Page 1 of 1

Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:46 pm
by swifteng
Hi,

I have followed every guide including the opencart document. How can I have two domains running in multi cart mode. All the guides are using subdomains. Am I missing something.

Thanks
Lee

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:41 pm
by paulfeakins

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:36 pm
by swifteng
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your prompt reply. Again this is a subdomain. I have for instance www.mainsite.com and www.anotherstore.com.

I wuld be greatful for any assistance.

Thanks
Lee

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:42 pm
by paulfeakins
swifteng wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:36 pm
Again this is a subdomain.
Sure but it's irrelevant whether it's a sub-domain or not, the process is the same.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:29 pm
by swifteng
Thanks Paul,
My problem is linking the domains.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:50 pm
by paulfeakins
swifteng wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:29 pm
My problem is linking the domains.
1. Point their A records to the IP of your server.
2. Associate them with that hosting account which can be done in cPanel via "Aliases" which used to be called "Parked Domains" if I remember correctly.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:56 pm
by labeshops
I use 21 unique domains in my multistore. As Paul said, there is no difference - just put the URL in the store settings.

You use addon domain in cpanel to add the 2nd domain to your hosting account. Then change the document root in that 2nd domain to be the same as your first store - the folder opencart is installed in. Add the store to opencart settings and done.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:42 am
by qualitas
paulfeakins
and
labeshops
are you using version 3 of OpenCart?
I saw you comments on older version.
It seems to be problematic for many people with new version 3; it's not working for me too.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:43 pm
by paulfeakins
qualitas wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:42 am
It seems to be problematic for many people with new version 3; it's not working for me too.
What problems exactly are you seeing?

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:07 am
by qualitas

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:42 am
by qualitas
paulfeakins and labeshops you didn't answer my question. I'm curious to know which version of Open Cart are you using with multi-shop?

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:44 pm
by IP_CAM
It marked in the Bottom Signature of each and every of his Postings:
Running Opencart v2.2 with multi-stores from http://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.

Re: Multi Store with two different Domains

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 pm
by qualitas
Yes, I know IP_CAM but we are into the
OpenCart 3.0 Support
section.
I want to know if they have tried version 3 or only 2?
To know if the problem is all of us or version 3?