Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:25 am

Hi,

We are noticing that it takes 10seconds to load the index page, however, just to confirm we deleted the complete code from home.tpl and still find that it takes 4secs to load empty page.

Upon researching it seems index.php file in root is causing this. As this is opencart related, is there any mod we can do to make load the index page quicker???

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:27 am

The index.php is not the root cause that is simply where everything starts in opencart. the index.php loads up the rest of the framework. My guess would be that you have lots of products and or categories, and you need to use the mod that removes the product counts.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:30 am

We are using customized navigation menu which does not have any product count. And this thing only happens in loading the homepage, inner pages time is perfect.


So product counts is ruled out.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by CypherUK » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:31 am

Pretty good vQmod http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... order=DESC will do the trick.

if you don't want to pay, you can remove the calls from the core code http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=33929

:)

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:36 pm
Location - Essex, United Kingdom

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:34 am

CypherUK wrote:Pretty good vQmod http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... order=DESC will do the trick.

if you don't want to pay, you can remove the calls from the core code http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=33929

:)
If product/category count was an issue, it would slow down the inner pages also right?? which does not happen. Only the homepage is affect at the moment.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:03 am

Just an update I have check the files for count and none of them have it. So this is surely ruled out.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:21 pm

well it's still not going to be the index.php, because that gets called on every other page as well. You'll need to figure out what happens only on the homepage. Do you have any modules applied to the homepage that are not applied on other pages, if so disable them one at a time and see when it starts speeding up.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:30 pm

There is no module on homepage. Are you sure index php is called on every page? Because I deleted home.tpl to check, and it still took 4 seconds to loadup the empty homepage.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:08 pm

I am positive. Index.php is always called anytime anything touches opencart whatsoever. If you don't have seo urls turned on its very easy to see as every page is index.php?route=blah/blah

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:16 pm

hmm you are right, so then what could be the issue in our case?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Qphoria » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:08 pm

The category count would still be the first place to start.
What about other modules that load on the home?

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by adi_555 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:16 pm

There are no modules which are loading on home. And I have already disabled the category module from admin.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:43 am

adi_555 wrote:There are no modules which are loading on home. And I have already disabled the category module from admin.
It's not just the module. The code is in the header as well. That's why people suggest just using the vqmod that removes it all.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by adi_555 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:02 am

Update: I checked the system/cache folder and i did change it to 777 permission. the initial byte time came down to 50% but again after an hour its back to 5seconds!

Please help!

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by rph » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:04 am

Since this thread is likely to come up for others, another issue that can slow down time to first byte is having a lot of VQMod scripts. Consolidating them down from 30+ to a half-dozen dropped time to first byte from 1.5 to 0.7 seconds for one store.
Last edited by rph on Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by adi_555 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:07 am

I have emptied the header.php,header.tpl,home.tpl,home.php and yet the blank page takes 4 seconds to load. I have even uninstalled 95% of added modules using admin panel. What else am I missing?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by adi_555 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:34 am

Hey guys!

After huge testing i finally found the cause, i commented this line

$module_data = $this->model_checkout_extension->getExtensionsByPosition('module', 'home');

in home.php and the homepage now loads blazing fast!

Experts please comment if it is safe to comment that line? and why was it cause such load?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by rwalker » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:08 am

Have you reinstalled your store without that line in your home.tpl?

If so please explain as I am also having 9 second 'time to first byte'.

Thank you.

Discount Golf Clubs and Golf Equipment - Powered by Opencart


New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:14 am

Post by adi_555 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:11 am

Just comment that line and test :)

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:21 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:48 am

Not sure why it would cause a delay, but that line pulls the modules that are on the homepage. It's possible if you have a specials module assigned there and have LOTS of products on special it will cause a delay. I have seen that one time on 1.4.x when a client had over 900 products on sale. I had to tweak the db query to optimize it.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests