Page 1 of 2

Google Site Map

Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:55 am
by The Alchemist
Hello,

Im trying to get google to index my site using this new program. So far it hasnt been to fruitful.

I submitted the sitemap on the actual open cart site itself. http://www.randomwebsite.com/index.php? ... on/sitemap.

Its apparently a HTML document.

Google needs an XML document.

I tried the previous XML site map generator I used before switching over to Open cart. I had a hand full of indexed pages on it. But now when I upload it to google webmaster, it comes back as an error. Im assuming its because open cart, is canceling it out. I can still access it if I go to www.randomsite.com/sitemap.xml.

But google isn't taking, I can only wonder why.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:56 am
by The Alchemist
Does anyone have any insight as to why google doesnt index this type of site?

I got the XML to work, but it only index's one page.

Each item page I have submitted has different content in it that goes into googles terms for duplicate pages.

My business is based off SEO guide lines, if I cant get google to index this, its pretty pointless.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:20 pm
by mendozal
I'd like to know how it works too.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:09 pm
by readyman
How do you know google isn't indexing it? What's the url?

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:27 pm
by Qphoria
The Alchemist wrote:I submitted the sitemap on the actual open cart site itself. http://www.randomwebsite.com/index.php? ... on/sitemap.

Its apparently a HTML document.

Google needs an XML document.
It is an xml document


Seems to work ok for me.. indexes better:
Image

Still having issues getting a good XML Site map

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:00 am
by The Alchemist
Hello,

I have pretty much got the site situated to the way I want to change my site to, except for the XML site map.

Google doesnt accept the site map address you can get on the actual site.

I manually uploaded an XML file to the internet sever and still webmaster is giving me a big fat red X for being able to use it.

I think this is my last issue with this shopping cart for the time being. Can someone tell me how I can get a good xml map?

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:39 am
by Qphoria
a new topic is not the answer. Merged

Google happily accepts the sitemap so you have something wrong somewhere.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:02 am
by The Alchemist
My bad, I forgot I did this post.

This is the error I get.
Sitemap is HTML
Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.

I am using this site map submission
http://www.xxxxx.com/index.php?route=in ... on/sitemap

I typed in your web address and submitted it. I didnt know where the google site map was located at. Thanks

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:31 am
by Qphoria
Ah.. ok.. yea the normal sitemap is local to the store. You want the google sitemap.. but you need to install it from the admin area under Extension->Feeds. Then use the url I used

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:37 pm
by Donce
hi,

when i want to enable product feed, i get an error: No results!

why it is so?

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:46 am
by The Alchemist
Still getting this random code. Google is complaining that Im not using www. in my addresses and is not indexing them.

Image

As shown circled in red above.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:56 am
by Xsecrets
in your config.php what do you have for

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://yourdomain.com/');
the links should follow the format of that config be it with or without www.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:08 am
by The Alchemist
So If I change the config file to

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.yourdomain.com/');
It will be fine.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:44 am
by Xsecrets
The Alchemist wrote:So If I change the config file to

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.yourdomain.com/');
It will be fine.
well I'm not going to say it will be fine without knowing all the details of your google accounts etc, but it will make the links come out as

Code: Select all

http://www.yourdomain.com/product-name
or whatever the trailing portion is.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:56 am
by The Alchemist
So where is the config flie located at. The one in the route file is empty. I looked around a bit and noticed a handful empty.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:50 am
by Xsecrets
should be in the root folder of the store.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:03 am
by Qphoria
There are no empty files. The config.php and admin/config.php are only empty if it is a newly uploaded and not installed yet.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:55 pm
by The Alchemist
Ok I got it, and re submitted site map.

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:44 am
by OC2PS
Qphoria wrote:You want the google sitemap.. but you need to install it from the admin area under Extension->Feeds. Then use the url I used
How do I install it? When I go to Extension > Product feeds, I dont see anything there...
Image

Re: Google Site Map

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:49 am
by Xsecrets
sooskriszta wrote:
Qphoria wrote:You want the google sitemap.. but you need to install it from the admin area under Extension->Feeds. Then use the url I used
How do I install it? When I go to Extension > Product feeds, I dont see anything there...
what version are you running. If it's a new version you must not have uploaded all the files, or you deleted the files, because google sitemap and google base are supposed to be in there on the latest versions.