store and editing the extension to effect only that template or only effect default template

https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=34349
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=10507

Since I presume these will work with the controller (not the template) - you will have to get that done as a custom job.

You could use customer groups
Setting all products to logged in customer “internal”
and when a product is in stock add it manually to customer group “public"

Why not use the admin for the internal staff and add user permissions to restrict access?
Then you only need one store

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by duivelken » Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:05 am

Thx, gonna give that a try

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:14 am

Post by Evilonion » Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:07 am

Customer groups would be the way to do this as mentioned.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:07 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheKid and 28 guests