Post by sander23 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:24 am

Hello..please help the brotha out..I'm new to css and all the codes...I have opencart 1.5.2.1..
I try to edit the stylsheet.css in the template I use, or the default template, or any template..I change the color numbers, but nothing happens...I put in the numbers from a css colors chart...for example, i replace in the body - background-color, or any other color...then i save and nothing happens...even if i change all the colors that i lay my eyes on...
what is the problem here...I do things from the instructions've read here..
please can you just help a beginna out a bit...i feel stupid, but i followed the instructions...
thanks so much

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am

Post by webnirman » Fri Apr 27, 2012 7:00 pm

can you give screenshot of your css file.
(1) before change
(2) after change & save

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:28 pm
Location - India

Post by labeshops » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 pm

Are you editing the correct stylesheet? If you have renmed the folder it is in, say making a copy of the default template and renaming it to something like "mystore", you will need to edit the mystore/template/common/header.tpl and change /default/ to /mystore/ in the 3 lines that tell it were to find the stylesheet to use.

Running Opencart v2.2 with multi-stores from http://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:41 am
Location - Florida, USA

Post by Moggin » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:05 pm

Agree with the above, and I would also add:

a) Remember to use Ctrl+F5 to refresh the browser if trying to view a CSS change

b) Consider using Firebug for Firefox, or use Firefox's inbuilt Style inspector, to see exactly where the styles for your page are being drawn from. You can learn a lot from this.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 05, 2010 4:56 am

Post by sander23 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:33 pm

thanks so much for the responses...your time is very much appreciated...

I'm editing the right stylesheet...I've tried to edit the ones from other templates too, but also the one from the default template.. (eg. opencart/catalog/view/theme/default/stylesheet/stylesheet.css)..

As suggested i'm adding a picture from before and after here..
css.jpg

css.jpg (228.04 KiB) Viewed 12992 times

css1.jpg

css1.jpg (226.85 KiB) Viewed 12992 times

This is at the very top of the file...
I've tried to change other lines that says color and background-colors eg. menus, buttons ...but nothing never happens..

thanks so much for the energy you put into helping a newbie out here...

bless ya

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am

Post by sander23 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:55 pm

wtf i just tried to follow the advice of actually refreshing the page (i use crome), and it f* works...i can't see what could possibly be wrong before...I didn't specifically refresh the page but always freshly clicked "store front" from the admin, and nothing would be changed...
i really don't understand what could be the problem...i was editing the right files and everything...i must have had a bad vibe or somethng that something so simple was f*ing with me..if only once something would go smooth...
sorry guys...thanks so much for the help..

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am

Post by sander23 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:12 pm

I actually see that i have to hit refresh a few times before the change takes place...why does it need so much time to make the change...or maybe it's a chrome browser issue...it allright though..as long as it works..

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am

Post by Moggin » Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:41 am

glad you have it working now! :good:

You have to do a hard refresh when tweaking CSS, an ordinary refresh won't do it (hence, Ctrl+F5). This explains the reasons pretty well.. http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-hard-refresh.htm

Best of luck with the rest of the project.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 05, 2010 4:56 am

Post by sander23 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:12 am

Thanks so much for helping and also showing the article about hard refreshing....very informational..

can i ask something else at this occasion...

i bought some templates and i'm trying to edit the stylesheet to fit 4 of the product boxes in one line, as the default template does...not just 3 and than leaving some unused space there at the right... i'm adding a printscreen to show what i'm talking about... can anybody help me with finding the line that determines the size of the product boxes...
i immensely appreciate the help..
printscreen.jpg

printscreen.jpg (259.52 KiB) Viewed 12968 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am

Post by sander23 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:18 am

i also wanted to show you what i've already tried to edit but nothing happens...
prtscreen.jpg

prtscreen.jpg (343.73 KiB) Viewed 12967 times

blessya

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:16 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 79 guests