Post by crazypetfood » Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:55 pm

Hi Everyone,

I have setup and designed my own little pet shop, I have a ot of other domains that i would like to use multi-store on and have one point for administration and the database.

My OC: Details: Version: 1.5.0.5, clean install, imported old database, run upgrade script. created template.

I have read old versions threads and how to setup multi-store, here is what i have done.

my main site is http://crazypetfood.com I setup a second store called http://cheap.completedogsfood.com

I copied the entire directory over from crazypetfood, including the config files from crazypetfood. I get the following errors on the second domain:

" Warning: require_once(/domain file path../httpdocs/system/startup.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /domain file path../subdomains/subdomain/httpdocs/index.php on line 19

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/domain file path.. /httpdocs/system/startup.php' (include_path='.:') in /domain file path../subdomains/subdomain/httpdocs/index.php on line 19 "

All the privaleges / chmod settings are correct. Do I need to alter the config files, from what i have read I dont, could you clarify please?

I have spoken to my cloud hosting provider, they have said that OC multistore should work with subdomains from the main domain, but not across diffrerent domains, for example:

Domain1.com
a.domain1.com
b.domain1.com

NOT

domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com


I am not sure if this is a bug, or a setup issue/config issue can anyone please help?

Many thanks in advance
Last edited by crazypetfood on Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SEO Essex
SEO Services London
Website SEO Essex


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:25 pm

Post by SXGuy » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:41 pm

hosting provider is inncorect.

Its simply an issue with what you copied across. You copied across the config.php and admin/config.php files, yet you failed to edit them to update the details with the new domain path.

Do this, and it will work.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:07 am

Post by crazypetfood » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:44 pm

.
Last edited by crazypetfood on Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SEO Essex
SEO Services London
Website SEO Essex


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:25 pm

Post by crazypetfood » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:58 pm

Thanks SXGuy for the info, i think i am on my way now.

For those of you that have strange file paths on your hosting like me, i had change:


// HTTP
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://yourdomain.com/');
same for rest of the code..

// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://yourdomain.com/');
same for rest of the code..

// DIR
define('DIR_APPLICATION', '/var/www/vhosts/yourdomain.com/subdomains/your sub domain name/httpdocs/catalog/');
same for rest of the code..

I would assume other hosters have different file paths, so you would need to take this into account, the easiest way would be to do a clean install, OC sets up the config files, you should then see the file paths in your config files.

SEO Essex
SEO Services London
Website SEO Essex


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:25 pm

Post by crazypetfood » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:17 pm

hmm interesting, when it comes to the welcome module, i have it already set on my main cart with whatever message, on this new site, it reads the same and is active, yet is does not appear...

If I add another welcome module, ther is no way to set it to another store only, or am i missing something??

SEO Essex
SEO Services London
Website SEO Essex


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:25 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:55 pm

crazypetfood wrote:hmm interesting, when it comes to the welcome module, i have it already set on my main cart with whatever message, on this new site, it reads the same and is active, yet is does not appear...

If I add another welcome module, ther is no way to set it to another store only, or am i missing something??
you need to create new layouts for the second store and assign it to that.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by stucazz » Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:11 pm

crazypetfood,

there are quite a few threads on the subject and I need help with this... Could you tell me which thread you found to be the most useful? Or could you explain to me which files/directories you copied and specifically where you copied them to?

Thanks and sorry, I'm just having a hard time with this subject...

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue May 03, 2011 11:01 am

Post by wolfsteritory » Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:24 pm

i resolved the problem much easy

main store :
http://100.domain.com - with the main domain in hosting account domain.com
second stores
http://domain2.com
or
http://x1.domain2.com

pointed from cpanel in hosting domain2.com to the folder domain.com/100 or you may find it as : /public_html/100

& the same with the rest of the new domain & sub-domains,
then you just let the rewrite mode do the rest
( also very important there are no problems with indexing by google )

* 100 is just a random number i used because the main websites are already up & running on another platform
having allot of domain is more easy to remember them by numbers in system folders especially if they have similar names, or same name with different extension , . com, . org . ro , etc


if you need more info let me know


* ps , you dont need to copy & edit Anything

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:08 am

Post by stucazz » Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:05 pm

thanks wolfsteritory, I just tried that. Since my second domain is registered with a different company than my hosting company, i'm just waiting for DNS to pick up the change, which I understand can take up to 48 hours.

So to clarify: by creating in OpenCart admin a store called domain2.com (using your example), and pointing the domain to the main store's install directory, opencart handles the rest?

thanks again for your help.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue May 03, 2011 11:01 am

Post by wolfsteritory » Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:29 pm

yes, first point the dns to you main domain hosting

then add domain 2 to the cpanel on the domain 1 hosting & park-it to the same folder as domain 1

use park option, not addon

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:08 am

Post by crazypetfood » Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:39 pm

stucazz wrote:crazypetfood,

there are quite a few threads on the subject and I need help with this... Could you tell me which thread you found to be the most useful? Or could you explain to me which files/directories you copied and specifically where you copied them to?

Thanks and sorry, I'm just having a hard time with this subject...

The files you edit are called config files, one in the root folder, the other in admin folder.

SEO Essex
SEO Services London
Website SEO Essex


New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:25 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests