Post by fastdev » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:33 am

I installed OpenCart on a domain like: mydomain.com, and then parked another domain with 'mydomain.net' name (set it to read .com folder content).

when I try to visit .net domain I get this error "incorrect server".

I am sure it is not from server setting because I can open a test file located in .com folder by visiting .net domain (mydomain.net/test.txt etc.).

but script do not works. what should be changed? I tried changing config.php to detect both domains:

Code: Select all

if(strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'],'mydomain.net')>0) {
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.mydomain.net/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://www.mydomain.net/image/');
} else {
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.mydomain.com/admin/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://www.mydomain.com/image/');
}
but still get that error. is there any domain refer in database too?

thanks :)

.


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 26, 2009 5:25 pm

Post by amplifywebdesign » Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:08 pm

Can't you just forward your parked domain to the other one?

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:56 am
Location - Sheffield & North Wales

Post by fastdev » Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:30 pm

amplifywebdesign wrote:Can't you just forward your parked domain to the other one?
I can, but I like to do this method for better ranking. :)

.


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 26, 2009 5:25 pm

Post by Daniel » Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:49 pm

I don;t think you knwo anythign about ranking!

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . '/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . '/image/');

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by fastdev » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:07 pm

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . '/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . '/image/');
thanks I tried this but do not works (same error).
Daniel wrote:I don;t think you knwo anythign about ranking!
;D my fault! didn't mean ranking, actually I meant google indexing ;D this is better method for google indexing than forwarding domain.

.


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 26, 2009 5:25 pm

Post by amplifywebdesign » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:16 pm

But why would you need both sites on google? Wouldn't that just be confusing for your customers

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:56 am
Location - Sheffield & North Wales

Post by dorin87 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:50 pm

The script which daniel provide us works fine. I also use 2 parked domains because first was a litlle bit harder to remember. So it's necessary in this case to use another domain with more popular name. First domain it's used for old clients.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:45 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests