Page 2 of 2

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:57 am
by exibar
please remember this was a non-working piece of code when I downloaded it. meaning it didn't do a thing at all that it was supposed to do...
I modified it to work with my specific version (1.5.6)... and it does indeed work fine on my install...
I don't know the differences between any other versions than what I'm running currently. :-( otherwise I'd be very happy to help

Mike B

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:40 am
by thinkingforward
I've installed this mod, thank you. The Continue button when registering has gone astray though, can it be added back?

Thanks :)
pprmkr wrote:
Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:30 pm
Attached is vQmod : Captcha for Account register and Affiliate register.
Made and tested for OC 1.5.6.*
Installed last week and stopped creation of new 'James Kelvin' accounts as customer and affiliate.

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:31 pm
by exibar
that's odd, it's still there on mine :-(

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:51 pm
by vlieger
I have the same fake registrations , they all have New York as city and USA as country , what i have done is deactivate country USA to register (i don't have USA customers, so the should not be able to register, but they still do, seems like they pass the normal registraion pages somehow and use somekind of script to complete their registration without choosing a country , which is weird as country is an obligated field, any idea's someone?

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:07 pm
by GraemeH
exibar wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:41 am
I downloaded a captcha vQmod from the ocart extentions pages for ocart 1.5.6. It didnt' work so I modified it and now it works like a champ, no more bot registrations!
just copy it to your vQmod XML directory like normal and it will do the trick. Even though the code has provisions for other languages, it's English only.

Mike B
This worked perfect for me on 1.5.4.1. No more new signups other than legit customers. Thanks for the xml Mike B.

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:07 pm
by CyberSerg
I'm having the same issues. our website was down for a few days due to a lapsed renewal and after that the avalanche of new customers came. and i just realised that all these bots (10 to 50 per day) are registering as affiliates - guess that they're hoping to cash in on the comission.

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:48 pm
by straightlight
It is fascinating to see how many people could post in one of the only topics where the solution would not be provided compared to the others where it has been with the same reported issue. This issue has been resolved here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=203309&p=719351#p719351

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:52 pm
by CyberSerg
straightlight wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:48 pm
It is fascinating to see how many people could post in one of the only topics where the solution would not be provided compared to the others where it has been with the same reported issue. This issue has been resolved here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=203309&p=719351#p719351
Actually - I saw this earlier and figured it out, but as I'm not an expert didn't think of looking further on the forum, just yet. I tried to see where the affiliates regirster is... and now as i saw your answer i understand that i could have looked for a looong time. Thank you! This is a no longer a new customer/bot issue but a new affiliate/bot issue. Thank you!

p.s.: i posted it here to give an ideea to the previous :)

Re: I think I have a problem with a bot.

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:09 pm
by straightlight
While this issue has never been truly about new customer / affiliate registration, it is rather about CSRF attacks through web forms.