Post by KDSLABY » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:40 am

OC is installed on my hard drive so all my work is local. When I try to start up the OC Admin panel I get this error: "Unable To Connect".
The descktop link is this:
http://localhost/shop/install/index.php ... all/step_4

The neighborhood lost internet sometime last night and it was out this morning but before I learned this I rebooted the computer several times. Now the internet is up but I can't start my local OC.
I use Firefox but I also pasted the link into IExplorer but still won't work

Please help... :bash:
Kevin
Last edited by KDSLABY on Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:40 am

Post by by mona » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:45 am

sent you pm

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


Spinning Social : Links : Menus : Payments : Socials : Ads : Screen Backgrounds : Galleries : Headers : Banners : Promos


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by KDSLABY » Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:11 am

My web hosting company now has OC installed on the server for me and I can log in there. Can I view my local webpage from OC on their server or do my files need to be uploaded in order to view them?

Kevin

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:40 am

Post by by mona » Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:40 am

you can put the site into maintenance mode in SYSTEM => SETTINGS => SERVER TAB
and work on your site that way, if you are logged into admin only you can see the live site

you will need to upload the files (ideally OCMODS rather than hard coding, as it makes both upgrades and fixing problems easier)

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


Spinning Social : Links : Menus : Payments : Socials : Ads : Screen Backgrounds : Galleries : Headers : Banners : Promos


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by KDSLABY » Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:04 am

I have made a backup zip file of everything located in htdocs folder and placed a copy on my external hard drive for safety.

Back to today's issues. It seems that the local hard drive has changed settings or ?
Wordpress, PHPAdmin and OC all point to LOCALHOST which should have an IP address of localhost / 127.0.0.1.

Is there anyway to verify that Localhost is still present and working and that the IP address is issued to it?
Should I see a directory or something called "localhost" on my computer?

If I have to reinstall WP, PHPAdmin and OC can I just unzip the backup files in the HTdocs folder and have it all work?

Kevin

Attachments

localhost.JPG

localhost.JPG (68.45 KiB) Viewed 190 times


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:40 am

Post by KDSLABY » Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:29 am

I did a PING to 127.0.0.1 and I think it came back okay:

Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Kevin

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:40 am

Post by by mona » Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:38 am

The configuration has changed
You are using wordpress combined with opencart?

Now that your online, why not build the actual site and ask your service provider to check/set a back up for the site and db once a day, so you can always go back a day is you mess up.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


Spinning Social : Links : Menus : Payments : Socials : Ads : Screen Backgrounds : Galleries : Headers : Banners : Promos


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by KDSLABY » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:24 am

I GOT IT!!
I was planning on doing a complete reinstall of everything so I was re-reading how to install XAMPP and noticed that the control panel would still open up. After visually following the directions from the the webpage I noticed that Apache was turned off and the settings were blank. I clicked Start and it populated with the ports and PID's, etc and now everything is working.. :crazy:

NOW, back to my UPS issues!................right after lunch..
Kevin

Attachments

xampp.JPG

xampp.JPG (75.53 KiB) Viewed 161 times


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:40 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: OSWorX and 32 guests