Post by JEfromCanada » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:27 pm

Hello,

I have seen this topic discussed in the OpenCart 2.0 General Support forum and have tried several free extensions which attempt to address this issue. It was after installing OpenCart 3.0.2 and experiencing the issue first hand that I took notice. It was my frustration with the situation that caused me to spend some time trying to track down the cause.

As mentioned, I am running OpenCart 3.0.2 with the Journal 2 theme, and I believe I have tracked down the cause, and have fixed the issue once and for all.

Since I am a relative newbie in this forum (but have been a programmer for over 45 years) I may not have any "street cred" in the OpenCart community. I don't know how to build a proper .ocmod.zip file to distribute the fix, but I was able to build a vqMod (thanks to UK Site Builder's excellent vqMod editor).

This vqMod (crafted specifically for OC 3.0.2) fixes the image manager search issue and implements case-insensitive search. I just purchased a wonderful image manager extension from "sonfil", and it was his attempt to fix these issues with his Free extensions that motivated me to find the actual solution. I have already sent him my vqMod solution in hopes that he will update his Free extensions.

For those who wish to receive my vqMod (absolutely free), send an email to info [at] jem-software.com. If any of you can direct me on how to submit this into the OpenCart github, I'd be more than willing to do that.

The first part of the fix (allowing the search to work as expected) was simple to solve. Line 48 of the /admin/controller/common/filemanager.php file is:

$files = glob($directory . '/' . $filter_name . '*.{jpg,jpeg,png,gif,JPG,JPEG,PNG,GIF}', GLOB_BRACE);