Page 1 of 1

Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:58 am
by motion2082
As the title suggests, is it possible to automatically add a customer to a group called "company" if they enter their company name when they register a new account?

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:32 pm
by ostechnologies
Yes, it is possible it just need some customization.

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:02 pm
by synapseindia
Yes, you just need to put a condition in your register controller.

For example - if customer submitted(POST) the company name then you just need to set customer_group_id manually in code.

Thanks

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:16 pm
by motion2082
synapseindia wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:02 pm
Yes, you just need to put a condition in your register controller.

For example - if customer submitted(POST) the company name then you just need to set customer_group_id manually in code.

Thanks
Hi Synaps,

Thank you for your reply :)

I will see if I can find the register controller and see what I can do, will share my results here with the community

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:01 pm
by synapseindia
Sure, let me know if you need further assistance .

Thanks.

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:18 pm
by straightlight
An alternative way would be by creating an event module which would be called whenever you require based on its route location from the registration page. This methodology would also prevent on targeting core files.

Re: Automate customer group if they enter company name

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:53 am
by motion2082